1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Why have I been quiet? - Trigger warning, mental health / suicide.

Discussion in 'Serious' started by modd1uk, 4 Mar 2024.

1. modd1uk

modd1uk Multimodder

This post contains talk about mental heath and suicide, if this is going to trigger you please stop reading now.

Where to begin. (I'm 36 now)

I've been struggling for a long time, mentally, physically, it just seemed like I'd get my physical health to start improving and then BOOM hit with something else. Diagnosed with RA (Rheumatoid Arthritis) in my late 20's, I couldn't make a fist, walk upstairs, lift a cup to my face I was a mess.

Years of meds / stress and I was finally on meds that worked, but the mental damage had already been done, stomach issues, then I ended up really ill and had to have my gallbladder removed.

There's loads of stuff I've been bottling up for 20+ years and it all came to ahead on the 21st Jan 2024 when I made an attempt to take my own life, my wife and I had just separated, been together 18 years, married for 10, have a little girl who's 3 and it was all too much to deal with on top of what I was already struggling with.

I left the house, hid somewhere and proceeded to slice my wrists open, 3 times on each arm. I wasn't bleeding out fast enough so I thought maybe this wasn't my time to go, I found a member of the public who called the police and a police officer saved my life.

I have completely severed tendons in my wrists, and partially severed others. I have had surgery to repair the damage that I did physically and I'm under the mental health team for the mental health side.

I've been going to Andy's Man Club group meetings every Monday night 7pm-9pm just to be surrounded by other people who aren't having a great time, to know you're not alone in it and others are struggling too, that and the social side of it.