bit-tech.net

Old 27th Apr 2012, 18:23   #1
vasileioszografos
Modder
 
vasileioszografos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Sweden
Posts: 68
vasileioszografos has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Crappy WU

So occasionally, I get the odd WU where the destination IP address is NOT receiving or is down or various other crap going on. I can detect this early on so I can stop the FAH core for that CPU or GPU.

However, when I restart it, it picks up the same problematic WU.

Is there a way I can reject, delete the WU or proceed to the next one?

Thnx
__________________
--- Ferramentis venit et vadit. Scientia manet ---

Folding stats
vasileioszografos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Apr 2012, 18:55   #2
megadriveguy
Hypermodder
 
megadriveguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: The Moon
Posts: 767
megadriveguy is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.megadriveguy is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.megadriveguy is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.megadriveguy is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.megadriveguy is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.megadriveguy is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.megadriveguy is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.megadriveguy is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.megadriveguy is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.megadriveguy is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.megadriveguy is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.
You can clear your units by closing folding, delete the work folder, start folding

work folder is normally in
c drive, users,your username,app data,roaming,folding,work

you must have show hidden files on in windows

some clients (gpu I think) save the work wherever you put the original folder that contains folding@home normally still be in your downloads
__________________
Folding stats
megadriveguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Apr 2012, 19:01   #3
vasileioszografos
Modder
 
vasileioszografos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Sweden
Posts: 68
vasileioszografos has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Ok I ll try that thanks.

Generally speaking, is there a way I can select specific projects?

Edit: I delete the projects and I let it download. And it always downloads the same projects again and again!. nice

http://fah-web.stanford.edu/logs/171.67.108.25.log.html
__________________
--- Ferramentis venit et vadit. Scientia manet ---

Folding stats

Last edited by vasileioszografos; 27th Apr 2012 at 19:09.
vasileioszografos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Apr 2012, 19:04   #4
megadriveguy
Hypermodder
 
megadriveguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: The Moon
Posts: 767
megadriveguy is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.megadriveguy is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.megadriveguy is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.megadriveguy is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.megadriveguy is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.megadriveguy is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.megadriveguy is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.megadriveguy is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.megadriveguy is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.megadriveguy is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.megadriveguy is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.
No not that I know of
__________________
Folding stats
megadriveguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Apr 2012, 19:22   #5
megadriveguy
Hypermodder
 
megadriveguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: The Moon
Posts: 767
megadriveguy is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.megadriveguy is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.megadriveguy is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.megadriveguy is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.megadriveguy is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.megadriveguy is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.megadriveguy is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.megadriveguy is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.megadriveguy is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.megadriveguy is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.megadriveguy is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.
How long have you been having this issue ?

You could try uninstalling the client then reinstall it though it may just do it again
__________________
Folding stats
megadriveguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Apr 2012, 19:25   #6
vasileioszografos
Modder
 
vasileioszografos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Sweden
Posts: 68
vasileioszografos has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by megadriveguy View Post
How long have you been having this issue ?

You could try uninstalling the client then reinstall it though it may just do it again
I think for something like a week.
The GPU core fails because it cannot send the data back to the IP address

18:21:26:WU01:FS00:0x11:Folding@home Core Shutdown: UNSTABLE_MACHINE
18:21:27:WU01:FS00:FahCore returned: UNSTABLE_MACHINE (122 = 0x7a)
18:21:27:WU01:FS00:Sending unit results: id:01 state:SEND error:FAULTY project:5771 run:1 clone:251 gen:1571 core:0x11 unit:0x6fc9a3564f9ae39b062300fb0001168b

At least this is what I think it is happening. Sometimes it works ok but the IP address still refuses to receive. If I delete the work and reload, it downloads the same project but with different settings.
__________________
--- Ferramentis venit et vadit. Scientia manet ---

