bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > Misc > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools View Mode
Old 5th Nov 2012, 22:44   #1
Fantus
Nothing to see here... <_<
 
Fantus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Ipswich, UK
Posts: 569
Fantus - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Fantus - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Fantus - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Fantus - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Fantus - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Fantus - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Fantus - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Fantus - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Fantus - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Fantus - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Fantus - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!
Star Trek: TNG on SyFy HD

So, who watched it then?

Watched the first episode while eating dinner and was genuinely surprised at how well the re-master has come out. Looking forward to watching them all through again
Fantus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th Nov 2012, 23:44   #2
SMIFFYDUDE
Supermodders on my D
 
SMIFFYDUDE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Saddleworth
Posts: 2,362
SMIFFYDUDE is definitely a rep cheat.SMIFFYDUDE is definitely a rep cheat.SMIFFYDUDE is definitely a rep cheat.SMIFFYDUDE is definitely a rep cheat.SMIFFYDUDE is definitely a rep cheat.SMIFFYDUDE is definitely a rep cheat.SMIFFYDUDE is definitely a rep cheat.SMIFFYDUDE is definitely a rep cheat.SMIFFYDUDE is definitely a rep cheat.SMIFFYDUDE is definitely a rep cheat.SMIFFYDUDE is definitely a rep cheat.
I thought the picture looked good for ST:TNG and I was watching it on the non HD Syfy. Normally TNG looks as if the camera lens had been smeared with Vaseline.
__________________
Cooler Master HAF 932 | ASUS Rampage II Extreme | i7 930@4.1 | Corsair H50 | 12GB OCZ PC3-12800 Gold | x2 Palit GTX 560Ti 2GB | XFX Pro 750W XXX | HP LP2475w | Speedlink Medusa NX 5.1 | CM Storm Inferno | Logitech G27 | Windows 7 Home Premium

SMIFFYDUDE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Nov 2012, 07:38   #3
bodkin
Overheating
 
bodkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: North West
Posts: 1,283
bodkin - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!bodkin - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!bodkin - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!bodkin - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!bodkin - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!bodkin - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!bodkin - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!bodkin - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!bodkin - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!bodkin - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!bodkin - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!
Love the show, and the remaster looks great. However this just reminds how awful the first series was compared to the rest. Just wait till Westly starts up. Apparently many trained officers and the most advance starship in the fleet require a smug child to keep them from regular disaster.

On that point, the enterprise is a pretty shoddy bit of kit! If the warp core is not about to explode you can be sure the hold deck is busy going mental
bodkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Nov 2012, 11:28   #4
samkiller42
For i AM Cheesecake!!
 
samkiller42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Portchester
Posts: 5,841
samkiller42 is definitely a rep cheat.samkiller42 is definitely a rep cheat.samkiller42 is definitely a rep cheat.samkiller42 is definitely a rep cheat.samkiller42 is definitely a rep cheat.samkiller42 is definitely a rep cheat.samkiller42 is definitely a rep cheat.samkiller42 is definitely a rep cheat.samkiller42 is definitely a rep cheat.samkiller42 is definitely a rep cheat.samkiller42 is definitely a rep cheat.
I watched it too, thinking i may have to put it on Series Link. Couldn't believe once i had looked it up, it first aired in 1987, that's a year before i was born....

Sam
__________________

The Laptop: Dell Vostro 3450, SB i3 2350m, 8GB DDR3, 256GB 830 SSD, Intel 6235 Wifi N/BT 4.0, Dell 5550 3G/GPS
The Server: Phenom 2 x6, 8GB DDR3, 3TB Seagate, 2TB WD Green, 2*1TB Samsung F1
samkiller42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Nov 2012, 11:53   #5
rollo
I Mod, Therefore I Own
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 5,111
rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.
Love the show but there is alot of poor episodes once you get out of season 1 and 2.
rollo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Nov 2012, 11:57   #6
tyepye
Hypermodder
 
tyepye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Ely, Cambridgeshire
Posts: 719
tyepye - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youtyepye - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youtyepye - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youtyepye - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youtyepye - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youtyepye - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youtyepye - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youtyepye - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youtyepye - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youtyepye - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youtyepye - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on you
Got the first episode recorded to see how good it looks.

