1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Scratch Build – In Progress My wall-mounted Pi case, July 14th

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by ninjaplease, 14 Jul 2012.

1. ninjaplease

ninjaplease I don't know what I'm doing

Hi everyone, this is my first project log and it's a pretty short one.

The brief: To build a nice looking, tidy case for my Pi which uses very little (or no) desk space and a low budget.

The solution: To construct a modified picture frame to hang on the wall, with cables trailing to the appropriate sockets beneath.

So here's the initial concept and CAD model;

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

After coming up with this, I went shopping for frames and came across this for £10, which ended up being the total cost of this project.

[​IMG]

Into this little frame, I had to find a way to fit all the appropriate cables, so I started by laying them all out. Clockwise from top left; HDMI, USB to micro usb (for power), 3.5mm audio jack to phono, Cat5 ethernet (grr) and in the centre is the receiver for a wireless keyboard and mouse.

[​IMG]

Then I plugged them all in and sketching some rough dimensions;

[​IMG]

After marking these up onto the spacing section, I warmed up the :dremel:.

[​IMG]

I plan to finish this log in 3 or 4 posts, tomorrow's update will be on fabrication so stay tuned for the interesting bits.

Last edited: 14 Jul 2012
    legoman and Livio like this.
  2. Kyle P JMC

Kyle P JMC What's a Dremel?

I like this idea alot! would be great for a micro-atx or mini-itx build too (although psu might be a bit big to make it look good :eyebrow:)

Last edited: 14 Jul 2012
  3. ninjaplease

Haha yeah I was about to say, you're right about there being a lack of space too, hopefully all will become clear in the next update.

4. Dk_vr

Dk_vr What's a Dremel?

Cute idea :) I really like it, but isn't the picture case too big for this motherboard :) ?

5. ninjaplease

So, fabrication.