bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > Technology > Hardware

View Poll Results: What is the best option?
SSD (suggestions of value vs preformance) 19 90.48%
Add 12 GB kit and fill all the slots 0 0%
Buy 24 GB kit (MB Max) 0 0%
Just over clock (video cards or CPU) please provide comments 2 9.52%
Voters: 21. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10th May 2012, 01:39   #21
SpAceman
Supermodder
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 261
SpAceman is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitSpAceman is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitSpAceman is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitSpAceman is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitSpAceman is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitSpAceman is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitSpAceman is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitSpAceman is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitSpAceman is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitSpAceman is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitSpAceman is almost as Godly as yodasarmpit
You should check to see if you are having much HDD activity during periods of low FPS. Could be the pagefile getting hammered. I agree on removing the 9600. Don't see any good coming from that. Could also be bad driver support for 3xSLI on WoW. Try using one or two cards.
__________________
i7 4770K | Asus Z87-Pro | 16GB Gskill DDR3-1866 | EVGA GTX 760
Silverstone Raven RV02 | Coolermaster V8 | Crucial M4 256GB | Corsair TX750
Dell U2412M | LG W2253TQ | Ducky DK9008 Pro PBT MX Cherry Greens | Naos 7000 | Logitech X-540 5.1 | Logitech G930
SpAceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2012, 01:53   #22
hyperion
Supermodder
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Birmingham
Posts: 393
hyperion is definitely a rep cheat.hyperion is definitely a rep cheat.hyperion is definitely a rep cheat.hyperion is definitely a rep cheat.hyperion is definitely a rep cheat.hyperion is definitely a rep cheat.hyperion is definitely a rep cheat.hyperion is definitely a rep cheat.hyperion is definitely a rep cheat.hyperion is definitely a rep cheat.hyperion is definitely a rep cheat.
I would run a bench with the 9600 and again without it to see if it's stealing fps or not. I agree that going 12GB ram wont give you much improvement. SSDs are nice, especially with mmos that are constantly loading a lot of textures, but in this case you might be better off with a faster graphics card.
hyperion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2012, 02:03   #23
Mechh69
I think we can make that fit
 
Mechh69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Miami Florida
Posts: 1,297
Mechh69 is definitely a rep cheat.Mechh69 is definitely a rep cheat.Mechh69 is definitely a rep cheat.Mechh69 is definitely a rep cheat.Mechh69 is definitely a rep cheat.Mechh69 is definitely a rep cheat.Mechh69 is definitely a rep cheat.Mechh69 is definitely a rep cheat.Mechh69 is definitely a rep cheat.Mechh69 is definitely a rep cheat.Mechh69 is definitely a rep cheat.
Ok finally sitting at the game and looking at the resource monitor and EVGA precision monitor here is what im seeing. GPU usage for all 3 cards (they are linked and synced) 34%, CPU is using 4 threads mostly and they hover under 50% (not 100% on this) and Ram usage is 3.4GB/5.9GB.

Im not really seeing a bottleneck here but i am only getting 15-25 FPS in a 25man raid and 59 FPS in SW. So am I missing something here? or should i be getting better FPS/performance from the game?
__________________
Deders - What if you touch yourself with kittens?
.//TuNdRa - Short of standing on a street corner (I'd make an ugly hooker, anyhow.)

i7 920@3.8Ghz,EVGA E760 Classified, Corsair XMS3 X 6GB 1600, Kingston Hyper X 12GB 1600, 240GB OCZ Agility 4, MSI 660TI 3GB, BFG 260 GTX Core 216 for PHYSX, Thermaltake Armor+, BFG EX1200 PS, Scythe Mugen 2 Cpu cooler, Samsung Syncmaster 2233RZ, Nvidia 3D Glasses
Mechh69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2012, 02:13   #24
murraynt
I Mod, Therefore I Own
 
murraynt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Athlone,Ireland
Posts: 4,125
murraynt is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.murraynt is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.murraynt is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.murraynt is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.murraynt is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.murraynt is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.murraynt is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.murraynt is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.murraynt is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.murraynt is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.murraynt is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mechh69 View Post
Ok finally sitting at the game and looking at the resource monitor and EVGA precision monitor here is what im seeing. GPU usage for all 3 cards (they are linked and synced) 34%, CPU is using 4 threads mostly and they hover under 50% (not 100% on this) and Ram usage is 3.4GB/5.9GB.

