bit-tech.net

Old 9th May 2012, 11:54   #1
mkh02
Modder
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 63
mkh02 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
SLI Query

Hey guys a bit of advice needed.

Gonna set up my new system with 2 x GTX680's in SLI.

Now I have not done this before and I do read a lot of stuff about people saying SLI can cause problems in a lot of games that aren't optimised for SLI. The other month's Custom PC put it down as one of their hates!

Is there any merit in this?

I also like to play a lot of games from the last 10 years or so. If I had 2 cards in SLI, is there an option accessable on desktop where I could effectively 'deactivate', one of the cards for older games so i could run them just with one card and avoid any issues.

Doom 3 for example, FEAR 1 or Silent Hill 3 would only need one card for full spec and it would eliminate any issues!

Many thanks!
mkh02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2012, 11:56   #2
Parge
ITX FTW
 
Parge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: London, UK
Posts: 9,110
Parge is definitely a rep cheat.Parge is definitely a rep cheat.Parge is definitely a rep cheat.Parge is definitely a rep cheat.Parge is definitely a rep cheat.Parge is definitely a rep cheat.Parge is definitely a rep cheat.Parge is definitely a rep cheat.Parge is definitely a rep cheat.Parge is definitely a rep cheat.Parge is definitely a rep cheat.
Yes there is, in the Nvidia control panel.
__________________

Parvum ITX - 3570k - GTX 770 - Asus P8Z77-I ITX - 8GB Tactical Tracer - 256GB SSD - 480GB SSD - H80
Parge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2012, 12:09   #3
mkh02
Modder
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 63
mkh02 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
In that case Custom PC are off their heads lol!

You can have the power of SLI for modern games where needed and if you need to dial it back to one card it's just a single click!

I can imagine 1 GTX680 card will run a lot of older games at full spec and when you want Battlefield 3 at 1600p just engage the other card!

Also helps with an element of future proofing for gaming!

That has made my day thank you!
mkh02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2012, 14:38   #4
Taniniver
Multimodder
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 200
Taniniver has yet to learn the way of the DremelTaniniver has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Running two 570's in SLI here for quite a while now - I honestly think the issues regarding game and driver support are overblown, and I'm not just saying that because I use SLI

The only game I can recall within the past year or so that I tried to play which would not work with SLI was Rage, which is a shame.

In terms of control, you leave the SLI set to "nvidia recommended" in the control panel - usually it just recognises the game and sets it appropriately. You can of course just select "single card" on a per-game basis, if you wish. Seems to work fine for old games too, I played the original Neverwinter Nights (from 2002!) with SLI with no problems.
Taniniver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2012, 17:44   #5
.//TuNdRa
Resident Bulldozer Guru
 
.//TuNdRa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Northamptonshire Region.
Posts: 3,790
.//TuNdRa is definitely a rep cheat..//TuNdRa is definitely a rep cheat..//TuNdRa is definitely a rep cheat..//TuNdRa is definitely a rep cheat..//TuNdRa is definitely a rep cheat..//TuNdRa is definitely a rep cheat..//TuNdRa is definitely a rep cheat..//TuNdRa is definitely a rep cheat..//TuNdRa is definitely a rep cheat..//TuNdRa is definitely a rep cheat..//TuNdRa is definitely a rep cheat.
To be more precise; Nvidia has pre-loaded application profiles for all common games, these profiles are usually tweaks to the Nvidia settings to tell it which SLI mode to use and the like, among them is the application detection system, which looks at the Exe, compares it to the library, then pre-loads the settings into the control panel. These almost always include SLI settings, either using Nvidia Reccomended (Alternate Frame Rendering), "Alternate Setting 1" (Possibly split-screen rendering), and "Alternate Setting 2"(Possibly banded rendering. I'm not sure.), and "SLI Disabled", usually the control panel picks up the game on install and sets up the profile, although you may have to manually add steam games to it if you don't create any shortcuts to the game.
__________________
Dozy Beast: AMD FX8120 | Thermalright Archon | Asus Crosshair V Formula | 16GB (4x4GB) Corsair Vengeance LP | Asus Xonar DX/XD | 2X SLI KFA2 550Ti White Edition | Silverstone SSTG1000W | Silverstone Raven RV-02B V1.7 | OCZ Agility 3 60GB | 2x WD 3TB RED RAID0 | Lite-on Blu-ray ROM
Dell U2913WM | Sennheiser HD 485s | Creative Gigaworks T40s | Logitech G13 | Microsoft Sidewinder X6 | Cyborg R.A.T 9
.//TuNdRa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2012, 18:18   #6
digitaldunc
I'm d-d-d-d-digital
 
digitaldunc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Rural Scotland.
Posts: 627
digitaldunc is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.digitaldunc is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.digitaldunc is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.digitaldunc is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.digitaldunc is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.digitaldunc is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.digitaldunc is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.digitaldunc is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.digitaldunc is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.digitaldunc is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.digitaldunc is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkh02 View Post
lot of stuff about people saying SLI can cause problems in a lot of games that aren't optimised for SLI. The other month's Custom PC put it down as one of their hates!

Is there any merit in this?
Yes, you can experience teething problems, especially in brand new titles. This is why I bought two single GPU cards instead of dual GPU cards as I can disable one of them if need be.

When it works well it's brilliant, just don't count on it as a given -- SLI is more of a luxury than anything.
__________________
Event-horizon: i7 2600K @ 4.5 @ ~1.3v | 16Gb Corsair Vengeance @ 1866 9-10-9-24-2T | 2 x 580 1.5Gb (SLI) 772/1002 | Asus P8P67 Deluxe | Crucial M4 256Gb | Spinpoint F3 1TB | Corsair HX1000 | ZM-MFC1 Fan controller | XSPC Dual res | 2 x DDC 18W | Black ice stealth 360 | ThermoChill PA120.4 | EK Supreme HF Nickel | 2 x EK 580 Plexi | 7 x Scythe Gentle Typhoon 1450RPM | Modded TJ07
digitaldunc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2012, 18:25   #7
Deders
I Mod, Therefore I Own
 
Deders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Here and there, mostly there
Posts: 3,670
Deders is definitely a rep cheat.Deders is definitely a rep cheat.Deders is definitely a rep cheat.Deders is definitely a rep cheat.Deders is definitely a rep cheat.Deders is definitely a rep cheat.Deders is definitely a rep cheat.Deders is definitely a rep cheat.Deders is definitely a rep cheat.Deders is definitely a rep cheat.Deders is definitely a rep cheat.
What resolution are you thinking of running at, and what motherboard/CPU are you going to be putting them in?

There are performance issues to look out for, in a few cases it would be better to have a single card but SLI scaling is usually very good. Sometimes you do have to wait for drivers and profiles to go through the Microsoft WHQL labs (they have to test them with all the graphics cards that they apply to, could be hundreds) even for AAA games.
__________________
i5 750@3800 - MSI P55 GD65 - Asus GTX780 DirectCU II OC 3GB @1215 & 7000 - 8GB Gskill RipjawsX DDR3 @1800 8-9-8 - Be Quiet! Straight Power E9 500W - Nanoxia Deep Silence One - X-FI Xtreme Gamer - Samsung 830 128GB - Spinpoint F3 1TB - WD RE4 2TB - WD Caviar Blue 640 - Dell U2913WM - Corsair M65 - Thermaltake Contac 29 with Noctua NF-F12 PWM.
Deders is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:46.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.