bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > Technology > Hardware

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 21st Nov 2008, 04:54   #1
shaile
Go BIG or GO HOME
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 43
shaile has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
More Memory or Crossfire

Ok, so I'm getting ready to build a supreme rig based on a new i7. This is what I've already decided on:

i7 920
Asus Rampage II Extreme
6 GB Corsair 1600 DDR3
2 150 GB VelociRaptor HDs in Raid 0
Zalman ZM-1000HP PSU
LG Blu-ray Burner/Player
Windows Vista 64 bit
Noctua NH-U12p SE (If I can ever find it in stock)
Sapphire 4870 X2

This list might look familiar as BT just recently included most of this hardware in the "what to buy" article recently, all of which was found in the "you have too much damn money and don't know what to do with it" section.


So here is the question, if I were to add anything else at the onset, it would be either 6 more GB of RAM or another 4870 X2. Does anyone have an idea which one would be more beneficial when games are concerned? I will be overclocking the CPU as far as it'l go safely, which based on the experience here, should hopefully be in the upper 3's if not 4 flat. I also still have not decided on a monitor, so if anyone has suggestions there, I would listen to those as well. I am thinking about getting a basic 18-20" for everyday "work" and then possibly have a 32-42" LCD, 1080p TV to plug into an HDMI for gaming.
shaile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Nov 2008, 05:59   #2
tonpal
Hypermodder
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 621
tonpal has yet to learn the way of the Dremeltonpal has yet to learn the way of the Dremeltonpal has yet to learn the way of the Dremeltonpal has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
I would consider a third (non raid) disk as a operating system / critical data drive and use the raid 0 array for applications and games.

Having the os and critical data on a raid 0 array is a big risk if you have a disk or controller problem as it can mean that you lose the lot.

Last edited by tonpal; 21st Nov 2008 at 17:15.
tonpal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Nov 2008, 13:37   #3
shaile
Go BIG or GO HOME
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 43
shaile has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
That thought has crossed my mind, however I already have a 500 GB external HD that is integrated into my network which I will plan on using. Plus, with the blu-ray/dvd-dl burner, I've got excessive amounts of back-up media available. Nevertheless, that is an option that I hadn't given all that much thought, but still wouldn't be a bad idea. Thanks for the input!
shaile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Nov 2008, 15:48   #4
heir flick
Hypermodder
 
heir flick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: bristol
Posts: 900
heir flick is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.heir flick is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.heir flick is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.heir flick is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.heir flick is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.heir flick is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.heir flick is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.heir flick is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.heir flick is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.heir flick is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.heir flick is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.
another 4870x2 sounds nice so does more ram but dont think you need them, so its a case of want more than need, i suppose thinking how fast fraphics cards get outdated to newer models then a ram upgrade makes more sense
heir flick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Nov 2008, 16:36   #5
5hadow
Modder
 
5hadow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 59
5hadow has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
I think this system might already be overkill. You can easily upgrade later, when the need arises (and the prices come down).

Save that money and spend it on buying games or xmas presents for your loved ones. If you still have some left after all this, send some my way.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 :: MSI P43 Neo-F :: Corsair XMS2 2x2GB PC6400 :: Powercolor HD 4850 PCS+ :: WD 640 AAKS :: Optiarc SATA Drive :: Cooler Master 430 elite :: Cooler Master Real Power Pro 460W :: Samsung SM2253BW :: Logitech G5 :: Vista Ultimate x64
5hadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Nov 2008, 17:06   #6
Highland3r
I Mod, Therefore I Own
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Leeds UK
Posts: 7,466
Highland3r is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Highland3r is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Highland3r is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Highland3r is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Highland3r is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Highland3r is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Highland3r is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Highland3r is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Highland3r is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Highland3r is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Highland3r is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
Quote:
Originally Posted by 5hadow View Post
I think this system might already be overkill. You can easily upgrade later, when the need arises (and the prices come down).

Save that money and spend it on buying games or xmas presents for your loved ones. If you still have some left after all this, send some my way.
Agreed. More ram won't make a load of difference and not really sure if you're going to have a load of spare CPU horsepower to feed another X2.
Can always add other stuff later if you find you're lackig in any area.

