1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Planning Advice needed on custom acrylic ITX case

Discussion in 'Modding' started by Ulti, 18 Apr 2013.

1. Ulti

Ulti Poor student

Hey bit-techers,

After not being able to find a mini ITX case that's just right for me, I've decided to design and build my own.

As it will be my first custom case, I decided to use acrylic as I believe it'll be easier to make a scratch build from as I have no experience with designing or building scratch cases. Also, I'm a student so my budget will be limited to hand tools. I did ask my friends if any of their unis have a workshop but it seems none of the unis in London seem to have a workshop.

Hardware:
    The hardware that I will be using will consist of:
    CPU: i5 3330S
    GPU: MSI 7850 1GB OC
    Motherboard: AsRock B75M-ITX
    RAM: Samsung Green 8GB
    PSU: Seasonic SS-250SU 250W Flex ATX
    Intake fans: Gelid Slim PL Blue 120mm 15.8mm thick fans x2

Not very high end, but more than enough for what I do and need.

Concept: (V2)
    Previous version (V1)
    [​IMG]

As you can see, I've tried to fit my case under 6L (~300x70x270 = ~5.67L). I'm currently using the setup listed above without a case laid horizontally along with a Xigmatek Praeton LD963 cooler without the fan (instead using the Gelid fans to blow over the PSU and CPU cooler) and it runs cool enough for my liking.

The white outer acrylic will be 3mm in thickness and will consist of one sheet bent with a heatgun on all 4 corners, with a separate piece that will be attached via a hinge to allow easy access to the hardware. The front and back acrylic pieces will be 5mm in thickness to allow me to screw the outer shell pieces on.

Questions:
    So as I'm new to this, I have several questions to ask. Strikethrough denotes no further discussion required, obtained answer :D