bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > Technology > Tech Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 14th Apr 2012, 18:22   #1
sparkyboy22
Web Tinkerer
 
sparkyboy22's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: NN10
Posts: 659
sparkyboy22 should be considered for presidentsparkyboy22 should be considered for presidentsparkyboy22 should be considered for presidentsparkyboy22 should be considered for presidentsparkyboy22 should be considered for presidentsparkyboy22 should be considered for presidentsparkyboy22 should be considered for presidentsparkyboy22 should be considered for presidentsparkyboy22 should be considered for presidentsparkyboy22 should be considered for presidentsparkyboy22 should be considered for president
Asus Xonar D2X Click

Does anyone else with one of these get a fairly loud click from their card when starting up or shutting down?
__________________
i5 2500k @ 4.5 GHz | Corsair H100 | Asus P8P67 Pro | 16GB Corsair Vengeance | EVGA GTX680 | Corsair Force 3 240GB SSD
Asus Xonar D2X | Corsair HX650 | Xigmatek Utgard | Dell U2311h 1920x1080
Logitech Z906 5.1 Speakers | Logitech K750 Solar Keyboard | Logitech Performance MX Mouse

sparkyboy22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Apr 2012, 18:34   #2
GeorgeStorm
Aggressive PC Builder
 
GeorgeStorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 5,053
GeorgeStorm is definitely a rep cheat.GeorgeStorm is definitely a rep cheat.GeorgeStorm is definitely a rep cheat.GeorgeStorm is definitely a rep cheat.GeorgeStorm is definitely a rep cheat.GeorgeStorm is definitely a rep cheat.GeorgeStorm is definitely a rep cheat.GeorgeStorm is definitely a rep cheat.GeorgeStorm is definitely a rep cheat.GeorgeStorm is definitely a rep cheat.GeorgeStorm is definitely a rep cheat.
My Essence ST does the same.
A friend said it sounded like a relay clicking?
__________________
"Anyone who just plays games for fun is a n3rd" - Jörge "I should be in prison for what I'm thinking right now" - Splooshiba
My Parvum Systems build log
My flickr - My blog it'sfilmnotmovie - hwbot
GeorgeStorm is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Apr 2012, 18:43   #3
lp rob1
PAM says no...
 
lp rob1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: ::1
Posts: 1,496
lp rob1 is definitely a rep cheat.lp rob1 is definitely a rep cheat.lp rob1 is definitely a rep cheat.lp rob1 is definitely a rep cheat.lp rob1 is definitely a rep cheat.lp rob1 is definitely a rep cheat.lp rob1 is definitely a rep cheat.lp rob1 is definitely a rep cheat.lp rob1 is definitely a rep cheat.lp rob1 is definitely a rep cheat.lp rob1 is definitely a rep cheat.
That's the relay in the card switching.
The relay is to stop a sudden surge of power going to the speakers during boot - it can sometimes stop damage to the speakers. You will find that the front panel output also uses a relay for switching.
__________________
The Linux Schools Project
lp rob1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Apr 2012, 18:44   #4
fdbh96
I *am* a Dremel
 
fdbh96's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,894
fdbh96 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.fdbh96 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.fdbh96 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.fdbh96 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.fdbh96 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.fdbh96 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.fdbh96 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.fdbh96 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.fdbh96 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.fdbh96 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.fdbh96 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
My dg does it too.
fdbh96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Apr 2012, 18:52   #5
GoodBytes
How many wifi's does it have?
 
GoodBytes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 12,056
GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
Does the click sound occurs on the speakers or the card itself?
(just trying to see what you are talking about exactly, just to be sure).
__________________
Nv GPU Pro - Automate your graphic card overclock base on what you run, reduce power and noise. Designed for Laptops and Desktops. Filled with features.

Core i7 930 2.8GHz | G.Skill Pi 6GB 1600MHz 7-5-7-24 1.5V | Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD5 | GeForce GTX 260 | W.D Caviar Black 1TB | Corsair AX750 | Noctua NH-U12P | Xonar Essence STX | Win8 Pro 64-bit | Dell U2410 - 1920x1200 | OCZ Vertex 4 250GB

Last edited by GoodBytes; 14th Apr 2012 at 18:58.
GoodBytes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Apr 2012, 19:28   #6
Jasio
Made in Canada
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Posts: 766
Jasio has yet to learn the way of the DremelJasio has yet to learn the way of the DremelJasio has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
It's perfectly fine- it happens on the Xonar Essence ST/STX as well.
Nothing to worry about.

