bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > Technology > Tech Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 16th Nov 2012, 04:49   #1
Depetrify
Minimodder
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 49
Depetrify has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Chkdsk/Software Installation Issues

Windows 7

So, a bit of background... I have a beast of a computer , OS is on an SSD and everything else is on a raid-0 drive.
Earlier today I was installing the Starcraft: Heart Of The Swarm beta, and it was going really slow so I unplugged my wireless adapter (bad idea...), and plugged it back in. It was still going slow so I restarted my computer.
Upon bootup it wants to do a chkdsk for whatever reason, I decline. It brings me to a black screen with just my mouse. Theres no login screen, ctrl - alt - delete doesn't do anything , its not like the explorer.exe problems I've had before.
So I restart again and let it chkdsk , it says it can't and the problem has been caused by a recent software installation and to system restore.
So I have no points to system restore to..
I tried to chkdsk, /sfc scannow , msconfig and disable every startup thing but microsoft stuff.. none of this seems to fix it.
The fact that I never actually see a login screen makes me think its not just software related anymore...
I used the original disk to try to system repair and it said that disk wasn't supported by my operating system or w/e (wtf?). I burned a few different kinds being hopeful hoping the other ones were just messed up or something .. to no avail.
So, I'm kind of stuck now. I really don't want to system restore...
Oh, and I should add that when I boot in safe mode everything works perfectly ****ing fine ... makes no sense to me.. hell I'm typing this in safe mode right now rofl..

Last edited by Depetrify; 16th Nov 2012 at 04:57.
Depetrify is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Nov 2012, 08:42   #2
deathtaker27
Backups ... Its a way of life
 
deathtaker27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,671
deathtaker27 is definitely a rep cheat.deathtaker27 is definitely a rep cheat.deathtaker27 is definitely a rep cheat.deathtaker27 is definitely a rep cheat.deathtaker27 is definitely a rep cheat.deathtaker27 is definitely a rep cheat.deathtaker27 is definitely a rep cheat.deathtaker27 is definitely a rep cheat.deathtaker27 is definitely a rep cheat.deathtaker27 is definitely a rep cheat.deathtaker27 is definitely a rep cheat.
disable all the startup items one at a time, and check the services, if it bots up in safe mode it has to be a third party software/drivers causing the issue

Does it boot if you take the wireless adapter out?
deathtaker27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Nov 2012, 12:27   #3
T2I3M
Multimodder
 
T2I3M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: West Midlands
Posts: 162
T2I3M has yet to learn the way of the DremelT2I3M has yet to learn the way of the DremelT2I3M has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
It does sound like corrupt software/drivers are causing these problems. Try removing all wireless drivers and software (if this is the only possible way to connect to the internet ensure you download the drivers before you uninstall the drivers).
Is there any indication is event viewer?
__________________
--
AMD Phenom II 955-Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus-Asus M4A78 Pro -ASUS DirectCUII 670 TOP-8GB DDR2 Ram-Samsung 840 Pro 256GB-1Tb Samsung HDD-Corsair HX750W-Fractal Design R3-23" LG W2361V Monitor-Windows 7 HP 64Bit-Logitech MX518
T2I3M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Nov 2012, 15:40   #4
saspro
Infrastructure Specialist
 
saspro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Kingston upon Thames
Posts: 8,841
saspro is definitely a rep cheat.saspro is definitely a rep cheat.saspro is definitely a rep cheat.saspro is definitely a rep cheat.saspro is definitely a rep cheat.saspro is definitely a rep cheat.saspro is definitely a rep cheat.saspro is definitely a rep cheat.saspro is definitely a rep cheat.saspro is definitely a rep cheat.saspro is definitely a rep cheat.
http://www.winhelponline.com/blog/ru...ndows-7-vista/

Just had the same problem on a customers machine
__________________
If what I've said helps you please remember to hit the rep button on the left

Missing the old meeting place? Find us here
saspro is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 16:56.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.