Modding Camera LCD

Discussion in 'Modding' started by Exomoto, 17 Oct 2004.

1. Exomoto

Exomoto What's a Dremel?

After moving into a new house I've found that the previous owner has left a broken digital video camera in one of the rooms. When it is turned on it says there is no memory (I assume that's the problem with it). However the lcd screen starts up fine and doesnt look too shabby.

I couldnt get a snap of it working because I only had enough batteries for the camera I used to take the pic :p
    http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v343/exomoto/DSCF0022.jpg

Would it be possible to remove this screen and somehow incorporate it into a pc? It can play any recorded video so I assume it is quite decent.

My computer uses a rather old Intel motherboard, I've never used an lcd screen before and I have a gfx card with two monitor plugs (if that's at all necessary).

Sorry for long post but I added lots of information to make things clearer, thanks for any help I receive in advance :D

Last edited: 17 Oct 2004
  2. Exomoto

Exomoto What's a Dremel?

I tested it out and it actually seems to be a fully functional camera. The memory empty error was just because it didnt have any photos on it. Looks like he left it behind because of the poor quality images (320x240). I also found a manual for it but it didn't really say anything useful so I'm gonna keep looking around. Any advice or even a quick "it'll never work" would help alot.

Edit: The camera has a 6v dc in, which I'm guessing I could mod to just power the screen and then either run a plug through the case or if I'm feeling ambitious, maybe run to the psu somehow.

Last edited: 17 Oct 2004
  3. SilentDeath

SilentDeath What's a Dremel?

Doubt it'll work, most screens need some kind of controller, which may or may not be seperate from the main board on the camera, and even if it was, good luck wiring it up to VGA or DVI. ;)