Im not really seeing a bottleneck here but i am only getting 15-25 FPS in a 25man raid and 59 FPS in SW. So am I missing something here? or should i be getting better FPS/performance from the game?
What res are you playing at?

Check what the v-Ram usage is at as well
__________________
I5 2500K @ 4.8ghz l MSI GD53l 8GB corsair 1600mhz l Asus 5870 v2 NZXT Phantom Red l Zalman X10 Quiet l 60GB Crucial M4l F3 1TB Spinner l X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty l 700Watt Thermaltake l Samsung IPS231 l
Steam: murraynt
murraynt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2012, 02:29   #25
Mechh69
I think we can make that fit
 
Mechh69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Miami Florida
Posts: 1,297
Mechh69 is definitely a rep cheat.Mechh69 is definitely a rep cheat.Mechh69 is definitely a rep cheat.Mechh69 is definitely a rep cheat.Mechh69 is definitely a rep cheat.Mechh69 is definitely a rep cheat.Mechh69 is definitely a rep cheat.Mechh69 is definitely a rep cheat.Mechh69 is definitely a rep cheat.Mechh69 is definitely a rep cheat.Mechh69 is definitely a rep cheat.
1680 X 1050 Native rez @ 120Hz

Ill check Vram in a bit just crashed windows using the evga OC utility.
__________________
Deders - What if you touch yourself with kittens?
.//TuNdRa - Short of standing on a street corner (I'd make an ugly hooker, anyhow.)

i7 920@3.8Ghz,EVGA E760 Classified, Corsair XMS3 X 6GB 1600, Kingston Hyper X 12GB 1600, 240GB OCZ Agility 4, MSI 660TI 3GB, BFG 260 GTX Core 216 for PHYSX, Thermaltake Armor+, BFG EX1200 PS, Scythe Mugen 2 Cpu cooler, Samsung Syncmaster 2233RZ, Nvidia 3D Glasses
Mechh69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2012, 03:19   #26
Mechh69
I think we can make that fit
 
Mechh69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Miami Florida
Posts: 1,297
Mechh69 is definitely a rep cheat.Mechh69 is definitely a rep cheat.Mechh69 is definitely a rep cheat.Mechh69 is definitely a rep cheat.Mechh69 is definitely a rep cheat.Mechh69 is definitely a rep cheat.Mechh69 is definitely a rep cheat.Mechh69 is definitely a rep cheat.Mechh69 is definitely a rep cheat.Mechh69 is definitely a rep cheat.Mechh69 is definitely a rep cheat.
Back up and running again
OC@3351.6MHz
using 380-400 MB of Vram per card (per evga percision)
__________________
Deders - What if you touch yourself with kittens?
.//TuNdRa - Short of standing on a street corner (I'd make an ugly hooker, anyhow.)

i7 920@3.8Ghz,EVGA E760 Classified, Corsair XMS3 X 6GB 1600, Kingston Hyper X 12GB 1600, 240GB OCZ Agility 4, MSI 660TI 3GB, BFG 260 GTX Core 216 for PHYSX, Thermaltake Armor+, BFG EX1200 PS, Scythe Mugen 2 Cpu cooler, Samsung Syncmaster 2233RZ, Nvidia 3D Glasses
Mechh69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2012, 03:37   #27
Deders
I Mod, Therefore I Own
 
Deders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Here and there, mostly there
Posts: 3,691
Deders is definitely a rep cheat.Deders is definitely a rep cheat.Deders is definitely a rep cheat.Deders is definitely a rep cheat.Deders is definitely a rep cheat.Deders is definitely a rep cheat.Deders is definitely a rep cheat.Deders is definitely a rep cheat.Deders is definitely a rep cheat.Deders is definitely a rep cheat.Deders is definitely a rep cheat.
Aren't the the DX11 features for Wow supposed to be to improve performance?

I'd get a new GPU, 570 or above, possibly keep one of the 260's for Physx (I doubt a 9600 would be much help in games like Arkham City) and overclock the CPU. Then think about an SSD.
__________________
i5 750@3800 - MSI P55 GD65 - Asus GTX780 DirectCU II OC 3GB @1215 & 7000 - 8GB Gskill RipjawsX DDR3 @1800 8-9-8 - Be Quiet! Straight Power E9 500W - Nanoxia Deep Silence One - X-FI Xtreme Gamer - Samsung 830 128GB - Spinpoint F3 1TB - WD RE4 2TB - WD Caviar Blue 640 - Dell U2913WM - Corsair M65 - Thermaltake Contac 29 with Noctua NF-F12 PWM.
Deders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2012, 07:29   #28
happysack
goodateverthinger
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: EX6
Posts: 408
happysack can run Crysishappysack can run Crysishappysack can run Crysishappysack can run Crysishappysack can run Crysishappysack can run Crysishappysack can run Crysishappysack can run Crysis
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deders View Post
Aren't the the DX11 features for Wow supposed to be to improve performance?