Folding stats
vasileioszografos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Apr 2012, 19:53   #7
megadriveguy
Hypermodder
 
megadriveguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: The Moon
Posts: 767
megadriveguy is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.megadriveguy is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.megadriveguy is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.megadriveguy is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.megadriveguy is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.megadriveguy is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.megadriveguy is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.megadriveguy is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.megadriveguy is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.megadriveguy is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.megadriveguy is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.
Oh not GPU unstable machine, your supposed to put your cards back to stock if you see this

What client are you using are you using any flags, What card's are you running
__________________
Folding stats
megadriveguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Apr 2012, 19:57   #8
vasileioszografos
Modder
 
vasileioszografos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Sweden
Posts: 68
vasileioszografos has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
it is a stock GeForce 8800 GTS and it works perfectly for other projects

latest client 7.1.52
__________________
--- Ferramentis venit et vadit. Scientia manet ---

Folding stats
vasileioszografos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Apr 2012, 20:00   #9
vasileioszografos
Modder
 
vasileioszografos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Sweden
Posts: 68
vasileioszografos has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
it is those type of projects that fail for me

http://fah-web.stanford.edu/cgi-bin/...ebanned?p=5770

they just dont receive
__________________
--- Ferramentis venit et vadit. Scientia manet ---

Folding stats
vasileioszografos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Apr 2012, 20:19   #10
megadriveguy
Hypermodder
 
megadriveguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: The Moon
Posts: 767
megadriveguy is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.megadriveguy is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.megadriveguy is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.megadriveguy is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.megadriveguy is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.megadriveguy is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.megadriveguy is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.megadriveguy is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.megadriveguy is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.megadriveguy is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.megadriveguy is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.
delete your queue.dat file as well

have you updated your drivers lately
__________________
Folding stats
megadriveguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Apr 2012, 20:50   #11
vasileioszografos
Modder
 
vasileioszografos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Sweden
Posts: 68
vasileioszografos has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
i do not have any queue.dat file(s) hidden or unhidden anywhere on the computer.

Latest nvidia drivers
__________________
--- Ferramentis venit et vadit. Scientia manet ---

Folding stats
vasileioszografos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Apr 2012, 16:15   #12
Hazza
Supermodder
 
Hazza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: England
Posts: 467
Hazza has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
It's funny I spotted this, because I was having this exact same problem with my GTX275 until today!

I tried changing the drivers, clients and all sorts, but for some strange reason it now just works. I think that it was probably a FAH problem rather than my machine. Like you say, maybe some dodgy WUs.

I would definitely check 2 things too however:

1) Your power settings are not set to "Turn off monitor after X minutes", as I've seen this cause problems before. Best to set it to never and turn the screen off yourself when you need to.

2) Nvidia Control Panel -> Manage 3D Settings -> Global Settings -> Power management mode -> Prefer maximum performance. I have seen problems in the past where this is set differently, so worth checking.

Fingers crossed one of these things fixes it, or they change the WUs!
__________________
Asus P8P67 Pro | Intel i7 2500K @4.1GHz | 2x4GB DDR3-1600 Corsair Dominator | Asus GTX 275 | 2x Samsung F3 1TB | 2x Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB
Hazza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Apr 2012, 16:29   #13
vasileioszografos
Modder
 
vasileioszografos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Sweden
Posts: 68
vasileioszografos has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
yeah i tried all that stuff but it doesnt make any difference. For some WU it works ok for others it doesnt. I really start to think that the FAH GPU client is not that mature. I have two PCs with different configurations, and in both the GPU clients dont work very well.
__________________
--- Ferramentis venit et vadit. Scientia manet ---

Folding stats
vasileioszografos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Apr 2012, 18:34   #14
vasileioszografos
Modder
 
vasileioszografos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Sweden
Posts: 68
vasileioszografos has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
on the subject of crappy WU and projects. I am now folding this one
http://fah-web.stanford.edu/cgi-bin/...ebanned?p=7642
and although it works it says Collection Server: 0.0.0.0

WTF?
Am I right to assume that I will do the work (which by the way is 16 hours) and it will not register any points?
__________________
--- Ferramentis venit et vadit. Scientia manet ---

Folding stats
vasileioszografos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Apr 2012, 19:04   #15
Hazza
Supermodder
 
Hazza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: England
Posts: 467
Hazza has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
:S not sure about that one! I don't think I've ever done that WU before either. I guess you'll soon find out! 16 hours on a GPU client is aaaages!

