bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > Technology > Hardware

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 8th Nov 2012, 11:09   #21
Yslen
Lord of the Twenty-Seventh Circle
 
Yslen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Sheffield
Posts: 1,789
Yslen is definitely a rep cheat.Yslen is definitely a rep cheat.Yslen is definitely a rep cheat.Yslen is definitely a rep cheat.Yslen is definitely a rep cheat.Yslen is definitely a rep cheat.Yslen is definitely a rep cheat.Yslen is definitely a rep cheat.Yslen is definitely a rep cheat.Yslen is definitely a rep cheat.Yslen is definitely a rep cheat.
Pookeyhead is spot on, as usual.

Though I am wondering why a 3GHz i7 is struggling with shots from a new camera, what the heck did you buy?
__________________
Asrock Z77e-ITX - Intel i5 3570k - Corsair H50-1 - G.Skill Ripjaws X 2133MHz - Gigabyte HD6870 - Crucial M4 - Samsung HDD - 530W ThermalTake SS PSU - Bitfenix Prodigy - LG IPS231P - NAOS 8200 - Poker II (Reds) - IBM Model M
Take a look at my Photography portfolio, here.
Yslen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Nov 2012, 19:56   #22
Pookeyhead
It's big, and it's clever.
 
Pookeyhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Blackpool, UK. Cheesecake!
Posts: 10,668
Pookeyhead is definitely a rep cheat.Pookeyhead is definitely a rep cheat.Pookeyhead is definitely a rep cheat.Pookeyhead is definitely a rep cheat.Pookeyhead is definitely a rep cheat.Pookeyhead is definitely a rep cheat.Pookeyhead is definitely a rep cheat.Pookeyhead is definitely a rep cheat.Pookeyhead is definitely a rep cheat.Pookeyhead is definitely a rep cheat.Pookeyhead is definitely a rep cheat.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bindibadgi View Post

How does the '8 core' AMD FX series compare to the 3930K or 3770K? is it ALU limited, FPU limited?

I've never made any direct comparisons in Photoshop, but other maths intensive benchmarks would suggest it wouldn't perform very favourably against SB-E, and I would suspect it would be FPU performance, and RAM bandwidth that would be it's Achilles heel.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yslen View Post
Pookeyhead is spot on, as usual.

Though I am wondering why a 3GHz i7 is struggling with shots from a new camera, what the heck did you buy?
Good point.
__________________
MAIN RIG |Intel i7 3960X @ 4.7GHz Asus Rampage IV Extreme 16Gb Mushkin DDR3 2133 512GB Samsung 830 SSD 4TB of HDD Storage 4GB EVGA GTX670 Superclocked SLI Corsair 650D Eizo ColorEdge CG303W & Dell 2007FP Logitech Z623
EARTH| Celeron E3200 Gigabyte G31M-ES2L LSI SAS9260-8i 3TB RAID5 Headless - VNC administered
MOON | Thecus N3200pro 3TB RAID5
Pookeyhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Nov 2012, 13:52   #23
dullonien
Master of the unfinished.
 
dullonien's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Lincoln, UK.
Posts: 1,226
dullonien is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.dullonien is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.dullonien is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.dullonien is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.dullonien is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.dullonien is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.dullonien is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.dullonien is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.dullonien is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.dullonien is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.dullonien is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
Pookey speaketh the truth. I've not had much trouble with 16GB of RAM, and that is despite some of my larger Photoshop documents topping 1GB in file size (although I'm sure more ram would help here). RAM is so cheap at the moment, it's worth going for 32GB if viable, but it's not worth forcing things in order to do so. It's almost guaranteed that more RAM will be required in the future though, so if you can only afford 16GB at present try to do so in a way that adding another 16GB in the future is possible, i.e. buy 2x8Gb sticks over 4x4GB sticks is possible.

I've been happy with my HP ZR24w monitors, but they can not be hardware calibrated. I can live with this because the work I do is not colour essential. That's up to you to make the decision if spending the extra is worth it for you, but remember that a monitor can last many, many years if it's of a high quality, whereas the rest of the system will probably be upgraded several times over. It is possible to software calibrate monitors which don't support hardware calibration, but the quality isn't as good, I'm sure others know much more about this than I do though.

