bit-tech.net

Old 7th May 2012, 15:28   #1
Scorpuk
Supermodder
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: North Ayrshire, Scotland
Posts: 546
Scorpuk can run CrysisScorpuk can run CrysisScorpuk can run CrysisScorpuk can run CrysisScorpuk can run CrysisScorpuk can run CrysisScorpuk can run CrysisScorpuk can run CrysisScorpuk can run CrysisScorpuk can run CrysisScorpuk can run Crysis
i7-3930k 1k ppd more than i7-2600k

Both running at stock speeds.

At most the i7-3930k was 11k ppd more than the i7-2600k today. (32k ppd v 21k ppd)

i7-2600k is running Ubuntu 12.04
i7-3930k is running under VM with Ubuntu 10.10 on Windows 7 64bit.

Might try a usb boot to Ubuntu at the weekend and see what I get.


Any suggestions?
__________________

Folding Summary
Phantek Enthoo Primo; Asus Sabertooth X79; i7-3930K; 2 x EVGA GeForce GTX TITAN BLACK Hydro Copper Signature; 16GB DDR3 2400MHz; Silverstone SilverStone SST-ST1200-G; Samsung 500GB 840 Evo; 2TB HDD; Windows 7 Ult. 64bit.
Scorpuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th May 2012, 15:43   #2
RedFlames
is not KidMod
 
RedFlames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The northern wastes of Geordieland
Posts: 4,124
RedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming Saiyan
try ubuntu 12.04, and try the -lowlatency kernel if you haven't already

but a 50% increase [from 50% more cores/threads] looks about right from where i'm sat, any improvements SB-E has over SB will most likely negate the effects of the 3930's slightly lower clock speed...

and it's loads better than what i'm getting from my knackered 920
__________________
I have the heart of a child... in a jar... on my desk...

RedFlames is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 7th May 2012, 15:54   #3
Scorpuk
Supermodder
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: North Ayrshire, Scotland
Posts: 546
Scorpuk can run CrysisScorpuk can run CrysisScorpuk can run CrysisScorpuk can run CrysisScorpuk can run CrysisScorpuk can run CrysisScorpuk can run CrysisScorpuk can run CrysisScorpuk can run CrysisScorpuk can run CrysisScorpuk can run Crysis
The computer must have been up to something as its now back up to 33k ppd on the i7-3930k.

mmmm back up to 101k ppd overall.

Still got a q6600 to build from spare parts. Just need a case.


Edit: no idea what -lowlatency kernel is. Can you explain? Tnx.
__________________

Folding Summary
Phantek Enthoo Primo; Asus Sabertooth X79; i7-3930K; 2 x EVGA GeForce GTX TITAN BLACK Hydro Copper Signature; 16GB DDR3 2400MHz; Silverstone SilverStone SST-ST1200-G; Samsung 500GB 840 Evo; 2TB HDD; Windows 7 Ult. 64bit.
Scorpuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th May 2012, 16:03   #4
RedFlames
is not KidMod
 
RedFlames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The northern wastes of Geordieland
Posts: 4,124
RedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming SaiyanRedFlames is a Super Spamming Saiyan
[all this is assuming a bog standard ubuntu install]

ubuntu installs the linux-generic kernel by default, from precise [12.04] onwards there's a linux-lowlatency [previously linux-rt iirc] kernel. It can lag update wise behind the generic one though.

type
Code:
sudo apt-get install linux-lowlatency linux-headers-lowlatency
to the console to install [or do it via package manager of choice]

it should ask you to choose which kernel you want to use during startup [if not you'll have to press esc during startup if memory serves], and you can check which kernel you're using the console:

Code:
uname -r
__________________
I have the heart of a child... in a jar... on my desk...


Last edited by RedFlames; 7th May 2012 at 16:13.
RedFlames is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 7th May 2012, 16:13   #5
Scorpuk
Supermodder
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: North Ayrshire, Scotland
Posts: 546
Scorpuk can run CrysisScorpuk can run CrysisScorpuk can run CrysisScorpuk can run CrysisScorpuk can run CrysisScorpuk can run CrysisScorpuk can run CrysisScorpuk can run CrysisScorpuk can run CrysisScorpuk can run CrysisScorpuk can run Crysis
Cheers RedFlames.

I'll give it a go at the weekend. :-)
__________________

Folding Summary
Phantek Enthoo Primo; Asus Sabertooth X79; i7-3930K; 2 x EVGA GeForce GTX TITAN BLACK Hydro Copper Signature; 16GB DDR3 2400MHz; Silverstone SilverStone SST-ST1200-G; Samsung 500GB 840 Evo; 2TB HDD; Windows 7 Ult. 64bit.
Scorpuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th May 2012, 21:47   #6
debs3759
Was that a warranty I just broke?
 
debs3759's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Northampton
Posts: 1,598
debs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyandebs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyandebs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyandebs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyandebs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyandebs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyandebs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyandebs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyandebs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyandebs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyandebs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyan
I used to get around 25K @ 5 GHz on a 2700K. When I'm not benching with it, I get over 50K @ 4.6 GHz on a 3930K.
__________________


HeatWare
debs3759 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2012, 05:17   #7
Scorpuk
Supermodder
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: North Ayrshire, Scotland
Posts: 546
Scorpuk can run CrysisScorpuk can run CrysisScorpuk can run CrysisScorpuk can run CrysisScorpuk can run CrysisScorpuk can run CrysisScorpuk can run CrysisScorpuk can run CrysisScorpuk can run CrysisScorpuk can run CrysisScorpuk can run Crysis
I tried to follow the overclcoking guide in the mag, but the vcore temp just kept on going up. I eventually rebooted and reset the bios when it hit 90C.

Reading was from Asus AI suite II on my Sabretooth X79 m/b.
__________________

Folding Summary
Phantek Enthoo Primo; Asus Sabertooth X79; i7-3930K; 2 x EVGA GeForce GTX TITAN BLACK Hydro Copper Signature; 16GB DDR3 2400MHz; Silverstone SilverStone SST-ST1200-G; Samsung 500GB 840 Evo; 2TB HDD; Windows 7 Ult. 64bit.
Scorpuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2012, 19:45   #8
the_kille4
Chaos will rule da world.eventually
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Near the equator
Posts: 213
the_kille4 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Hmmm... might as well go to the 4.7GHz route. I did try it out previously and it did work out 24/7. Although I am quite happy with the 30k ppd I am getting though. But, I would really want to get into the top 20 producers thingy before I hit one mil so shouldn't be too difficult.
__________________
Headphones/set: Grado SR325i | AKG K240 MK II
Mic: Antlion ModMic 2.3
Surround Amp: Onkyo TX-SR604
Speakers: Ceed 682F (Front) | Q Acoustics 2010i (Side) | Q Acoustics 1010i (Rear) | Q Acoustics 1000Ci (Center) | Q Acoustics 1000Si (Sub)
the_kille4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 19:21.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.