bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > Technology > Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 27th Nov 2012, 21:09   #1
fuus
Rocking All Year Christmas
 
fuus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Shropshire
Posts: 2,674
fuus is a Super Spamming Saiyanfuus is a Super Spamming Saiyanfuus is a Super Spamming Saiyanfuus is a Super Spamming Saiyanfuus is a Super Spamming Saiyanfuus is a Super Spamming Saiyanfuus is a Super Spamming Saiyanfuus is a Super Spamming Saiyanfuus is a Super Spamming Saiyanfuus is a Super Spamming Saiyanfuus is a Super Spamming Saiyan
GFWL Won't work.

Basically all the games I own which are linked to GFWL won't start at all. This includes: DiRT 3, DiRT 2, DiRT Showdown, Bioshock 2 and GTA IV. Some are steam games and some are not, which rules that out.

The problem is, I click that 'Start' button and nothing happens in the slightest. In the case of Showdown the small logo box comes up for about 10 seconds then it goes again and there is no sign of anything?

Any help much appreciated ~ Fuus
__________________
i5 3570k :: EVGA GTX 670 :: Z77X D3H :: 8GB RAM :: Filco Browns :: 3 x Dell U2312HM
Phillips X1's :: Schiit Vali :: Schiit Modi
fuus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Nov 2012, 21:47   #2
xTatic
~
 
xTatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Wakefield, UK
Posts: 733
xTatic is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.xTatic is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.xTatic is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.xTatic is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.xTatic is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.xTatic is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.xTatic is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.xTatic is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.xTatic is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.xTatic is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.xTatic is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
Reasons like this is why I hate buying games and prefer to "acquire" them.

Have you tried:
-Restarting your PC
-Logging in and out of Steam / GFWL
-Installing all updates
-Running the game from the .exe
-Running as Admin
-Checking it isn't being blocked by anti-virus
__________________
Silverstone Raven RV03 >> Phenom II X4 955 >> Stock Cooler >> Zotac GTX570
ASRock 890 GM Pro3 >> 8GB (2x4GB) G.Skill RipjawZ DDR3 1600MHz CL8 >> Corsair HX750W
Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB x2 >> WD Caviar Black 640GB
xTatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Nov 2012, 21:52   #3
rollo
I Mod, Therefore I Own
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 5,276
rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.
Make sure games for live is up to date.
rollo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Nov 2012, 22:14   #4
fuus
Rocking All Year Christmas
 
fuus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Shropshire
Posts: 2,674
fuus is a Super Spamming Saiyanfuus is a Super Spamming Saiyanfuus is a Super Spamming Saiyanfuus is a Super Spamming Saiyanfuus is a Super Spamming Saiyanfuus is a Super Spamming Saiyanfuus is a Super Spamming Saiyanfuus is a Super Spamming Saiyanfuus is a Super Spamming Saiyanfuus is a Super Spamming Saiyanfuus is a Super Spamming Saiyan
My GFWL won't even run, let alone let me login. It just crashes every single bloomin' time!

Quote:
Originally Posted by xTatic View Post
Reasons like this is why I hate buying games and prefer to "acquire" them.

Have you tried:
-Restarting your PC Check
-Logging in and out of Steam / GFWL Check
-Installing all updates Check
-Running the game from the .exe Check
-Running as Admin Check
-Checking it isn't being blocked by anti-virus I ride the internet Bare Back like a Man!
__________________
i5 3570k :: EVGA GTX 670 :: Z77X D3H :: 8GB RAM :: Filco Browns :: 3 x Dell U2312HM
Phillips X1's :: Schiit Vali :: Schiit Modi
fuus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Nov 2012, 22:16   #5
GoodBytes
How many wifi's does it have?
 
GoodBytes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 12,152
GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
Remember that GFWL can sometimes have a lot of updates... and it doesn't pack them together, or tell you it's a minor update. So it will look like the updates fails, every time the system applies one, but it doesn't... so keep doing them... it sucks when you have to restart your game 10 times, due to the stupid system.

Also, some games are picky with the version of GFWL you have, to make things worse. So you might update the GFWL for a game, and it might break others.
__________________
Nv GPU Pro - Automate your graphic card overclock base on what you run, reduce power and noise. Designed for Laptops and Desktops. Filled with features.

Core i7 930 2.8GHz | G.Skill Pi 6GB 1600MHz 7-5-7-24 1.5V | Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD5 | GeForce GTX 260 | W.D Caviar Black 1TB | Corsair AX750 | Noctua NH-U12P | Xonar Essence STX | Win8 Pro 64-bit | Dell U2410 - 1920x1200 | OCZ Vertex 4 250GB
GoodBytes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Nov 2012, 22:33   #6
Spraduke
Lurker
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Warrington
Posts: 86
Spraduke is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitSpraduke is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitSpraduke is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitSpraduke is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitSpraduke is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitSpraduke is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitSpraduke is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitSpraduke is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitSpraduke is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitSpraduke is almost as Godly as yodasarmpitSpraduke is almost as Godly as yodasarmpit
I had this when I uninstalled something gfwl installed that I didn't twig, see if you can reinstall

Sent from my HTC One S using Tapatalk 2
Spraduke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Nov 2012, 22:45   #7
IvanIvanovich
будет глотать вашу душу.
 