You will also hear it when it switches outputs using Asus Audio Center (3.5mm <-> RCA for example).
__________________
[[Asus Rampage III Formula RoG | Intel Core i7 980X @ 4.2 Ghz | Corsair H70 | 12GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill | 2 x MSI 560Ti 1GB Twin Frozer II SLi | Corsair AX750 PSU | 2 x Crucial C300 128GB SSD + 3 x Samsung F1 1TB | Silverstone Fortress FT02B]]
Jasio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Apr 2012, 19:32   #7
longweight
Possibly Longbeard.
 
longweight's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: London
Posts: 10,481
longweight is definitely a rep cheat.longweight is definitely a rep cheat.longweight is definitely a rep cheat.longweight is definitely a rep cheat.longweight is definitely a rep cheat.longweight is definitely a rep cheat.longweight is definitely a rep cheat.longweight is definitely a rep cheat.longweight is definitely a rep cheat.longweight is definitely a rep cheat.longweight is definitely a rep cheat.
Mine does it too, I also get an annoying background noise similar to white noise through my D2X. Too lazy to do anything about it though.
longweight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Apr 2012, 20:40   #8
GoodBytes
How many wifi's does it have?
 
GoodBytes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 12,056
GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
Quote:
Originally Posted by longweight View Post
Mine does it too, I also get an annoying background noise similar to white noise through my D2X. Too lazy to do anything about it though.
That is not normal.
You probably have Line In or Mic or Aux ports not muted. I would lower the volume to 0 and mute them.
__________________
Nv GPU Pro - Automate your graphic card overclock base on what you run, reduce power and noise. Designed for Laptops and Desktops. Filled with features.

Core i7 930 2.8GHz | G.Skill Pi 6GB 1600MHz 7-5-7-24 1.5V | Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD5 | GeForce GTX 260 | W.D Caviar Black 1TB | Corsair AX750 | Noctua NH-U12P | Xonar Essence STX | Win8 Pro 64-bit | Dell U2410 - 1920x1200 | OCZ Vertex 4 250GB
GoodBytes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Apr 2012, 21:29   #9
sparkyboy22
Web Tinkerer
 
sparkyboy22's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: NN10
Posts: 659
sparkyboy22 should be considered for presidentsparkyboy22 should be considered for presidentsparkyboy22 should be considered for presidentsparkyboy22 should be considered for presidentsparkyboy22 should be considered for presidentsparkyboy22 should be considered for presidentsparkyboy22 should be considered for presidentsparkyboy22 should be considered for presidentsparkyboy22 should be considered for presidentsparkyboy22 should be considered for presidentsparkyboy22 should be considered for president
Phew. Thanks, it does sound like a relay. I was panicking something was going to go!
Had a BSOD that seemed to be software related but couldnt get into windows long enough to find from what so did reinstall and then noticed the clicking.

I'll stop worrying now.
__________________
i5 2500k @ 4.5 GHz | Corsair H100 | Asus P8P67 Pro | 16GB Corsair Vengeance | EVGA GTX680 | Corsair Force 3 240GB SSD
Asus Xonar D2X | Corsair HX650 | Xigmatek Utgard | Dell U2311h 1920x1080
Logitech Z906 5.1 Speakers | Logitech K750 Solar Keyboard | Logitech Performance MX Mouse

sparkyboy22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Apr 2012, 21:29   #10
fdbh96
I *am* a Dremel
 
fdbh96's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,894
fdbh96 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.fdbh96 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.fdbh96 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.fdbh96 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.fdbh96 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.fdbh96 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.fdbh96 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.fdbh96 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.fdbh96 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.fdbh96 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.fdbh96 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
Quote:
Originally Posted by longweight View Post
Mine does it too, I also get an annoying background noise similar to white noise through my D2X. Too lazy to do anything about it though.
Is it when the gpu is under load? As I had this problem but only when my gpu was under load. I just plugged my headset in the back of my pc instead of the front panel.
fdbh96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Apr 2012, 21:59   #11
lp rob1
PAM says no...
 
