Graphics 8800GTX - VS - 2x 8800GT SLI

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Geektechnica, 15 Nov 2007.

1. Geektechnica

Geektechnica Minimodder

Hey guys quick question for you,

I'm putting a new rig together to replace my aging machine, going to be a Q6600 watercooled, with 4gb RAM, on a Abit IN9 32X-MAX board that I've had sitting here waiting for the rest of the goodies for a couple months.

I was originally planning on putting an EVGA 8800GTX in there, as it was getting great reviews, but with all the excitement I've been seeing lately about the 8800GT it has made me wonder if it isn't worth getting two of them and running them in SLI instead of the GTX, especially since the price is near enough the same.

I've never done anything with SLi before, as my last machine was built right when AGP was kind of being phased out 3-4 years ago. (Old machine is P4 Prescott 3.0ghz, 1gb Kingston HyperX PC3200, Radeon 9700 Pro on an Abit IC7-MAX3). So I'm not really sure how to judge the performance of two lesser GPUs vs one greater GPU. When doing SLI is the performance greater than the sum of the parts?

Also one other thing I'm wondering is since the 8800GT is designed for PCIe 2.0 will I lose performance by using it on my IN9 32X-MAX, which while having two full speed x16 PCIe slots, still is only PCIe 1.1?

Anyway, thanks for any advice you can offer ;)

2. radodrill

radodrill Resident EI

The only real difference between the PCI-e 2.0 and 1.1 standards is that the 2.0 specifies that each GFX slot must run at x16 bandwidth and also doubles the amount of power that can be supplied through the slot.

At the very least the current generation od PCI-e 2.0 cards will be backwards compatible because most cards don't saturate the x16 bandwidth (no noticeable performance difference when running at x8) and will still have the additional power connector to make up for the additional power that would come across a PCI-e 2.0 slot.

3. Guest-23315

Guest-23315 Guest