Will probably dip in and out of episodes as it goes along.
__________________
Desktop: Bitfenix Prodigy/ASUS P8Z77I-Deluxe/Intel Core i7-2600k/H80i/Antec TruePower New 650W/8GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3 1600MHz/2GB EVGA GTX 750Ti/Kingston HyperX 3K 120GB SSD & Crucial 256GB M4 SSD
tyepye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Nov 2012, 11:59   #7
lysaer
Suck my unit! Kirk lazarus (2008)
 
lysaer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: London
Posts: 1,295
lysaer is definitely a rep cheat.lysaer is definitely a rep cheat.lysaer is definitely a rep cheat.lysaer is definitely a rep cheat.lysaer is definitely a rep cheat.lysaer is definitely a rep cheat.lysaer is definitely a rep cheat.lysaer is definitely a rep cheat.lysaer is definitely a rep cheat.lysaer is definitely a rep cheat.lysaer is definitely a rep cheat.
Wasn't TNG and DS9 shot on camera as opposed to real film? What is the resolution of the remastered show?

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2
lysaer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Nov 2012, 13:55   #8
dire_wolf
Last Of The Dovakhiin
 
dire_wolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 2,433
dire_wolf should be considered for presidentdire_wolf should be considered for presidentdire_wolf should be considered for presidentdire_wolf should be considered for presidentdire_wolf should be considered for presidentdire_wolf should be considered for presidentdire_wolf should be considered for presidentdire_wolf should be considered for presidentdire_wolf should be considered for presidentdire_wolf should be considered for presidentdire_wolf should be considered for president
Saw the AD for this on the Bit-tech side bar, instantly put it on series link! I must have seen every episode while growing up but never in the right order, it was just something that got flicked over to when there was nothing else on the other three channels! So it'll be nice to watch the whole lot in the right order, let alone have them all shiney and new
__________________
"Don't Fear Citizens! TAD KNOWS HIS RAID!" - Bindi
MAIN BOX E7400|HD5770|Viewsonic VX2260WM|Asus Xonar D2X|4GB Dominator|Samsung F3 1TB|Gigabyte GA-EP43-S3L
WIN98/DOS GAMES BOX 1GHz P3 Coppermine|GF3 Ti500|Creative Live! 24-bit|256MB Rimm|WD 10GB HDD
dire_wolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Nov 2012, 14:54   #9
theshadow2001
I *am* a Dremel
 
theshadow2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1,798
theshadow2001 is definitely a rep cheat.theshadow2001 is definitely a rep cheat.theshadow2001 is definitely a rep cheat.theshadow2001 is definitely a rep cheat.theshadow2001 is definitely a rep cheat.theshadow2001 is definitely a rep cheat.theshadow2001 is definitely a rep cheat.theshadow2001 is definitely a rep cheat.theshadow2001 is definitely a rep cheat.theshadow2001 is definitely a rep cheat.theshadow2001 is definitely a rep cheat.
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodkin View Post
Love the show, and the remaster looks great. However this just reminds how awful the first series was compared to the rest. Just wait till Westly starts up. Apparently many trained officers and the most advance starship in the fleet require a smug child to keep them from regular disaster.

On that point, the enterprise is a pretty shoddy bit of kit! If the warp core is not about to explode you can be sure the hold deck is busy going mental
I thought he was meant to be a bit of a child prodigy. Hence his position on the ship. It could also explain the smugness.

The remastering is good quality and looks good, unfortunately it can't beat something shot natively for HD. Also doesn't the 4:3 aspect ratio preclude it from being actually HD ?
theshadow2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Nov 2012, 16:43   #10
tyepye
Hypermodder
 
tyepye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Ely, Cambridgeshire
Posts: 719
tyepye - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youtyepye - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youtyepye - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youtyepye - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youtyepye - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youtyepye - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youtyepye - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youtyepye - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youtyepye - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youtyepye - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youtyepye - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on you
Quote:
Originally Posted by lysaer View Post
Wasn't TNG and DS9 shot on camera as opposed to real film? What is the resolution of the remastered show?

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2
I believe it was shot on 35mm film but edited on video tape.

Would be interested to know what the resolution of the HD image is on the HD/Bluray if anyone knows?

Also interesting still showing why expanding the frame for 16:9 was never a possibility.