lp rob1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: ::1
Posts: 1,496
lp rob1 is definitely a rep cheat.lp rob1 is definitely a rep cheat.lp rob1 is definitely a rep cheat.lp rob1 is definitely a rep cheat.lp rob1 is definitely a rep cheat.lp rob1 is definitely a rep cheat.lp rob1 is definitely a rep cheat.lp rob1 is definitely a rep cheat.lp rob1 is definitely a rep cheat.lp rob1 is definitely a rep cheat.lp rob1 is definitely a rep cheat.
Quote:
Originally Posted by fdbh96 View Post
Is it when the gpu is under load? As I had this problem but only when my gpu was under load. I just plugged my headset in the back of my pc instead of the front panel.
Ah, the classic case of ground loops. The Antec 1200 Case has a really bad ground loop. The front panel audio jacks' ground is connected to the case, the ground of the USB and the ground of eSATA. And I can assume that somewhere along the line the ground of the USB and/or eSATA is connected to the ground of all the other components on the board, which slightly changes when my PC does something. So the Xonar (DX in my case) has a nice stable ground which feeds to the audio ports, but it is 'corrupted' by the unstable ground from the other components. I couldn't stand the whining, so I unplugged the USB and eSATA headers from the board, and detached the case ground.
__________________
The Linux Schools Project
lp rob1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Apr 2012, 22:26   #12
fdbh96
I *am* a Dremel
 
fdbh96's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,894
fdbh96 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.fdbh96 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.fdbh96 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.fdbh96 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.fdbh96 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.fdbh96 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.fdbh96 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.fdbh96 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.fdbh96 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.fdbh96 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.fdbh96 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
Quote:
Originally Posted by lp rob1 View Post
Ah, the classic case of ground loops. The Antec 1200 Case has a really bad ground loop. The front panel audio jacks' ground is connected to the case, the ground of the USB and the ground of eSATA. And I can assume that somewhere along the line the ground of the USB and/or eSATA is connected to the ground of all the other components on the board, which slightly changes when my PC does something. So the Xonar (DX in my case) has a nice stable ground which feeds to the audio ports, but it is 'corrupted' by the unstable ground from the other components. I couldn't stand the whining, so I unplugged the USB and eSATA headers from the board, and detached the case ground.
Got a bit lost there, so is there anything I can do so I can use my front panel again.
fdbh96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Apr 2012, 23:17   #13
lp rob1
PAM says no...
 
lp rob1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: ::1
Posts: 1,496
lp rob1 is definitely a rep cheat.lp rob1 is definitely a rep cheat.lp rob1 is definitely a rep cheat.lp rob1 is definitely a rep cheat.lp rob1 is definitely a rep cheat.lp rob1 is definitely a rep cheat.lp rob1 is definitely a rep cheat.lp rob1 is definitely a rep cheat.lp rob1 is definitely a rep cheat.lp rob1 is definitely a rep cheat.lp rob1 is definitely a rep cheat.
Quote:
Originally Posted by fdbh96 View Post
Got a bit lost there, so is there anything I can do so I can use my front panel again.
Hehe, sorry. A ground loop is where you have two or more different 'ground' points (0V) connected together. Most of the time a small fluctuation doesn't cause any problems, but it can be heard through an audio device. Antec cases are notorious for ground loops...

To fix a ground loop, you need to disconnect the audio ground from the other grounds that may be attached (USB, eSATA, the case). I took the easy route and disconnected my front panel USB ports and eSATA port, then used a screwdriver to remove the case ground connector. This removed the ground loop problem, but means that I have no eSATA and lack 2 USB ports (thankfully my card reader has one).

A real fix is to cut the wire that links the audio ground to the other grounds. For some cases the front panel assembly is bare, and that makes it much easier to find and cut the offending wire. In other cases (Antec, I'm looking at you again...) the front panel assembly is in a box, filled with that white coaxial stuff (plastic?) - which makes it much more tricky to find the wire.
__________________
The Linux Schools Project
lp rob1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Apr 2012, 23:22   #14
GoodBytes
How many wifi's does it have?
 