Wonder whether instead of the raptors you'd be better with a single (or 2 if you really insist) SSD? Low seek and read speeds are pretty decent on em now. Should help the system nip along pretty well.
Highland3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Nov 2008, 18:35   #7
shaile
Go BIG or GO HOME
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 43
shaile has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
only reason for not going with one SSD and then a single 300gb standard hd for media was the choppy complaints I've heard. HDs also seemed like a place where I could downgrade a little to save costs and not lose a lot of performance. I know this be will get cheaper and better hardware will come out, but that's just the merry go round they we choose to play on.
shaile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Nov 2008, 22:19   #8
shaile
Go BIG or GO HOME
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 43
shaile has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
After much consideration about the advice given, I believe I may look into a third HD (500GB or so) to use as an internal back-up drive. Will have to do a little studying on how to set up the combination of the 3 as I have never done a RAID system, but am going to have fun doing it. I am actually even looking at the possibility of downgrading from the 4870 X2. My gaming screen resolution is most likely going to either be 50" @ 720p or 40" @ 1080p, so I might be able to get away with something else that will perform great at those resolutions with everything max'd out. Thanks again for the advice everyone. Once I get going I might even do a build log, although since I don't have plans to do major case modding it may be pretty straight forward and boring... But it sure will fly!!
shaile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Nov 2008, 10:15   #9
ricickle
Reamer
 
ricickle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 218
ricickle has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
I read a review on the net that showed 6GB of triple channel ram wasent any better than having 3GB of tiple channel. just crossfire 2 4870x2 to be bad ass
__________________
PROJECT: DISTILLER A05B MOD
ricickle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th Nov 2008, 09:18   #10
Highland3r
I Mod, Therefore I Own
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Leeds UK
Posts: 7,466
Highland3r is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Highland3r is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Highland3r is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Highland3r is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Highland3r is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Highland3r is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Highland3r is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Highland3r is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Highland3r is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Highland3r is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Highland3r is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
Quote:
Originally Posted by shaile View Post
only reason for not going with one SSD and then a single 300gb standard hd for media was the choppy complaints I've heard. HDs also seemed like a place where I could downgrade a little to save costs and not lose a lot of performance. I know this be will get cheaper and better hardware will come out, but that's just the merry go round they we choose to play on.

lol, save cost on the HDD's but then add another 3gb ram or 4870X2.... heh
Highland3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Nov 2008, 15:20   #11
shaile
Go BIG or GO HOME
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 43
shaile has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
I believe you took that a bit out of context Highland3r. I am talking about the initial purchase. With those two harddrives, I am going to get great performance in Raid 0. Also, in the future if I do upgrade to a SSD, I can still run the two raptors in an array to maintain use with them. Should I go ahead and add either the 6, not 3, GB of RAM, I am at the max for the RIIE board, so no need/room to upgrade. Same with the 4870 X2, which even if new GPUs come out that are better, two for thoes in crossfire will cook for quite some time, especially as drivers get upgraded. Laugh at me if you must, but there is always a method to my madness... Whether it's right or wrong...
shaile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Nov 2008, 16:07   #12
Xtrafresh
It never hurts to help
 
Xtrafresh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: St. Martin, Dutch Antilles
Posts: 2,990
Xtrafresh can run CrysisXtrafresh can run CrysisXtrafresh can run CrysisXtrafresh can run CrysisXtrafresh can run CrysisXtrafresh can run CrysisXtrafresh can run CrysisXtrafresh can run CrysisXtrafresh can run CrysisXtrafresh can run CrysisXtrafresh can run Crysis
two possible upgrades:

1: for insane resolution gaming, definately get a second X2. Normally putting that much GPU horsepower in a rig means it'll be CPU limited, but not with the i7. It's a perfect match, that will get you very real, very substantial FPS advantages.

2: go for an Intel X25 SSD + a F1 1TB for storage. Those choppy complaints are true, but Intel doesn't use the JMicron controller that causes it. Anandtech has an insanely detailed article about it if you really wanna read into it.
This upgrade will make the PC as a whole feel a lot more snappy and fast. I don't think you'll be really noticing the extra FPS you get from a second X2, but you WILL notice the speedy handling of your PC with an SSD, and it will add to the feeling that you really bought yourself something special
__________________
Think of how stupid the average person is, and realize half of them are stupider than that.
- George Carlin
Xtrafresh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
graphics, memory, monitors

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:58.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.