1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Open Source Using LaTeX

Discussion in 'Software' started by 00parrys, 11 Jul 2010.

1. 00parrys

00parrys What's a Dremel?

Hi guys,

I am a new user here, and, after a brief search, I could find no discussions about the LaTeX documentation language. I was wondering if anyone has any experience with it for making complicated documents, such as posters, and has any tips that they wish to share. Has anyone got a favourite editor? I have little experience with it and could not easily decide between the various software available.

It seems that it doesn't get much exposure and I'm not sure why. Sure, it's more complicated than word or open office, but it sure makes stuff look pretty!

Cheers,

Sam

2. phenoptix

phenoptix What's a Dremel?

Hi Sam, I wrote my thesis in LateX, and boy was it fun! I used the MiKTeX package for compilation and I wrote using VIM, having schooled using VI on an old silicone graphics workstation.
    LateX is fantastic, great for large documents as you just write, not worrying about formatting. Sure you can get stuck every now and then but it does produce great results. I probably have some resources knocking around somewhere if you need them, probably also a copy of my thesis which will have a hell of a lot of different examples of tables, longtables, figures and formulae.
    Best of luck!

3. 00parrys

Hi (Dr?) phenoptix,

Thanks for the reply! I chose MikTeX too, so that is reassuring, however I have never heard of VIM. I shall have a look into it. I am planning on writing the report for my masters next year in LaTeX, which is why I was prompted to have a look.

Thanks for the luck, and for the offer of extra material. I will give you a shout if I need some help!

4. phenoptix