GoodBytes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 12,056
GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
I simply recommend to NOT use the frontal audio ports. Plus, usually teh wires for teh audio aren't shielded, so you get all the interference from the computer. Use your speakers headphone jack instead. This also allows you to have a consistent volume between your speakers and headphones, so you won't jump form your chair because your volume was set to next max for your headphones to hear something, as you unplugged your headphones.

The great majority, if not all (except the crap) PC speakers have a headphone jack on either one of the speakers front or sides, or on the wired remote.
__________________
Nv GPU Pro - Automate your graphic card overclock base on what you run, reduce power and noise. Designed for Laptops and Desktops. Filled with features.

Core i7 930 2.8GHz | G.Skill Pi 6GB 1600MHz 7-5-7-24 1.5V | Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD5 | GeForce GTX 260 | W.D Caviar Black 1TB | Corsair AX750 | Noctua NH-U12P | Xonar Essence STX | Win8 Pro 64-bit | Dell U2410 - 1920x1200 | OCZ Vertex 4 250GB
GoodBytes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Apr 2012, 08:28   #15
fdbh96
I *am* a Dremel
 
fdbh96's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,894
fdbh96 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.fdbh96 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.fdbh96 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.fdbh96 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.fdbh96 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.fdbh96 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.fdbh96 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.fdbh96 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.fdbh96 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.fdbh96 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.fdbh96 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoodBytes View Post
I simply recommend to NOT use the frontal audio ports. Plus, usually teh wires for teh audio aren't shielded, so you get all the interference from the computer. Use your speakers headphone jack instead. This also allows you to have a consistent volume between your speakers and headphones, so you won't jump form your chair because your volume was set to next max for your headphones to hear something, as you unplugged your headphones.

The great majority, if not all (except the crap) PC speakers have a headphone jack on either one of the speakers front or sides, or on the wired remote.
This is what I ended up doing, but I use both headset and speakers, but for some reason, the speaker don't make a sound when in the front audio ports.
fdbh96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Apr 2012, 08:32   #16
Mighty Yoshimi
Motormouth
 
Mighty Yoshimi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Edinburgh
Posts: 760
Mighty Yoshimi is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitMighty Yoshimi is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitMighty Yoshimi is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitMighty Yoshimi is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitMighty Yoshimi is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitMighty Yoshimi is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitMighty Yoshimi is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitMighty Yoshimi is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitMighty Yoshimi is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitMighty Yoshimi is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitMighty Yoshimi is almost as Godly as yodasarmpit
Mine does it on occassion!
__________________
CPU = i5 2500K @ 5ghz, RAM = 16GB, GFX = EVGA 680 GTX 2Gb SLI, Sound = Asus D2X Xonar, Cooling = H100
Mighty Yoshimi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Apr 2012, 10:14   #17
sparkyboy22
Web Tinkerer
 
sparkyboy22's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: NN10
Posts: 659
sparkyboy22 should be considered for presidentsparkyboy22 should be considered for presidentsparkyboy22 should be considered for presidentsparkyboy22 should be considered for presidentsparkyboy22 should be considered for presidentsparkyboy22 should be considered for presidentsparkyboy22 should be considered for presidentsparkyboy22 should be considered for presidentsparkyboy22 should be considered for presidentsparkyboy22 should be considered for presidentsparkyboy22 should be considered for president
Thanks all. I am no longer panicking about it!!

Rep all round.
__________________
i5 2500k @ 4.5 GHz | Corsair H100 | Asus P8P67 Pro | 16GB Corsair Vengeance | EVGA GTX680 | Corsair Force 3 240GB SSD
Asus Xonar D2X | Corsair HX650 | Xigmatek Utgard | Dell U2311h 1920x1080
Logitech Z906 5.1 Speakers | Logitech K750 Solar Keyboard | Logitech Performance MX Mouse

sparkyboy22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Apr 2012, 10:36   #18
shankly1985
Modder
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 53
shankly1985 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
I get it on my xonar ds when shutting down. It dont play the windows shut down sound so it clicks. Its fine starting up tho I hear the sound.
shankly1985 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Apr 2012, 11:08   #19
The Duke
What's a Dremel?
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2
The Duke has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by lp rob1 View Post
Hehe, sorry. A ground loop is where you have two or more different 'ground' points (0V) connected together. Most of the time a small fluctuation doesn't cause any problems, but it can be heard through an audio device. Antec cases are notorious for ground loops...

