Modding Advice needed on window kits!

Discussion in 'Modding' started by Josh*M, 18 Aug 2003.

1. Josh*M

Josh*M What's a Dremel?

Hi there,

I'm new to case modding and thought a good place to start would be by fitting a window in the side of my case, naturally.

Anyway - I've been looking at some window kits (since I think making my own would be a bit too complicated!) and now I need some advice.

Mitron seem to do the most kits, but ideally I'd like a rectangular/square window, and Mitron's all seem to have horrible rounded corners... Plus, the rubber edging that comes with them is big and messy.

So, after looking around a bit I thought I'd found The One.

[​IMG]

http://www.themodhouse.co.uk/store/product_info.php?cPath=29&products_id=47 for the full description.

Made by TheModHouse - the corners are subtly rounded and the edging is thing and discreet. Perfect, I thought.

However... "plexiglass"? And "some strips of vecro for fixing inside your case"? I presume that means 'velcro', in which case... isn't that a bit rubbish really?

All I want to know is this: would that kit be okay, and can you recommend any other kits which suit my needs aesthetically?

And finally, this is a bit trivial really, the description for that TheModHouse window kit is a bit vague... is that a fan I can see there in the bottom-left of that window?

Thanks for your time, hope you can help! :D

2. Mr T

Mr T 4 Left Into Long 3 Right

Their isnt much need to buy a window "Kit" when your wanting moulding like that. What a lot of people do is cut their hole to whatever size they want then they get the thin moulding as the kit which is 50p per metre from maplin then just cut a piece of plexiglass available from B&Q to the required size and mose people use strong double sided tape rather than "velcro" as the kit uses :) thats how i did my window and its holding up :) Plus it gives u the chance to choose any shape you like :)

3. Josh*M

Josh*M What's a Dremel?

Ah right.