bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > bit-tech.net > Article Discussion

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 27th Nov 2008, 13:09   #1
CardJoe
Freelance Journalist
bit-tech Staff
 
CardJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 11,337
CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.CardJoe is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
Apple advises use of Mac anti-virus

http://www.bit-tech.net/news/2008/11...c-anti-virus/1

Apple has updated its support site with a suggestion that users of Mac OS X employ some form of anti-virus defence in the wake of several Mac-based trojans.

CardJoe is offline  
Old 27th Nov 2008, 13:16   #2
bowman
Supermodder
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 352
bowman has yet to learn the way of the Dremelbowman has yet to learn the way of the Dremelbowman has yet to learn the way of the Dremelbowman has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Mac OS X may be open-source UNIX underneath, but the developers have intertwined that base with gobs and gobs of proprietary GUI bloat, just as bad as Microsoft. This isn't surprising at all.. And I'll enjoy laughing at the rabid Mac fanboys. Thanks for this. :P
bowman is offline  
Old 27th Nov 2008, 13:24   #3
Fod
what is the cheesecake?
 
Fod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: London
Posts: 5,800
Fod can run CrysisFod can run CrysisFod can run CrysisFod can run CrysisFod can run CrysisFod can run CrysisFod can run CrysisFod can run CrysisFod can run CrysisFod can run CrysisFod can run Crysis
it's really inevitable considering its growing user base. spam gangsters might as well tap into all those machines for their zombie networks.
__________________
"This face is left intentionally blank."
XBL/PSN/Steam ID: FodT
Fod is offline  
Old 27th Nov 2008, 13:45   #4
Veles
DUR HUR
 
Veles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 6,180
Veles has yet to learn the way of the DremelVeles has yet to learn the way of the DremelVeles has yet to learn the way of the DremelVeles has yet to learn the way of the DremelVeles has yet to learn the way of the DremelVeles has yet to learn the way of the DremelVeles has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fod View Post
spam gangsters might as well tap into all those machines for their zombie networks.
This is possibly the most awesome sentence I have ever read
__________________
Veles on: Xbox Live (My Halo stats), Steam Community, Twitter

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fod View Post
spam gangsters might as well tap into all those machines for their zombie networks.
Veles is offline  
Old 27th Nov 2008, 13:57   #5
Sark.inc
Multimodder
 
Sark.inc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 152
Sark.inc has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
LYING PACK OF TOSSERS.


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f5-ImdiB3f8
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8TABhGdeGyM

can't find the rest of them where they say macs don't get viruses and LIE.
Sark.inc is offline  
Old 27th Nov 2008, 13:59   #6
p3n
Hypermodder
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 778
p3n has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by bowman
Mac OS X may be open-source UNIX underneath, but the developers have intertwined that base with gobs and gobs of proprietary GUI bloat, just as bad as Microsoft. This isn't surprising at all.. And I'll enjoy laughing at the rabid Mac fanboys. Thanks for this. :P
Get some facts, the Mac UI uses far less resources than Vista and it being UNIX all processes get a look in at the CPU instead of the UI causing performance issues....

Anywho we put sophos on our Macs at work, never seen a virus tho
p3n is offline  
Old 27th Nov 2008, 14:34   #7
GoodBytes
How many wifi's does it have?
 
GoodBytes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 12,056
GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
Quote:
Originally Posted by p3n View Post
Get some facts, the Mac UI uses far less resources than Vista and it being UNIX all processes get a look in at the CPU instead of the UI causing performance issues....
Get YOUR fact straight, please. Vista Aero UI is rendered on the GPU not CPU. The only thing that the CPU does is render the content of the Window, but that is the program that needs to be changed to render itself on the GPU rather than the CPU.
__________________
Nv GPU Pro - Automate your graphic card overclock base on what you run, reduce power and noise. Designed for Laptops and Desktops. Filled with features.

Core i7 930 2.8GHz | G.Skill Pi 6GB 1600MHz 7-5-7-24 1.5V | Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD5 | GeForce GTX 260 | W.D Caviar Black 1TB | Corsair AX750 | Noctua NH-U12P | Xonar Essence STX | Win8 Pro 64-bit | Dell U2410 - 1920x1200 | OCZ Vertex 4 250GB
GoodBytes is offline  
Old 27th Nov 2008, 14:35   #8
cjoyce1980
Supermodder
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 404
cjoyce1980 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sark.inc
LYING PACK OF TOSSERS.