To fix a ground loop, you need to disconnect the audio ground from the other grounds that may be attached (USB, eSATA, the case). I took the easy route and disconnected my front panel USB ports and eSATA port, then used a screwdriver to remove the case ground connector. This removed the ground loop problem, but means that I have no eSATA and lack 2 USB ports (thankfully my card reader has one).

A real fix is to cut the wire that links the audio ground to the other grounds. For some cases the front panel assembly is bare, and that makes it much easier to find and cut the offending wire. In other cases (Antec, I'm looking at you again...) the front panel assembly is in a box, filled with that white coaxial stuff (plastic?) - which makes it much more tricky to find the wire.
Hi there. I have registered here so I can ask for your advice.
I have a very similar setup to you. I have an antec 1200 case, asus p6t deluxe, i7 920 clocked at 3.8 ghz 9gb of ram, 680 Gtx and an asus D2X soundcard.
I am goin out of the soundcard to 5.1 using active mackie mr5 and mr8 studio monitors and the ground loop noise is unbearable!
Is there anyway you could explain in more detail how to stop this damn noise!
I have thought about buying ebtech hum eliminator or the behringer hd400 but it's a lot of money to buy hum eliminates for a 5.1 setup.
Is it dangerous removing the ground on the case for the front audio ports? I don't even use them anyway.
Any response would be greatly appreciated as I have been looking for so long to an answer to this problem.
I thought it was the motherboard or my house wiring. Never thought of the case.
Thanks in advance.
The Duke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Apr 2012, 17:18   #20
lp rob1
PAM says no...
 
lp rob1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: ::1
Posts: 1,496
lp rob1 is definitely a rep cheat.lp rob1 is definitely a rep cheat.lp rob1 is definitely a rep cheat.lp rob1 is definitely a rep cheat.lp rob1 is definitely a rep cheat.lp rob1 is definitely a rep cheat.lp rob1 is definitely a rep cheat.lp rob1 is definitely a rep cheat.lp rob1 is definitely a rep cheat.lp rob1 is definitely a rep cheat.lp rob1 is definitely a rep cheat.
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Duke View Post
Hi there. I have registered here so I can ask for your advice.
I have a very similar setup to you. I have an antec 1200 case, asus p6t deluxe, i7 920 clocked at 3.8 ghz 9gb of ram, 680 Gtx and an asus D2X soundcard.
I am goin out of the soundcard to 5.1 using active mackie mr5 and mr8 studio monitors and the ground loop noise is unbearable!
Is there anyway you could explain in more detail how to stop this damn noise!
I have thought about buying ebtech hum eliminator or the behringer hd400 but it's a lot of money to buy hum eliminates for a 5.1 setup.
Is it dangerous removing the ground on the case for the front audio ports? I don't even use them anyway.
Any response would be greatly appreciated as I have been looking for so long to an answer to this problem.
I thought it was the motherboard or my house wiring. Never thought of the case.
Thanks in advance.
So the studio monitors are connected to the rear audio outputs, aka the ones directly on the soundcard? The problem listed above is about ground loop noise from the front panel audio connectors, not the rear ones. Although, thinking about it, the ground loop could feed back into the soundcard then back through the rear connectors...

You will need to do some testing. Headphones usually work best, connected directly to the soundcard (so no monitors). If you get ground loop noise through the back connectors, then try unplugging the front panel audio connectors from the sound card, inside the case. Then test for the noise again.
  • If the noise has not gone away, then there is a problem with the card and ground loops are not your problem.
  • If you got no noise from connecting the headphones directly to the soundcard, then there may be a problem with the monitors (assuming I know audio topology ).
  • If the sound went away by unplugging the front panel audio connectors, then you must make a decision. Do you ever use the front panel audio connectors? If not, then just leave it unplugged from the soundcard. If yes, post back here.
__________________
The Linux Schools Project
lp rob1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 17:38.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.