Out of interest Pooky, what's your take on the benefits of a tablet? I suppose it depends what kind of work you do, but I find it really speeds up my workflow, and can be a much more comfortable way to work. I only have my brothers old graphire4, but trying out my brothers Cintiq is a lovely experience. I've found that my tablet saves me more time than upgrating my hardware does.
__________________
Main SilverStone FT03B | 2500K@4.0GHz | Corsair H70 | Maximus IV Gene-Z | 16GB DDR3 | Zotac GTX 470 | Corsair AX750 | 2 x HP ZR24w's | Server Antec 300 | Q6600 | Corsair H50 | EVGA 680i Sli | 8GB DDR2 | Sapphire HD4870 | Corsair HX520 | HighPoint RocketRAID 2680SGL | Renderer Lian-Li V300 | E6600 | Titan Fenrir | Abit Fatal1ty F-190HD | 4GB DDR2 | HIS X1950XT | Storage 12.5TB of Seagate HDD's |
dullonien is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Nov 2012, 18:08   #24
Atomic
Gerwaff
 
Atomic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Norfolk, UK
Posts: 9,368
Atomic is a Super Spamming SaiyanAtomic is a Super Spamming SaiyanAtomic is a Super Spamming SaiyanAtomic is a Super Spamming SaiyanAtomic is a Super Spamming SaiyanAtomic is a Super Spamming SaiyanAtomic is a Super Spamming SaiyanAtomic is a Super Spamming SaiyanAtomic is a Super Spamming SaiyanAtomic is a Super Spamming SaiyanAtomic is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yslen View Post
Though I am wondering why a 3GHz i7 is struggling with shots from a new camera, what the heck did you buy?
One of these... http://www.phaseone.com/en/Camera-Sy...IQ-Series.aspx *drool*
__________________
:: ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z :: i5 2500K @ 4GHz :: 16GB Corsair Vengeance :: 256GB Samsung 830 ::
:: Awesome, Reliable Website & Server Hosting ::
Atomic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Nov 2012, 20:17   #25
Pookeyhead
It's big, and it's clever.
 
Pookeyhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Blackpool, UK. Cheesecake!
Posts: 10,668
Pookeyhead is definitely a rep cheat.Pookeyhead is definitely a rep cheat.Pookeyhead is definitely a rep cheat.Pookeyhead is definitely a rep cheat.Pookeyhead is definitely a rep cheat.Pookeyhead is definitely a rep cheat.Pookeyhead is definitely a rep cheat.Pookeyhead is definitely a rep cheat.Pookeyhead is definitely a rep cheat.Pookeyhead is definitely a rep cheat.Pookeyhead is definitely a rep cheat.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atomic View Post
I often shoot with a Phaseone IQ back... no problems here with only 16GB of RAM.
__________________
MAIN RIG |Intel i7 3960X @ 4.7GHz Asus Rampage IV Extreme 16Gb Mushkin DDR3 2133 512GB Samsung 830 SSD 4TB of HDD Storage 4GB EVGA GTX670 Superclocked SLI Corsair 650D Eizo ColorEdge CG303W & Dell 2007FP Logitech Z623
EARTH| Celeron E3200 Gigabyte G31M-ES2L LSI SAS9260-8i 3TB RAID5 Headless - VNC administered
MOON | Thecus N3200pro 3TB RAID5
Pookeyhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Nov 2012, 20:56   #26
Yslen
Lord of the Twenty-Seventh Circle
 
Yslen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Sheffield
Posts: 1,789
Yslen is definitely a rep cheat.Yslen is definitely a rep cheat.Yslen is definitely a rep cheat.Yslen is definitely a rep cheat.Yslen is definitely a rep cheat.Yslen is definitely a rep cheat.Yslen is definitely a rep cheat.Yslen is definitely a rep cheat.Yslen is definitely a rep cheat.Yslen is definitely a rep cheat.Yslen is definitely a rep cheat.
My scanner pumps out larger files than that does and my old X3 720 handled them fine. An i7 (of any generation) shouldn't be having significant performance issues, though I guess it depends what is actually being done with the shots... if you're stitching 12 of them together you'd run into issues ^^
__________________
Asrock Z77e-ITX - Intel i5 3570k - Corsair H50-1 - G.Skill Ripjaws X 2133MHz - Gigabyte HD6870 - Crucial M4 - Samsung HDD - 530W ThermalTake SS PSU - Bitfenix Prodigy - LG IPS231P - NAOS 8200 - Poker II (Reds) - IBM Model M
Take a look at my Photography portfolio, here.
Yslen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 21:40.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.