question about living in the uk

Discussion in 'General' started by tekcajder, 24 Apr 2005.

1. tekcajder

tekcajder What's a Dremel?

hey,

this is going to sound a bit stupid, but my gf has been offered a job just outside of london doing occupational therapy. Its a contract job and will last a year ... i guess my question is, would it be possible for me to find a way to stay in the UK for a year? i think travel visa's last six or three months, i'm a graphic designer/printer and i'm PRETTY sure that doesn't come under the "skilled worker" requirement for a work visa. school tuition in the states is usually twice as expensive for someone leaving his or her state (to go to another) ... even if i was accepted abroad, i'm sure it'd be mighty pricey (and i'm far from ever being rich)

i guess i'm really trying to find a way to stay on for a year, just until my gf is done with her work. again, i know this is a stupid question, i guess i was just wondering if any of you had advice?

thanks,

-james.

2. Nath

Nath Your appeal has already been filed.

Hrm...so one of your questions was would schooling be more expensive cause you'd come from America? If so, no it'd be just the same as everyone elses fees.

3. yodasarmpit

yodasarmpit Modder

I'm not 100% sure, but we have a number of Aussies working with us and they were able to get a 2 year visa for working in the UK.

4. scotty6435

scotty6435 What's a Dremel?

Best thing to do is to contact the British embassy and tell them your situation. They're very good at answering your questions and there's nothing better than word from the horses mouth :)

5. tekcajder