Education What do you do?

Discussion in 'General' started by Yariko, 20 Jun 2013.

1. Digi

Digi The not-so-funny Cockney

Sounds very similar to me, apart from the BA - I was thrown out of college @ 17 and never went further, massive regret!
    Just gotta try and stay positive..

G0UDG, Teelzebub and YEHBABY like this.
  2. Lance

Lance Ender of discussions.

I am a private accountant for a High Net worth individual.

Basically we run his private finances, donations, estates etc, and my main role is purchase and sales ledger with a bit of financial controller thrown in.

I am training through CIMA which is a Charted Institute of Management Accountants.

I have to say I really enjoy my work, as the person I work for is a very interesting character.

3. Shirty

Shirty W*nker! Super Moderator

Yep, a little extra money would help that along nicely :)

Sounds fun mate - do you mind me asking how you ended up in that role?

4. Cei

Cei pew pew pew

Right now I am a third year medical student (fourth year soon!) at a London university, on the graduate entry programme. I will qualify in approximately 18 months, and start working as a Foundation doctor in two years. Long term I intend to go in to paediatric medicine (rather than surgery) on the run-through training programme. If all goes to plan I should make consultant by the age of around 43-45.

Whilst training, I'll most likely undertake an MSc in Paediatrics & Child Health, followed by the MD qualification (the UK one, not the US) and maybe a PhD.

As for qualifications, I have a BA(Hons) Photography, a PgCert Clinical Photography and a raft of excellent A Levels and GCSEs. I've worked for the NHS for three years, as well as freelance photography (press, PR, commercial), as well as being an alcohol licence holder/bar manager at music festivals for about six years (although I lack the time to do this now). Oh, and I dabbled in architecture for a few years at the very start, before deciding it wasn't for me.

5. Lance