bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > Modding > Modding

Reply
 
Thread Tools View Mode
Old 24th Apr 2012, 07:01   #1
hokage
What's a Dremel?
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3
hokage has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Tips on making hole for Power Button?

Hi guys,

Wondering if you could give me some ideas or tips on a hole for my power button on a scratch build. I've got a Bulgin vandal switch and I'll be attaching it to a .220 acrylic sheet.

I have a dremel and a handheld wireless drill, would a dremel be the best idea with what I have?
The issue is, getting the hole big enough, round enough, and a proper fit. I only have small dremel / drill bits. Should I just keep drilling until it's big enough? Because that's a lot of stop and go testing, I just figured maybe someone had a better idea. Is there an actual circle size or is it pretty much a "measure and drill" type of job?

Getting a round hole is my main issue and I don't want to end up with it too big because that means I have to start over. Preciseness is not a strong point on my part but I'm slowly improving. Even a premade tool for that stuff would work.

Any ideas would be great, thanks
hokage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th Apr 2012, 09:25   #2
Attila
still thinking....
 
Attila's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,216
Attila should be considered for presidentAttila should be considered for presidentAttila should be considered for presidentAttila should be considered for presidentAttila should be considered for presidentAttila should be considered for presidentAttila should be considered for presidentAttila should be considered for presidentAttila should be considered for presidentAttila should be considered for presidentAttila should be considered for president
Measure the switch.
Mark the circle on the acrylic. (use a coin, or anything that is close. Preferably slightly larger than you need),
Drill lots of little holes around the inside of the circle, close together.
Push the waste out.
File clean and round.

Or....

Buy a drill bit/hole cutter/spade bit for the size you need. No drill? Buy one, here the big hardware shops have em for fifteen bucks.

Or.....

Buy a smaller drill bit and file the rest of the way with a round file. Don't have round file? Get one, they are cheap.

Or.....

Take it somewhere to have the hole cut for you. Laser cutters, machine shop, school.


Or.....Google, ask a friend, ask Dad to do it for you.

Seriously, pretty difficult to make a scratch build without some files and a drill and some drill bits.
__________________
stillthinking
Attila is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th Apr 2012, 09:26   #3
TaRkA DaHl
I *am* a Dremel
 
TaRkA DaHl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,635
TaRkA DaHl is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.TaRkA DaHl is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.TaRkA DaHl is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.TaRkA DaHl is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.TaRkA DaHl is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.TaRkA DaHl is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.TaRkA DaHl is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.TaRkA DaHl is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.TaRkA DaHl is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.TaRkA DaHl is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.TaRkA DaHl is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
Draw the exact size hole you need (around the switch) and drill a hole big enough to fit in a circular sanding attachment for your dremel and just slowly grind away the material until its large enough.

The switch will have a couple of mm overlap which will hide slightly rough edges remember.
TaRkA DaHl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th Apr 2012, 19:37   #4
hokage
What's a Dremel?
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3
hokage has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Thanks guys, I have a drill, but I don't think a arbor adapter for a hole saw will fit it. Smallest one I could find was 3/8 inch and I think even that was too big for my handheld drill.
I think I'll just file till it's close.

3/4 in. hole for a bulgin vandal switch correct?
hokage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th Apr 2012, 23:07   #5
Reconnec7ed
Minimodder
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Staffordshire, UK
Posts: 45
Reconnec7ed has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Your planning on completing an entire scratch build and you asking how to drill a hole?
Reconnec7ed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th Apr 2012, 23:31   #6
Carrie
I Mod, Therefore I Own
 
Carrie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: South East England
Posts: 3,138
Carrie is a Super Spamming SaiyanCarrie is a Super Spamming SaiyanCarrie is a Super Spamming SaiyanCarrie is a Super Spamming SaiyanCarrie is a Super Spamming SaiyanCarrie is a Super Spamming SaiyanCarrie is a Super Spamming SaiyanCarrie is a Super Spamming SaiyanCarrie is a Super Spamming SaiyanCarrie is a Super Spamming SaiyanCarrie is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Perhaps he hasn't worked with acrylic before and would prefer to make sure he does it right than get it wrong. Whatever his reasoning for being cautious I think he's looking for constructive comments
__________________
MountainMods H2GO - the little case, i7-860, ROG Maximus III Forumla, 2 x 2gb GSkill Trident F3-1600 @ 2k, Coolermaster RS700-80GAD3-UK Silent Pro Gold 700W, Noctua NH-C14 dual fan, Gigabyte GeForce GTX 460 OC 1GB, 1 x 500GB Seagate 7200, Samsung 830 SSD, 500Gb WD, Samsung 12x B/ray, AeroCool F/C, E'max Apollish/Cluster fans.
Now building a scratch build HTPC

Last edited by Carrie; 24th Apr 2012 at 23:41.
Carrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th Apr 2012, 04:54   #7
hokage
What's a Dremel?
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3
hokage has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reconnec7ed View Post
Your planning on completing an entire scratch build and you asking how to drill a hole?
I've never drilled a hole that size before. For big holes, I just use a dremel circle guide, but it doesn't go that small. For mounting holes...yea kinda just in and out.

Point is, I don't want to spend another $40-50 for a drill, arbor, and hole saw just for 1 hole so I was wondering if there's another option.

Does that make more sense?
hokage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Apr 2012, 12:11   #8
enterobsidian
Hopless World Wonderer
 
enterobsidian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Over the oceans, half a world away....
Posts: 264
enterobsidian can run Crysisenterobsidian can run Crysisenterobsidian can run Crysisenterobsidian can run Crysisenterobsidian can run Crysisenterobsidian can run Crysisenterobsidian can run Crysisenterobsidian can run Crysisenterobsidian can run Crysisenterobsidian can run Crysisenterobsidian can run Crysis
This may come in handy.

Clickly Link!

It might give you a better idea of where to start.

Cheers
Enterobsidian
__________________
"Is a dream a lie if it don't come true? Or is it something worse?"
Bruce Springsteen

Searching Distant Seas
enterobsidian is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
View Mode

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:28.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.