Equipment £200 to spend, what lens to buy? (Canon 450D DSLR)

Discussion in 'Photography, Art & Design' started by jezmck, 19 Nov 2009.

1. jezmck

jezmck Minimodder

Hi Gang,
    it was my birthday on Tuesday and I got £200 from my gran, and would like to spend it on a new lens for my camera.

I'm still relatively new to photography, so would appreciate your advice on what to get.

(I currently have only the stock 18-55mm lens that came with the camera)

2. Cptn-Inafinus

Cptn-Inafinus Minimodder

It depends what you fancy doing. Are you more interested in focusing on one particular field of photography or do you want something that will be good for all around use.

If you are just looking to expand your creative skill, I'd look into getting a 50mm of some sort. I've seen some very nice results from the Canon EF 50mm f1.8 II. The bokeh on that thing is gorgeous.

3. jezmck

jezmck Minimodder

I think nature photography is my most likely subject, am surrounded by trees here, and near the New Forest and the coast. I have taken a number of shots hoping to crop them tightly to achieve a sort of zoom.

4. Tim S

Tim S OG

Are you looking for a telephoto zoom lens then? 17-55 covers your wide angle fairly well, so I'd probably look at the EF-S 50-250 F/4-5.6 and if you can stretch to about £225, pick up an EF 50mm F/1.8 II as well.

5. Da Dego

Da Dego Brett Thomas

I can give a halfway nod to the 50-250 - I have one. Bokeh is HORRIBLE though so you have to really use that in your composition or learn how to work around it in photoshop. That being said, I've still not sold mine - it does the job I need it to and the IS and range are great for the price.