Cooking an X3210 & EVGA 650I

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Deep-Blue, 14 Aug 2008.

1. Deep-Blue

Deep-Blue Part-time Overclocker

Okay, so i run an Intel Xeon X3210 but i have...problems....

I have a coolermaster 690 chassis with a single Noctua 120mm fan (blowing out back) with an additional 2 in the roof (again, blowing outwards). The processor is fitted with a Freezer 7 Pro, which was only just coping with the cpu at stock (hence the extra fans). With everything at full whack, i can get the chip up to 3.2Ghz with load for a period of time. Eventually, the temp gets to the high 90s so i drop it back.

Now i'm wondering a couple of things:

• Would rotating the Freezer7 to blow out the top help with the cpu (i'm conscious that the VRMs are not heatsink-ed therefore i'd imagine i lose airflow and experience issues)
    • Would replacing the freezer7 with the......expensively expensive NH-U12 from Noctua help?
    • What VRM coolers will fit on an evga 650i Ultra board?

I know i really should of got a Q6600, but a supplier offered me this X3210 a while back for less than half what a Q6600 went for at the time. Oh, and its a B3 stepping (which IIRC is the 'Napalm' edition :sigh:)

I dont wanna spend £70 on vrm coolers, the Noctua northbridge cooler, and the NH-U12 for no real increase.

2. Guest-23315

Guest-23315 Guest

I'd ghetto rig an 80mm fan or an Antec Spotcool over the MOSFETS, and then get a Scythe Infiniti or strech to a Thermalright Ultra Extreme 120. It might be costly, but It'll last longer than most of your hardware.

3. Deep-Blue

From what i'd seen on review sites, the NH-U12 is better than those two coolers, so would i not be better to go down that route? The problem is everyone tests on mid-range C2Ds these days, where as what i want to hear is that someone who has a flame-thrower-CPU cooled with one.

4. kenco_uk

kenco_uk I unsuccessfully then tried again

Looking at Coolermaster's 690 page:

Cooling System