bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > Technology > Tech Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 14th Nov 2012, 02:13   #1
DD_nVidia
Multimodder
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 122
DD_nVidia has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
New build, 6 post beeps. What the ....

Built a new system.

Asus P8Z77-V and 16GB (2x8GB) corsair vengeance LP ram.

Set everything up like I've done a million times...

Beep beep beep beep beep beep.

6 post beeps and the mem ok light staying on.

Now I have gotten to the bios, but it's crashed when I went to advanced bios, but putting one stick in slot 3...

Random.

Tried ram out another system, same thing!

Things on the net are pointing towards some sort of keyboard error, I'm not convinced.

Help!? Please!
DD_nVidia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Nov 2012, 12:20   #2
jinq-sea
#BBERG
Moderator
 
jinq-sea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: London, UK
Posts: 4,403
jinq-sea is definitely a rep cheat.jinq-sea is definitely a rep cheat.jinq-sea is definitely a rep cheat.jinq-sea is definitely a rep cheat.jinq-sea is definitely a rep cheat.jinq-sea is definitely a rep cheat.jinq-sea is definitely a rep cheat.jinq-sea is definitely a rep cheat.jinq-sea is definitely a rep cheat.jinq-sea is definitely a rep cheat.jinq-sea is definitely a rep cheat.
The RAM crashed the other test rig? It sounds like the RAM is borked, then.

Same BIOS error code on the other machine?
__________________
"If tin whistles are made of tin, what are fog horns made of?"

Keyboards, various. (More than I have hands and feet...)
i7-3770K // Max V Formula // 16Gb Tactical Tracer // 780Ti // 512Gb M550 // 450D // AX850 // 3008WFP // 2i2 // Rokit 5 G2
i5-3570K // P8Z77-I Deluxe // 8Gb Ballistix // 680 SC // 480Gb M500 // 250D // AX850 // TV // Onkyo 608 // 7.1
jinq-sea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Nov 2012, 14:58   #3
DD_nVidia
Multimodder
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 122
DD_nVidia has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
I tried the ram in another system it works fine.

Ram from another system still doesn't work in this.

I can faff about and JUST get into the BIOS sometimes, but as soon as i try to go into Advanced Mode to do a bios update, it hangs and won't load the advanced mode screen.

Can't find anyone else with the same problem ANYWHERE...


Looking like it might be RMA time to scan, and considering I was supposed to have this on Friday and it just came yesterday, I'm less than chuffed ):
DD_nVidia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Nov 2012, 15:06   #4
aramil
Keeping it Kerbal.....
 
aramil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Worcester, UK
Posts: 609
aramil is definitely a rep cheat.aramil is definitely a rep cheat.aramil is definitely a rep cheat.aramil is definitely a rep cheat.aramil is definitely a rep cheat.aramil is definitely a rep cheat.aramil is definitely a rep cheat.aramil is definitely a rep cheat.aramil is definitely a rep cheat.aramil is definitely a rep cheat.aramil is definitely a rep cheat.
Use USB bios flashback (see Asus site for details)

You can flash the bios without ram installed.

See if that helps

Sent on my CM10 JB powered i9100 by TapaTalk 2
__________________
System: Intel i5 3570K delidded CLU @ 4.6Ghz | Asus Stabertooth Z77 (2003) | Asus GTX560-TI Direct cuII | OCZ Agility 3 120Gb | Samsung 1Tb F2 | WD 500Gb | Corsair 750TX v2 | 8Gb (2x4) Corsair Vengence | Corsair K90 Keyboard | XSPC-Raystorm-750-RS2400 (2 X Akasa viper) | Casecom 5288 | Samsung LS24B300HL / LE46C750 | Windows 8.1 (update1) Pro 64bit | Audio: Linn Classik & Keilidh Speakers
aramil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Nov 2012, 15:08   #5
DD_nVidia
Multimodder
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 122
DD_nVidia has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
There isn't a flashback button. Fxx button to press perhaps?
DD_nVidia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Nov 2012, 15:09   #6
aramil
Keeping it Kerbal.....
 
aramil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Worcester, UK
Posts: 609
aramil is definitely a rep cheat.aramil is definitely a rep cheat.aramil is definitely a rep cheat.aramil is definitely a rep cheat.aramil is definitely a rep cheat.aramil is definitely a rep cheat.aramil is definitely a rep cheat.aramil is definitely a rep cheat.aramil is definitely a rep cheat.aramil is definitely a rep cheat.aramil is definitely a rep cheat.
Quote:

Things on the net are pointing towards some sort of keyboard error, I'm not convinced.

Help!? Please!
Make sure your keyboard is not plugged into any USB 3 port. Use a USB 2.