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f5-ImdiB3f8
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8TABhGdeGyM

can't find the rest of them where they say macs don't get viruses and LIE.
doesn't matter what OS you use, the viruses, malware and all the other crap will get you soon enough..... looks like there is no such thing as a superior OS now
cjoyce1980 is offline  
Old 27th Nov 2008, 14:37   #9
cjoyce1980
Supermodder
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 404
cjoyce1980 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoodBytes
Quote:
Originally Posted by p3n View Post
Get some facts, the Mac UI uses far less resources than Vista and it being UNIX all processes get a look in at the CPU instead of the UI causing performance issues....
Get YOUR fact straight, please. Vista Aero UI is rendered on the GPU not CPU. The only thing that the CPU does is render the content of the Window, but that is the program that needs to be changed to render itself on the GPU rather than the CPU.
lets face it, as something becomes as popular as windows its gonna get own by some jumped up hacker/spammer some where.... ubuntu and all other linux OSes next
cjoyce1980 is offline  
Old 27th Nov 2008, 14:44   #10
M4RTIN
Ultramodder
 
M4RTIN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 1,259
M4RTIN - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!M4RTIN - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!M4RTIN - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!M4RTIN - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!M4RTIN - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!M4RTIN - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!M4RTIN - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!M4RTIN - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!M4RTIN - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!M4RTIN - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!M4RTIN - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!
Quote:
Originally Posted by cjoyce1980 View Post
doesn't matter what OS you use, the viruses, malware and all the other crap will get you soon enough..... looks like there is no such thing as a superior OS now
woo time to stick with palm os i think..it's so outdated it'll never get a virus
M4RTIN is offline  
Old 27th Nov 2008, 14:45   #11
Nexxo
Whatever's Geek.
 
Nexxo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 25,077
Nexxo is definitely a rep cheat.Nexxo is definitely a rep cheat.Nexxo is definitely a rep cheat.Nexxo is definitely a rep cheat.Nexxo is definitely a rep cheat.Nexxo is definitely a rep cheat.Nexxo is definitely a rep cheat.Nexxo is definitely a rep cheat.Nexxo is definitely a rep cheat.Nexxo is definitely a rep cheat.Nexxo is definitely a rep cheat.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fod View Post
spam gangsters might as well tap into all those machines for their zombie networks.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Veles View Post
This is possibly the most awesome sentence I have ever read
Word.
__________________
"You actually hope to achieve your ideals, I just use mine as an excuse to hate everything" --specofdust
"Right wing Republicans, all the murderousness of nut-job Iranian ayatollahs, none of the bearded coolness" --specofdust


Nexxo is offline  
Old 27th Nov 2008, 15:01   #12
p3n
Hypermodder
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 778
p3n has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoodBytes
Quote:
Originally Posted by p3n View Post
Get some facts, the Mac UI uses far less resources than Vista and it being UNIX all processes get a look in at the CPU instead of the UI causing performance issues....
Get YOUR fact straight, please. Vista Aero UI is rendered on the GPU not CPU. The only thing that the CPU does is render the content of the Window, but that is the program that needs to be changed to render itself on the GPU rather than the CPU.
The UI being 'explorer.exe' not just the aero skin...
p3n is offline  
Old 27th Nov 2008, 15:15   #13
dyzophoria
Supermodder
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Home
Posts: 358
dyzophoria has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by p3n
Quote:
Originally Posted by bowman
Mac OS X may be open-source UNIX underneath, but the developers have intertwined that base with gobs and gobs of proprietary GUI bloat, just as bad as Microsoft. This isn't surprising at all.. And I'll enjoy laughing at the rabid Mac fanboys. Thanks for this. :P
Get some facts, the Mac UI uses far less resources than Vista and it being UNIX all processes get a look in at the CPU instead of the UI causing performance issues....

Anywho we put sophos on our Macs at work, never seen a virus tho
I think he doesnt mean the performance of the MAC, its about how OSX is coded, he means that because there are alot of proprietary bloat that hasnt been coded wisely, more exploits are discovered from time to time, compared to when vista released, OS X has even more vulnerabilities that has been discovered since then, as I said on another forum, its sad that OSX is based on a mature BSD base yet, more exploits are discovered from time to time on it
__________________
[FONT=Lucida Console]picture this..[/FONT] // [FONT=Tahoma][FONT=Fixedsys]picture that..[/FONT][/FONT]
dyzophoria is offline  
Old 27th Nov 2008, 15:22   #14
Fod
what is the cheesecake?
 
