bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > Technology > Hardware

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 24th Apr 2012, 23:04   #21
3lusive
Ultramodder
 
3lusive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,087
3lusive is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.3lusive is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.3lusive is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.3lusive is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.3lusive is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.3lusive is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.3lusive is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.3lusive is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.3lusive is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.3lusive is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.3lusive is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.
Certainly am, now which part is another matter .
__________________
Antec 300 | Asus P8H67-M Pro R3 | i5 2500K | 16GB XMS3 RAM | GT 430 Zone | 60GB F60 SSD | 1TB F3 + 500GB HDD | CX430W PSU | Logitech G500 + C510 | Win7 Ultimate x64
X-Star DP2710 LED 27" 2560x1440 x2
3lusive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th Apr 2012, 00:14   #22
GoodBytes
How many wifi's does it have?
 
GoodBytes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 12,056
GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
The Dell monitor is a bit higher end one, so you should see a bit less backlight bleeding. I suspect that you should see none or nearly none, on wide screen movies. I have the U2410, which has non on any wide screen movies, but, of course you do on a full black screen. And well.. you see the price tag. :/

If you want 0 backlight bleeding, you will need, as 3lusive mentioned, to look in the professional market. And those are very costly monitors. Like reaching well pass 1000+$ Can/US for a 24inch, and that is still a base line professional, and goes way up.

The only fix to this issue are OLED screen, where the pixel themselves makes light.. so because you don't have a backlight, you solve the problem. But these share their own problems (for now), including high price.
__________________
Nv GPU Pro - Automate your graphic card overclock base on what you run, reduce power and noise. Designed for Laptops and Desktops. Filled with features.

Core i7 930 2.8GHz | G.Skill Pi 6GB 1600MHz 7-5-7-24 1.5V | Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD5 | GeForce GTX 260 | W.D Caviar Black 1TB | Corsair AX750 | Noctua NH-U12P | Xonar Essence STX | Win8 Pro 64-bit | Dell U2410 - 1920x1200 | OCZ Vertex 4 250GB
GoodBytes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th Apr 2012, 16:00   #23
Phillthy
Minimodder
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 49
Phillthy has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
I'm actually not too fussed by bleeding as long as it's not massively noticeable so hopefully I'll be happy with the Dell.

Thanks very much for the info again!
Phillthy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th Apr 2012, 16:22   #24
Tigernos
Resident Roman Soldier
 
Tigernos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Chester, England
Posts: 313
Tigernos can run CrysisTigernos can run CrysisTigernos can run CrysisTigernos can run CrysisTigernos can run CrysisTigernos can run CrysisTigernos can run CrysisTigernos can run CrysisTigernos can run CrysisTigernos can run CrysisTigernos can run Crysis
What's the difference in price then? I'm currently budgeting for the monitor from the op but if the dell one isn't much more and better quality I may go for it. My main addiction of choice is EVE Online. So I'll be in space, in the dark, a lot. Haha
__________________
MY FIRST BUILD Case:Corsair Carbide 400R | MoBo:Gigabyte GA-Z77-D3H | CPU:Intel Core i5 3570K @ 4.5GHz @ 1.23v | Cooler:Arctic Cooling Freezer i30 | RAM:8GB (2x4GB) LP Corsair Vengeance Blue | GPU:Gigabyte GTX 560Ti 1.2GB | PSU:600W Corsair Gaming Series | Monitor:Dell U2412M
Tigernos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th Apr 2012, 23:50   #25
Phillthy
Minimodder
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 49
Phillthy has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
It's around 40-60 depending where you buy from.
Phillthy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Apr 2012, 03:27   #26
GoodBytes
How many wifi's does it have?
 
GoodBytes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 12,056
GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tigernos View Post
What's the difference in price then? I'm currently budgeting for the monitor from the op but if the dell one isn't much more and better quality I may go for it. My main addiction of choice is EVE Online. So I'll be in space, in the dark, a lot. Haha
If you are playing games that has a lot of dark scenes, then perhaps an MVA panel would be better choice, as you would get no backlight bleeding. MVA is a "cheaper" version of PVA technology if you will... but that was not it's design goal, rather provide TN panel like performance (initially, that was before IPS panels where fast as today). And it does, but also inherit many of it's problems. I mean I don't know the game... but something to keep in mind, if you have a too much of an issue with the backlight bleeding your current monitor. Else then that, no problem.
__________________
Nv GPU Pro - Automate your graphic card overclock base on what you run, reduce power and noise. Designed for Laptops and Desktops. Filled with features.

Core i7 930 2.8GHz | G.Skill Pi 6GB 1600MHz 7-5-7-24 1.5V | Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD5 | GeForce GTX 260 | W.D Caviar Black 1TB | Corsair AX750 | Noctua NH-U12P | Xonar Essence STX | Win8 Pro 64-bit | Dell U2410 - 1920x1200 | OCZ Vertex 4 250GB

Last edited by GoodBytes; 26th Apr 2012 at 05:34.
GoodBytes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Apr 2012, 04:41   #27
Nomaipaker
What's a Dremel?
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5
Nomaipaker has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
What are you waiting for? Go have it replaced asap
Nomaipaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Apr 2012, 12:02   #28
Phillthy
Minimodder
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 49
Phillthy has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
It was collected yesterday Nomai, just talking about replacements and alternatives now! ^.^
Phillthy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Apr 2012, 16:44   #29
Phillthy
Minimodder
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 49
Phillthy has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Replacement Goodies!
Phillthy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Apr 2012, 16:49   #30
Deders
I Mod, Therefore I Own
 
Deders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Here and there, mostly there
Posts: 3,613
Deders is definitely a rep cheat.Deders is definitely a rep cheat.Deders is definitely a rep cheat.Deders is definitely a rep cheat.Deders is definitely a rep cheat.Deders is definitely a rep cheat.Deders is definitely a rep cheat.Deders is definitely a rep cheat.Deders is definitely a rep cheat.Deders is definitely a rep cheat.Deders is definitely a rep cheat.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phillthy View Post
(Just noticed we're both in Manchester, cool!)
(me too), LG's customer service is excellent, they picked mine up when it was out of warranty and dropped it off with a new power section a few days later.