Sent on my CM10 JB powered i9100 by TapaTalk 2
__________________
System: Intel i5 3570K delidded CLU @ 4.6Ghz | Asus Stabertooth Z77 (2003) | Asus GTX560-TI Direct cuII | OCZ Agility 3 120Gb | Samsung 1Tb F2 | WD 500Gb | Corsair 750TX v2 | 8Gb (2x4) Corsair Vengence | Corsair K90 Keyboard | XSPC-Raystorm-750-RS2400 (2 X Akasa viper) | Casecom 5288 | Samsung LS24B300HL / LE46C750 | Windows 8.1 (update1) Pro 64bit | Audio: Linn Classik & Keilidh Speakers
aramil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Nov 2012, 15:10   #7
DD_nVidia
Multimodder
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 122
DD_nVidia has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
The board has specific slots for keyboard and mouse - they are plugged into them.
DD_nVidia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Nov 2012, 15:23   #8
narwen
narwen
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Warrington
Posts: 387
narwen is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitnarwen is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitnarwen is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitnarwen is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitnarwen is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitnarwen is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitnarwen is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitnarwen is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitnarwen is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitnarwen is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitnarwen is almost as Godly as yodasarmpit
USB BIOS Flashback offers the most convenient way ever to update the BIOS! It allows users to update new UEFI BIOS versions even without hardware such as a CPU or DRAM installed into the motherboard. Just plug in a USB flash drive containing the BIOS file, and press the BIOS Flashback button for 3 seconds with the power supply connected. The UEFI BIOS will then automatically update without requiring further interaction
__________________
CPU 2600K | MB ASUS P67PRO | MEM 16MB | GC 570 | WIN 7
narwen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Nov 2012, 15:48   #9
DD_nVidia
Multimodder
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 122
DD_nVidia has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
I don't have a bios flashback button on my I/O panel.

Unless there is one on the board?
DD_nVidia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Nov 2012, 16:56   #10
aramil
Keeping it Kerbal.....
 
aramil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Worcester, UK
Posts: 609
aramil is definitely a rep cheat.aramil is definitely a rep cheat.aramil is definitely a rep cheat.aramil is definitely a rep cheat.aramil is definitely a rep cheat.aramil is definitely a rep cheat.aramil is definitely a rep cheat.aramil is definitely a rep cheat.aramil is definitely a rep cheat.aramil is definitely a rep cheat.aramil is definitely a rep cheat.
Its on the motherboard next to the USB sockets at the bottom of the board.

Don't forget the bios file should be renamed to P8Z77VB.cap to work with flashback. (For the P8Z77-V)

Sent on my CM10 JB powered i9100 by TapaTalk 2
__________________
System: Intel i5 3570K delidded CLU @ 4.6Ghz | Asus Stabertooth Z77 (2003) | Asus GTX560-TI Direct cuII | OCZ Agility 3 120Gb | Samsung 1Tb F2 | WD 500Gb | Corsair 750TX v2 | 8Gb (2x4) Corsair Vengence | Corsair K90 Keyboard | XSPC-Raystorm-750-RS2400 (2 X Akasa viper) | Casecom 5288 | Samsung LS24B300HL / LE46C750 | Windows 8.1 (update1) Pro 64bit | Audio: Linn Classik & Keilidh Speakers

Last edited by aramil; 14th Nov 2012 at 17:03.
aramil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Nov 2012, 15:30   #11
jinq-sea
#BBERG
Moderator
 
jinq-sea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: London, UK
Posts: 4,403
jinq-sea is definitely a rep cheat.jinq-sea is definitely a rep cheat.jinq-sea is definitely a rep cheat.jinq-sea is definitely a rep cheat.jinq-sea is definitely a rep cheat.jinq-sea is definitely a rep cheat.jinq-sea is definitely a rep cheat.jinq-sea is definitely a rep cheat.jinq-sea is definitely a rep cheat.jinq-sea is definitely a rep cheat.jinq-sea is definitely a rep cheat.
Apologies for my misunderstanding about the other system - good advice from others regarding the flashback though
__________________
"If tin whistles are made of tin, what are fog horns made of?"

Keyboards, various. (More than I have hands and feet...)
i7-3770K // Max V Formula // 16Gb Tactical Tracer // 780Ti // 512Gb M550 // 450D // AX850 // 3008WFP // 2i2 // Rokit 5 G2
i5-3570K // P8Z77-I Deluxe // 8Gb Ballistix // 680 SC // 480Gb M500 // 250D // AX850 // TV // Onkyo 608 // 7.1
jinq-sea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th Nov 2012, 16:38   #12
Sterkenburg
To mod or not to mod...
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 61
Sterkenburg has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
The user's manual for your motherboard shows the following error codes

One short - VGA detected, no keyboard
One continuous, two short (repeating) - No memory detected
One continuous, three short - No VGA detected
One continuous, four short - Hardware component failure

It doesn't say a word about six beeps. Undocumented error codes are probably best RMAed.
__________________
i7 920 | Asus P6T | 6GB OCZ 1333 | 1TB Spinpoint F1 | Corsair 750w | HD 5770 1GB | NEC 23" IPS x2 | Fractal Design Define R3
Sterkenburg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:36.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.