1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Overclocking I5 overclocking

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by =WBG=cpt_custard, 15 Sep 2010.

1. =WBG=cpt_custard

=WBG=cpt_custard ferret

Im new to this i5 overclocking etc so I was wondering if you guys could give me some pointers please.

My two questions are

What are the safe temps etc...ie under load.

How do i manually set the CPU vCore ( on my old Asus P5Q-E there was a setting in the bios called cpu voltage which I could just key in ).

By setting the multiplier to 21 and raise the BLK and leaving the almost everythign else on Auto I have managed to hit 4.2Ghz ( which gave me a rather big jump from my old custom pc score of 1280 to 2093 ) but it looks like my temps are quite high to me. If I manage to find where to adjust the CPU vCore what should I aim for to keep the oc around 4.0Ghz but to also keep the temps down to more acceptable limits..

[​IMG]

All help would be gratefull appreciated.

2. Xonar

Xonar What's a Dremel?

Temp wise under stress you probably wouldn't want to go over 75-80c. In real world situations your highest temps are likely to be a good bit lower but it depends on exactly what you plan on doing with your CPU, gaming probably wouldn't see you over 65c.

CPU voltage should be listed under 'CPU voltage Mode' in your BIOS, change that to manual then you can edit the core voltage. 1.392v is probably a little high for your setup, I just noticed that the Prime95 run has only just started running at the time of the screenshot, what are your temps after running it for 15mins or so? Do you know what your VTT voltage is at all?

Last edited: 15 Sep 2010
  3. =WBG=cpt_custard

=WBG=cpt_custard ferret

TBH ive no idea with out looking.....on my next reboot ill see if i can find it

4. Xonar

Xonar What's a Dremel?

I think it's under IMC voltage on Asus boards.

5. Pete J

Pete J Employed scum

+1