__________________
Desktop: Bitfenix Prodigy/ASUS P8Z77I-Deluxe/Intel Core i7-2600k/H80i/Antec TruePower New 650W/8GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3 1600MHz/2GB EVGA GTX 750Ti/Kingston HyperX 3K 120GB SSD & Crucial 256GB M4 SSD
tyepye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Nov 2012, 14:54   #11
Chris_Waddle
Another World Cup let down
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: The land of overpaid footballers
Posts: 562
Chris_Waddle is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitChris_Waddle is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitChris_Waddle is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitChris_Waddle is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitChris_Waddle is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitChris_Waddle is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitChris_Waddle is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitChris_Waddle is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitChris_Waddle is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitChris_Waddle is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitChris_Waddle is almost as Godly as yodasarmpit
I didn't realise that this had been remastered and was showing on SyFy HD. I will have to look out for it.
I remember the nights well, of rushing home to watch this on BBC2 (yes, it was on BBC before it was on Sky)
Chris_Waddle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Nov 2012, 07:51   #12
noizdaemon666
I'm Od, Therefore I Pwn
 
noizdaemon666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 4,549
noizdaemon666 is definitely a rep cheat.noizdaemon666 is definitely a rep cheat.noizdaemon666 is definitely a rep cheat.noizdaemon666 is definitely a rep cheat.noizdaemon666 is definitely a rep cheat.noizdaemon666 is definitely a rep cheat.noizdaemon666 is definitely a rep cheat.noizdaemon666 is definitely a rep cheat.noizdaemon666 is definitely a rep cheat.noizdaemon666 is definitely a rep cheat.noizdaemon666 is definitely a rep cheat.
Quote:
Originally Posted by tyepye View Post
I believe it was shot on 35mm film but edited on video tape.

Would be interested to know what the resolution of the HD image is on the HD/Bluray if anyone knows?

Also interesting still showing why expanding the frame for 16:9 was never a possibility.
The resolution on Blu-Ray will be 1920x1080 as it always is, even Dumbo is 1920x1080 lol. However, the actual image on screen will be 1440 x 1080 assuming they use the original 4:3 aspect ratio.
__________________
AMD A4 5300 ¦ 4GiB Patriot Black Mamba 1600 ¦ 2 x 500GB HDD ¦ BeQuiet! L8 400w PSU¦ Pioneer 12x Blu-Ray Drive

Corsair Graphite 230T ¦ Athlon X5 760K @ 4.2GHz ¦ Gigabyte F2A88XM-DS2 ¦ Corsair H100 ¦ 8GB Patriot 1600 ¦ No SSD ¦ 250GB HDD ¦ MSI 6770 1GB @ 950/1200 ¦ OCZ 700W
noizdaemon666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Nov 2012, 12:19   #13
Cei
pew pew pew
 
Cei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,424
Cei is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Cei is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Cei is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Cei is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Cei is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Cei is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Cei is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Cei is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Cei is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Cei is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Cei is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
BD is 1080p, but it is 4:3 which cuts down the resolution on the horizontal as noizdaemon666 points out.

Season 1 on BD was very good, bar an audio mixing issue with the 5.1 track on the first batch of discs. Amazon replaced, so I now have two copies!
__________________
Join the BitSec organisation in Star Citizen!
i7 3770K | Asus RoG Maximus V Gene | 16GB 1866Mhz Vengeance | Crucial M4 256 & Samsung EVO 500 | Corsair H80 | Corsair AX750 | EVGA GTX 780 SC 3GB | Silverstone FT03
i5 4670K | Asus RoG Maximus VI Impact | 8GB 1866Mhz Vengeance LP | Samsung 840 EVO 128GB | Noctua NH-U9B SE2 | EVGA GTX 770 SC 2GB | EVGA Hadron Air
Cei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th Nov 2012, 10:15   #14
tyepye
Hypermodder
 
tyepye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Ely, Cambridgeshire
Posts: 719
tyepye - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youtyepye - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youtyepye - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youtyepye - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youtyepye - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youtyepye - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youtyepye - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youtyepye - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youtyepye - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youtyepye - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on youtyepye - may the hammer of Bindi be bestowed on you
Quote:
Originally Posted by noizdaemon666 View Post
The resolution on Blu-Ray will be 1920x1080 as it always is, even Dumbo is 1920x1080 lol. However, the actual image on screen will be 1440 x 1080 assuming they use the original 4:3 aspect ratio.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cei View Post
BD is 1080p, but it is 4:3 which cuts down the resolution on the horizontal as noizdaemon666 points out.
Ah cool, that's what I was wondering.

Haven't seen any more episodes since the pilot. Sky box is full of other programmes but will look to get the Bluray when it reduces in price.
__________________
Desktop: Bitfenix Prodigy/ASUS P8Z77I-Deluxe/Intel Core i7-2600k/H80i/Antec TruePower New 650W/8GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3 1600MHz/2GB EVGA GTX 750Ti/Kingston HyperX 3K 120GB SSD & Crucial 256GB M4 SSD
tyepye is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
View Mode

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:00.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.