IvanIvanovich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 4,643
IvanIvanovich is a Super Spamming SaiyanIvanIvanovich is a Super Spamming SaiyanIvanIvanovich is a Super Spamming SaiyanIvanIvanovich is a Super Spamming SaiyanIvanIvanovich is a Super Spamming SaiyanIvanIvanovich is a Super Spamming SaiyanIvanIvanovich is a Super Spamming SaiyanIvanIvanovich is a Super Spamming SaiyanIvanIvanovich is a Super Spamming SaiyanIvanIvanovich is a Super Spamming SaiyanIvanIvanovich is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Get the hacked xlive.dll and uninstall that garbage software and never have to see it again. I've been using that xlive.dll file I got on one of the Fallout3 mod site ever since for all of stupid gfwl live game and it just works.
__________________
[end of line] intel xeon x3460 | evga p55 sli | 8gb mushkin blackline | evga gtx670 | seagate 600 240gb | creative titanium hd | seasonic ss460fl | gh60 keyboard | logitech g700 | achieva shimian qh270
IvanIvanovich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Nov 2012, 22:54   #8
fuus
Rocking All Year Christmas
 
fuus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Shropshire
Posts: 2,674
fuus is a Super Spamming Saiyanfuus is a Super Spamming Saiyanfuus is a Super Spamming Saiyanfuus is a Super Spamming Saiyanfuus is a Super Spamming Saiyanfuus is a Super Spamming Saiyanfuus is a Super Spamming Saiyanfuus is a Super Spamming Saiyanfuus is a Super Spamming Saiyanfuus is a Super Spamming Saiyanfuus is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Will that work if I want to play online Lysol?

I've made progess, I've now managed to login to my GWFL! Now I get 'DiRT 3 Executable has stopped working'? Raging inside.

EDIT: But all other games that DiRT 3 are same as before.... To GB, how do you update GFWL games?!
__________________
i5 3570k :: EVGA GTX 670 :: Z77X D3H :: 8GB RAM :: Filco Browns :: 3 x Dell U2312HM
Phillips X1's :: Schiit Vali :: Schiit Modi
fuus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Nov 2012, 23:56   #9
xTatic
~
 
xTatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Wakefield, UK
Posts: 733
xTatic is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.xTatic is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.xTatic is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.xTatic is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.xTatic is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.xTatic is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.xTatic is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.xTatic is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.xTatic is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.xTatic is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.xTatic is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
GFWL games usually update as soon as you log in to your user in game (usually during the startup cinematics etc)
__________________
Silverstone Raven RV03 >> Phenom II X4 955 >> Stock Cooler >> Zotac GTX570
ASRock 890 GM Pro3 >> 8GB (2x4GB) G.Skill RipjawZ DDR3 1600MHz CL8 >> Corsair HX750W
Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB x2 >> WD Caviar Black 640GB
xTatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Nov 2012, 15:18   #10
fuus
Rocking All Year Christmas
 
fuus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Shropshire
Posts: 2,674
fuus is a Super Spamming Saiyanfuus is a Super Spamming Saiyanfuus is a Super Spamming Saiyanfuus is a Super Spamming Saiyanfuus is a Super Spamming Saiyanfuus is a Super Spamming Saiyanfuus is a Super Spamming Saiyanfuus is a Super Spamming Saiyanfuus is a Super Spamming Saiyanfuus is a Super Spamming Saiyanfuus is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Oh... I can't get the game to even start... :/
__________________
i5 3570k :: EVGA GTX 670 :: Z77X D3H :: 8GB RAM :: Filco Browns :: 3 x Dell U2312HM
Phillips X1's :: Schiit Vali :: Schiit Modi
fuus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Nov 2012, 15:32   #11
RichCreedy
Hey What Who
 
RichCreedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: lost in the middle of lincolnshire
Posts: 4,345
RichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming SaiyanRichCreedy is a Super Spamming Saiyan
have you tried this download, might fix your problem
__________________
if there are errors in my messages, its because my brain is to far ahead of my hands
RichCreedy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Nov 2012, 16:25   #12
fuus
Rocking All Year Christmas
 
fuus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Shropshire
Posts: 2,674
fuus is a Super Spamming Saiyanfuus is a Super Spamming Saiyanfuus is a Super Spamming Saiyanfuus is a Super Spamming Saiyanfuus is a Super Spamming Saiyanfuus is a Super Spamming Saiyanfuus is a Super Spamming Saiyanfuus is a Super Spamming Saiyanfuus is a Super Spamming Saiyanfuus is a Super Spamming Saiyanfuus is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Cheers Rich, but I tried that last night.

I did actually just get it to work after approx. 4 hours of tinkering. nVidia drivers, I hate you.
__________________
i5 3570k :: EVGA GTX 670 :: Z77X D3H :: 8GB RAM :: Filco Browns :: 3 x Dell U2312HM
Phillips X1's :: Schiit Vali :: Schiit Modi
fuus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Nov 2012, 17:29   #13
IvanIvanovich
будет глотать вашу душу.
 
IvanIvanovich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 4,643
IvanIvanovich is a Super Spamming SaiyanIvanIvanovich is a Super Spamming SaiyanIvanIvanovich is a Super Spamming SaiyanIvanIvanovich is a Super Spamming SaiyanIvanIvanovich is a Super Spamming SaiyanIvanIvanovich is a Super Spamming SaiyanIvanIvanovich is a Super Spamming SaiyanIvanIvanovich is a Super Spamming SaiyanIvanIvanovich is a Super Spamming SaiyanIvanIvanovich is a Super Spamming SaiyanIvanIvanovich is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Depends on the game for multiplayer. If the server selection is in game it's no problem. All you really loose is the pointless achievment tracking and social elements, maybe voice if it's handled through gfwl, but I never use that in any game. The only GFWL game I have that I tried multi on was Flatout UC and it worked fine as far as I could tell. Give it a shot, it's not as if it will hurt anything.
__________________
[end of line] intel xeon x3460 | evga p55 sli | 8gb mushkin blackline | evga gtx670 | seagate 600 240gb | creative titanium hd | seasonic ss460fl | gh60 keyboard | logitech g700 | achieva shimian qh270
IvanIvanovich is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 16:01.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.