Build Advice Time to upgrade?!

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Lassar, 26 Nov 2016.

1. Lassar

Lassar Lean Mean Fighting Machine !

Morning all,

Been a while since I have posted on here so I hope you're all well?

I have been running the core of my existing Rig now for around 5 years now and bar GFX, cooling and HDD upgrades it has remained largely unchanged. The machine can handle pretty much anything I throw at it however, with the release of BF1 in my opinion It's starting to show its age.

I was considering just upgrading the memory from 6gb to 12gb and giving the machine a short term boost but wondering if I should just hold off and do a processor, motherboard and RAM upgrade in one?

Currently running....

1366 i7 920 OC @ 4.2 Ghz
    MSI R9 290
    6Gb DDR3

funds available are absolutely minimal due to house move but would appreciate comments and flames.

Cheers

Ric

2. SuperHans123

SuperHans123 Multimodder

Double RAM
    Sell graphics card on here
    Buy GTX 1060/70 (Budget dependent)

3. Vault-Tec

Vault-Tec Green Plastic Watering Can

Buy Xeon 5650 or better which gives you two more cores and two more threads, ideal for Bf1.
    Up memory to 12gb as you said.
    I would go 1070 though. 1060 is not a big upgrade at all.

4. Lassar

Given I can only do one or the other would you say memory is the priority at the moment? I just need 1080p gaming.

5. Yadda

Yadda Minimodder

Yes, I would say memory is the priority but if you already have BF1 installed then there's no need for guesswork: you can run a monitoring program like MSI Afterburner to see how much RAM BF1 is using, along with CPU usage, GPU usage and VRAM usage.

Check the graphs after a few rounds and see what you run out of.

6. LennyRhys

LennyRhys Fan Fan

Is it really likely that a game is using 6GB of RAM? I've never experienced that before but I guess newer games are making better use of hardware than before.