Windows Which X (as in the space game) first?

Discussion in 'Gaming' started by Whirly, 20 Mar 2012.

1. Whirly

Whirly What's a Dremel?

Over Christmas I bought the X superbox (X, X2, X3:TC, etc) and as a complete newb to the whole series I was about to start with the original game. And then it occurred to me I might be better off trying the newest one first rather than be put off the whole series if X1 isn't so good.

So does anyone with experience of these games have any advice as to where I should start?

Oh, and will I have any problem playing them with Win7 64bit?

2. MrDomRocks

MrDomRocks Modder

I bought it too, played part of first one graphics are terrible and controls are a pain haven't really bothered with it tbh

3. IronDoc

IronDoc What's a Dremel?

Later ones have better graphics and ui with minimal changes elsewhere. Unless you're particularly bothered about story, I'd start with the latest.

4. Pete J

Pete J Employed scum

Hmm.

I'd say start with X2 if you're bothered with the plot. Personally I think it still looks quite nice.

Otherwise, Terran Conflict. Although, if you can be bothered, X3 Reunion with the Xtended mod is about as good as it gets. When you're flying a Reaper with a Split M3+ docked, you'll see what I mean.

5. Fizzban

Fizzban Man of Many Typos

Regardless of the one you pick...I hope you like menus. Personally, I would always start at the beginning.

6. IvanIvanovich

IvanIvanovich будет глотать вашу душу.

I'd start with 2, at least for the tutorial. 3 doesn't really have one. I got 3 first, loaded it up and was like wtf am I supposed to be doing here? It's just throws you in the deep end which is somewhat annoying for a first time player.

7. SMIFFYDUDE

SMIFFYDUDE Supermodders on my D