Fod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: London
Posts: 5,800
Fod can run CrysisFod can run CrysisFod can run CrysisFod can run CrysisFod can run CrysisFod can run CrysisFod can run CrysisFod can run CrysisFod can run CrysisFod can run CrysisFod can run Crysis
Quote:
Originally Posted by Veles View Post
This is possibly the most awesome sentence I have ever read
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nexxo View Post
Word.
thank you, thank you. i'm here all week. my writing services are available, talk to my agent!
__________________
"This face is left intentionally blank."
XBL/PSN/Steam ID: FodT
Fod is offline  
Old 27th Nov 2008, 16:37   #15
tranc3
ADHD Modder
 
tranc3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: WV, USA
Posts: 1,622
tranc3 has yet to learn the way of the Dremeltranc3 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
So the apple company just lost 85% of there marketing campaign.
__________________
[AMD Kuma 7750 2.77 |Asus M3N78-EM|Mushkin 4x1GB DDR800 |WD Caviar 500GB|GeForce EVGA GTS 250 512MB|OCZ StealthXStream 600]
tranc3 is offline  
Old 27th Nov 2008, 16:48   #16
Fod
what is the cheesecake?
 
Fod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: London
Posts: 5,800
Fod can run CrysisFod can run CrysisFod can run CrysisFod can run CrysisFod can run CrysisFod can run CrysisFod can run CrysisFod can run CrysisFod can run CrysisFod can run CrysisFod can run Crysis
their.

and i wouldn't say the virus aspect was 85%. they have been placing less and less of an emphasis on that lately, although i must admit the recent mac vs pc ad on viruses was somewhat irksome.
__________________
"This face is left intentionally blank."
XBL/PSN/Steam ID: FodT
Fod is offline  
Old 27th Nov 2008, 16:54   #17
ozstrike
yip yip yip yip
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Lake District, UK
Posts: 2,946
ozstrike has yet to learn the way of the Dremelozstrike has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sark.inc View Post
LYING PACK OF TOSSERS.


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f5-ImdiB3f8
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8TABhGdeGyM

can't find the rest of them where they say macs don't get viruses and LIE.
I'm pretty sure they would have been made when there were no major viruses for Macs.
__________________
Last.FM | Flickr | Enter the POTM! | Blog
ozstrike is offline  
Old 27th Nov 2008, 19:35   #18
-EVRE-
Supermodder
 
-EVRE-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Idaho U.S.A
Posts: 366
-EVRE- has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
It still boggles me why people way over pay for an x86 based computer then put the mac OS on it.. Talk about gimped.. There is nothing a MS based system cant do that a mac can.

If they claim a MS system uses more resources.. we have quad cores and a gig of ram costs $15..... its hardly an issue.

I'm a person who uses their computer for EVERYTHING:
Watching TV
recording live TV
watching DVD's
recoding movies to play on my dads Zune, sisters Ipod, and my sony walkman
Playing video games, CSS, Crysis, WoW (lots of wow.. and Wow multi boxing) Mass Effect.
....... etc etc.

Mac uses, welcome to the rest of the world, be careful with your computer, don't be an idiot... your OS cant protect you from that anymore!
__________________
(Purchased February 2nd 2009(Phenom II 940 @ 3.6ghz)(Foxcon A7DA)(8gb OCZ DDR2 800 ))
(AMD 6970)( Cooler Master ATC 840)(Corsair 850w)(lite-on DVD-RW w/LightScribe)(Crucial m226 64gb ssd)(WD Black 1tb x2)(Samsung 2tb(Dell 3007WFP 30"LCD, 19" Samsung, Acer 1280x720 projector)
-EVRE- is offline  
Old 27th Nov 2008, 19:50   #19
DarkLord7854
Pew pew lazerz
 
DarkLord7854's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 4,643
DarkLord7854 can run CrysisDarkLord7854 can run CrysisDarkLord7854 can run CrysisDarkLord7854 can run CrysisDarkLord7854 can run CrysisDarkLord7854 can run CrysisDarkLord7854 can run CrysisDarkLord7854 can run CrysisDarkLord7854 can run CrysisDarkLord7854 can run Crysis
To Steve/Apple:

__________________
Asus P9X79 Deluxe | i7 3930K | 2x Asus GTX760 | 3x OCZ Agility3 240GB SSD - 1x WB Black 1Tb | G.Skill Ripjaws Z 32GB DDR3-1866 | Creative XtremeGamer X-Fi | Thermaltake Level10GT
DarkLord7854 is offline  
Old 27th Nov 2008, 20:36   #20
Aterius Gmork
/r/pcmasterrace
 
Aterius Gmork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,475
Aterius Gmork is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Aterius Gmork is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Aterius Gmork is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Aterius Gmork is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Aterius Gmork is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Aterius Gmork is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Aterius Gmork is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Aterius Gmork is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Aterius Gmork is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Aterius Gmork is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Aterius Gmork is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
*another one bites the dust*
__________________
Feel free to correct this post per PN or otherwise to help me improve my English.
Aterius Gmork is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 13:18.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.