I'd get a new GPU, 570 or above, possibly keep one of the 260's for Physx (I doubt a 9600 would be much help in games like Arkham City) and overclock the CPU. Then think about an SSD.
Dx11 means smoother edges but fps will be lower as its harder for the gpu to compute
__________________
nerd
My YouTube (many how to's) http://youtube.matthorner.co.uk
happysack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2012, 02:14   #29
Mechh69
I think we can make that fit
 
Mechh69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Miami Florida
Posts: 1,297
Mechh69 is definitely a rep cheat.Mechh69 is definitely a rep cheat.Mechh69 is definitely a rep cheat.Mechh69 is definitely a rep cheat.Mechh69 is definitely a rep cheat.Mechh69 is definitely a rep cheat.Mechh69 is definitely a rep cheat.Mechh69 is definitely a rep cheat.Mechh69 is definitely a rep cheat.Mechh69 is definitely a rep cheat.Mechh69 is definitely a rep cheat.
For some reason with a bump in the OC to 3.3 and disabling SLI WOW is running much better. Are there any tweeks that will make it run better before either a WOW patch or a driver update i was averaging over 120 FPS no matter what.

P.S. Wow still does not max out 1 card it is running at less that 40%
__________________
Deders - What if you touch yourself with kittens?
.//TuNdRa - Short of standing on a street corner (I'd make an ugly hooker, anyhow.)

i7 920@3.8Ghz,EVGA E760 Classified, Corsair XMS3 X 6GB 1600, Kingston Hyper X 12GB 1600, 240GB OCZ Agility 4, MSI 660TI 3GB, BFG 260 GTX Core 216 for PHYSX, Thermaltake Armor+, BFG EX1200 PS, Scythe Mugen 2 Cpu cooler, Samsung Syncmaster 2233RZ, Nvidia 3D Glasses
Mechh69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2012, 02:31   #30
meandmymouth
Mod Master
 
meandmymouth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 2,210
meandmymouth is definitely a rep cheat.meandmymouth is definitely a rep cheat.meandmymouth is definitely a rep cheat.meandmymouth is definitely a rep cheat.meandmymouth is definitely a rep cheat.meandmymouth is definitely a rep cheat.meandmymouth is definitely a rep cheat.meandmymouth is definitely a rep cheat.meandmymouth is definitely a rep cheat.meandmymouth is definitely a rep cheat.meandmymouth is definitely a rep cheat.
Get rid of a couple of those 260's and the 9600GT and get a new GPU. If you don't need Physx, get rid of all 3 260's.

560Ti's can be bought for 150 but you could wait for a GTX660. Nothing else will be holding back your FPS at the moment.

As a general thought you won't regret buying as SSD. A 128GB M4 is around 90 now and they are fast and reliable.
meandmymouth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2012, 02:40   #31
maestro0428
Master Modder
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 381
maestro0428 is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.maestro0428 is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.maestro0428 is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.maestro0428 is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.maestro0428 is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.maestro0428 is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.maestro0428 is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.maestro0428 is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.maestro0428 is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.maestro0428 is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.maestro0428 is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.
Lots of good replies here. I personally have had issues with both sli and cf and never recommend them. I would sell all of the cards and get one new one. A gtx560 ti would be plenty of card and you can get one new for around what your cards are worth on eBay. Then again, I would think 460x3 would be more grunt than even a 560ti?! Could be the sli, try a single card and see if you get the same drop. I agree with OC your processor, its free speed.
__________________
JAllen Labs GT1000- 3770K @ 4.5ghz, 32GB Dominators, ASUS 660GTX OC SLI, Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD, 4 drive RAID 0 and 3TB storage in a Silverstone Fortress GT03, Logitech G9X Gaming mouse on Razer eXact Mat, Custom built Fostex studio monitors, Yamaha amp, Nvidia Surround 3x23.5 AOC LED LCDs
maestro0428 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2012, 07:06   #32
Pookeyhead
It's big, and it's clever.
 
Pookeyhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Blackpool, UK. Cheesecake!
Posts: 10,648
Pookeyhead is definitely a rep cheat.Pookeyhead is definitely a rep cheat.Pookeyhead is definitely a rep cheat.Pookeyhead is definitely a rep cheat.Pookeyhead is definitely a rep cheat.Pookeyhead is definitely a rep cheat.Pookeyhead is definitely a rep cheat.Pookeyhead is definitely a rep cheat.Pookeyhead is definitely a rep cheat.Pookeyhead is definitely a rep cheat.Pookeyhead is definitely a rep cheat.
RAM will do nothing for WOW. That 9600 is not helping as a PhysX card, in fact, it will be slower than not having it at all.. lose it... stick it on Ebay and make a few quid.

OCing will help a little, but you really need a GPU upgrade, and there's no option for that in your poll.

Out of all the things in your poll, a SSD will give you the most benefit, but it will also do nothing for WoW slowing down in 25man raids. For that you need a GPU upgrade.

I've seen this before when GPU usage is low, but performance is still rubbish. I used to get the same problem in WoW on my wife's rig using an old 250GTS at 1200P. Game play was horrible, yet only using around 60%. Upgraded to a 560Ti and silky smooth in everything.. inc. battlefield three.
__________________
MAIN RIG |Intel i7 3960X @ 4.7GHz Asus Rampage IV Extreme 16Gb Mushkin DDR3 2133 512GB Samsung 830 SSD 4TB of HDD Storage 4GB EVGA GTX670 Superclocked SLI Corsair 650D Eizo ColorEdge CG303W & Dell 2007FP Logitech Z623
EARTH| Celeron E3200 Gigabyte G31M-ES2L LSI SAS9260-8i 3TB RAID5 Headless - VNC administered
MOON | Thecus N3200pro 3TB RAID5

Last edited by Pookeyhead; 15th May 2012 at 07:18.
Pookeyhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2012, 08:31   #33
BennieboyUK
CPC Folder of the Month Sep 2011
 
BennieboyUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 1,414
BennieboyUK is definitely a rep cheat.BennieboyUK is definitely a rep cheat.BennieboyUK is definitely a rep cheat.BennieboyUK is definitely a rep cheat.BennieboyUK is definitely a rep cheat.BennieboyUK is definitely a rep cheat.BennieboyUK is definitely a rep cheat.BennieboyUK is definitely a rep cheat.BennieboyUK is definitely a rep cheat.BennieboyUK is definitely a rep cheat.BennieboyUK is definitely a rep cheat.
To confirm WoW does not support SLI in any form. This was asked a few times a while ago if I remember (might have been on another board) so that would explain why your 260 is hurting.
__________________
i7 980x @ 4.4Ghz|12GB Dominator GT 2133mhz|Rampage III|4gb GTX 680 Classified's SLI|830 256GB|Antec 1200w|PF1000|R3|U2711 Hyper-V 2012: Dell 1900 | Dual Xeon E5320 | 32GB DDR2 ECC | LSI @ Raid5 5.452tb WHS: 8gb HP N40L 10tb x8 WD 2tb RED's Raid 6+1 on SRCSASBB8I with BBU
BennieboyUK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2012, 01:42   #34
Mechh69
I think we can make that fit
 
Mechh69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Miami Florida
Posts: 1,297
Mechh69 is definitely a rep cheat.Mechh69 is definitely a rep cheat.Mechh69 is definitely a rep cheat.Mechh69 is definitely a rep cheat.Mechh69 is definitely a rep cheat.Mechh69 is definitely a rep cheat.Mechh69 is definitely a rep cheat.Mechh69 is definitely a rep cheat.Mechh69 is definitely a rep cheat.Mechh69 is definitely a rep cheat.Mechh69 is definitely a rep cheat.
Thank you for all the advice guys I will work on upgrading the GPU as soon as I can.
__________________
Deders - What if you touch yourself with kittens?
.//TuNdRa - Short of standing on a street corner (I'd make an ugly hooker, anyhow.)

i7 920@3.8Ghz,EVGA E760 Classified, Corsair XMS3 X 6GB 1600, Kingston Hyper X 12GB 1600, 240GB OCZ Agility 4, MSI 660TI 3GB, BFG 260 GTX Core 216 for PHYSX, Thermaltake Armor+, BFG EX1200 PS, Scythe Mugen 2 Cpu cooler, Samsung Syncmaster 2233RZ, Nvidia 3D Glasses
Mechh69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:09.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.