Yeah I agree, the GPU client does seem a little shaky at times. When I used to run the console client a year or two ago I had hardly any problems at all, but recently it seems to have been a bit weird, even though I have the same GPU.
__________________
Asus P8P67 Pro | Intel i7 2500K @4.1GHz | 2x4GB DDR3-1600 Corsair Dominator | Asus GTX 275 | 2x Samsung F3 1TB | 2x Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB
Hazza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Apr 2012, 12:25   #16
Christopher N. Lew
Folding in memory of my father
 
Christopher N. Lew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1,344
Christopher N. Lew should be considered for presidentChristopher N. Lew should be considered for presidentChristopher N. Lew should be considered for presidentChristopher N. Lew should be considered for presidentChristopher N. Lew should be considered for presidentChristopher N. Lew should be considered for presidentChristopher N. Lew should be considered for presidentChristopher N. Lew should be considered for presidentChristopher N. Lew should be considered for presidentChristopher N. Lew should be considered for presidentChristopher N. Lew should be considered for president
Have you tried using a v. 6 client? More fiddly to set-up, but I never had troubles with my GTX8800 (on its own - doesn't mix well with other cards).
__________________
Folding stats
Christopher N. Lew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Apr 2012, 12:30   #17
vasileioszografos
Modder
 
vasileioszografos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Sweden
Posts: 68
vasileioszografos has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
will give it a shot
__________________
--- Ferramentis venit et vadit. Scientia manet ---

Folding stats
vasileioszografos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Apr 2012, 14:23   #18
vasileioszografos
Modder
 
vasileioszografos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Sweden
Posts: 68
vasileioszografos has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Right. So I downloaded the FAH GPU tracker because I coudln't bother setting up the v.6 FAH client.

It uses the old GPU2 core and it works a treat!!
The 8800GTS chugs away beautifully. I'll need to run it overnight to test stability. But all is well so far.

Which is quite nice since it shown an estimated 3-4k PPD. If it's there why not use it right?

Cheers
__________________
--- Ferramentis venit et vadit. Scientia manet ---

Folding stats

Last edited by vasileioszografos; 29th Apr 2012 at 14:41.
vasileioszografos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Apr 2012, 23:04   #19
vasileioszografos
Modder
 
vasileioszografos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Sweden
Posts: 68
vasileioszografos has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Ah so the patient has relapsed .

Since I wrote the above, the GPU started failing again. I think it completed successfully one WU and started failing on the others.

The only thing I changed was to log in to the computer via remote desktop (Win7). The other very peculiar thing is that when I do "autodetect GPUs" with FAH GPU tracker it says it cannot find any compatible GPUs for folding!!!. That is very strange because it used to find the 8800 GTS before (and it also worked before).

Which leads me to wonder if the remote desktop thing has anything to do with it?
I know that for example with sound cards the computer that logs in takes control of the sound service. Could something like that happen with the Video?

Anyway. I ll try again tomorrow and test from local.
Strange though.
__________________
--- Ferramentis venit et vadit. Scientia manet ---

Folding stats
vasileioszografos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Apr 2012, 23:06   #20
vasileioszografos
Modder
 
vasileioszografos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Sweden
Posts: 68
vasileioszografos has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Aha!.
http://www.overclock.net/t/479248/gp...-desktop-issue
I thought so

Anyone with such experience?
__________________
--- Ferramentis venit et vadit. Scientia manet ---

Folding stats
vasileioszografos is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:10.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.