Edit: didn't realise there was a 2nd page
__________________
i5 750@3800 - MSI P55 GD65 - Asus GTX670 DirectCU II 2GB @1202 & 6980 - 8GB Gskill RipjawsX DDR3 @1800 8-9-8 - Be Quiet! Straight Power E9 500W - Nanoxia Deep Silence One - X-FI Xtreme Gamer - Samsung 830 128GB - Spinpoint F3 1TB - WD RE4 2TB - WD Caviar Blue 640 - LG Flatron W2252TQ - Razer Deathadder - Thermaltake Contac 29.
Deders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Apr 2012, 17:09   #31
3lusive
Ultramodder
 
3lusive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,087
3lusive is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.3lusive is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.3lusive is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.3lusive is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.3lusive is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.3lusive is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.3lusive is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.3lusive is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.3lusive is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.3lusive is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.3lusive is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.
Excellent, that seemed quick. Make sure you're in a dark room when you're checking for backlight bleed, because a dark screen in a well lit room can be very deceiving.

Also, remember that a slight bit of bleed in the corners is not something unusual or should you worry about too much - it's kind of subjective how much people will make do with backlight bleed. I'v had monitors with it in the top and bottom corners and have only noticed it while watching a movie with black borders. At all other times it wasn't noticeable, but that depends on how severe it is of course.
__________________
Antec 300 | Asus P8H67-M Pro R3 | i5 2500K | 16GB XMS3 RAM | GT 430 Zone | 60GB F60 SSD | 1TB F3 + 500GB HDD | CX430W PSU | Logitech G500 + C510 | Win7 Ultimate x64
X-Star DP2710 LED 27" 2560x1440 x2
3lusive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Apr 2012, 17:59   #32
Tigernos
Resident Roman Soldier
 
Tigernos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Chester, England
Posts: 313
Tigernos can run CrysisTigernos can run CrysisTigernos can run CrysisTigernos can run CrysisTigernos can run CrysisTigernos can run CrysisTigernos can run CrysisTigernos can run CrysisTigernos can run CrysisTigernos can run CrysisTigernos can run Crysis
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoodBytes View Post
If you are playing games that has a lot of dark scenes, then perhaps an MVA panel would be better choice, as you would get no backlight bleeding. MVA is a "cheaper" version of PVA technology if you will... but that was not it's design goal, rather provide TN panel like performance (initially, that was before IPS panels where fast as today). And it does, but also inherit many of it's problems. I mean I don't know the game... but something to keep in mind, if you have a too much of an issue with the backlight bleeding your current monitor. Else then that, no problem.
Well the issue that really forced my upgrade from my archaic old system is the fact someone bought me BF3 fr PC and my current system will not run it. At all. So while my main addiction is a space game with plenty of darkness I'll also be playing Anno 2070 and BF3 probably Diablo 3 when it comes out and the witcher as well.

Current monitor setup is a 32" Samsung HDTV but I wanted to go down to a monitor as the bigger screen seems to lose a lot of the fine detail, particularly on text and numbers. Would the graphics in my sig be able to run a better resolution on the bigger screen? Or am I best of actually getting a monitor?

The problem with eve is I think my old graphics card can't handle much and in the game settings there is only one resolution option. I can get the desktop to run 1080p easy (and hence nigh on illegible tiny icons) but the game won't do anything other than this one res.
__________________
MY FIRST BUILD Case:Corsair Carbide 400R | MoBo:Gigabyte GA-Z77-D3H | CPU:Intel Core i5 3570K @ 4.5GHz @ 1.23v | Cooler:Arctic Cooling Freezer i30 | RAM:8GB (2x4GB) LP Corsair Vengeance Blue | GPU:Gigabyte GTX 560Ti 1.2GB | PSU:600W Corsair Gaming Series | Monitor:Dell U2412M
Tigernos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Apr 2012, 20:37   #33
Phillthy
Minimodder
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 49
Phillthy has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
3lusive

I've tried a few different tests with it so far and I'm very impressed, there is a small amount of bleed in the bottom right hand corner around the power switch but it's barely noticeable and only when the screen is completely black.

Apart from that it's spot on! I'll probably give it a bit of a tweak once my system's up and running though (only tested it using a DVI port on my laptop )
Phillthy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Apr 2012, 22:20   #34
sp4nky
BF3: Aardfrith WoT: McGubbins
 
sp4nky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,702
sp4nky - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on yousp4nky - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on yousp4nky - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on yousp4nky - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on yousp4nky - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on yousp4nky - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on yousp4nky - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on yousp4nky - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on yousp4nky - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on yousp4nky - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on yousp4nky - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on you
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phillthy View Post
Replacement Goodies!
Can I just ask, who are you dealing with that sends out replacement goodies in such a short period? I think I want to marry/do business with them.
__________________
World of Tanks
Player name: McGubbins
sp4nky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Apr 2012, 22:30   #35
Phillthy
Minimodder
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 49
Phillthy has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Haha, hold back on the marriage!

I received an email from the place I bought the original yesterday saying they had received the item and it was indeed faulty, I should expect my refund within a few working days.

In the mean time (since I had the money) I ordered the replacement from Scan yesterday, which arrived today!
Phillthy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 18:51.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.