Build Advice Should i buy a custom gaming laptop or build my own?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by PFCBroid, 20 Oct 2011.

1. PFCBroid

PFCBroid What's a Dremel?

I don't know which route to go. I'm new to the tech world, and even newer to the laptop component world. This is why i think it may just be smarter to go to a site that builds custom laptops and not waste my time with a chore that could yield pretty shitty or no results. On the other hand, I would like to think that i could learn as I go with the help of you all here and some guides. It seems like an interesting project and I've heard, if done right, it can be very rewarding and give you a much stronger CPU than buying one. And it would lead the way to one day building my own PC.

Some extra info and questions: I'm a United States Marine. I am stationed in Florida right now, but could be moving in anywhere from 2 to 9 months. you are never really sure about these things. So how long does it approximately take top piece together your project into it's entirety? I feel like it would be on par with your income. So whenever you get some extra cash, you buy your next component. Which raises another question; how much could an end project cost? I know this is a bit of a moronic question seeing as how it can vary based on the quality and power of each component. But if you've made your own, you could post the specs and cost just to give me a ballpark idea. Also, back to my occupation, how safe (or stupid) is it to travel or ship a laptop in the making? These are my biggest concerns.

Someone point me in the right direction!!

2. Dae314

Dae314 What's a Dremel?

From what I know about the subject of custom laptop building, the area is largely abandoned due to the increased complexity of putting the components together and the decreased power/price benefit from doing a custom build.

Here's a few things I can think of off the top of my head which would make building a custom laptop hard: