bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > Technology > Hardware

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 5th Dec 2012, 19:48   #1
Bitwacker
C# forever
 
Bitwacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: London
Posts: 82
Bitwacker has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Workstation. Comments/Tweeks?

Hello All,

I am building a workstation for software development (need threads/memory); with a little bit of gaming. It will be a water cooled (single loop CPU, GPU, GPU)

The new stuff (from Scan):
Intel Core i7 3930K Enthusiast Unlocked, S 2011, Sandybridge-E, Six Core, 3.2GHz, 12MB Smart Cache, 130W, Retail
Asus Sabertooth X79, Intel X79, S 2011, DDR3, SATA III - 6Gb/s, SATA RAID, PCIe 3.0 (x16), ATX
64GB (8x8GB) Corsair DDR3 Vengeance Jet Black, PC3-14900 (1866), Non-ECC Unbuffered, CAS 9-10-9-27, XMP, 1.5V
2GB EVGA GTX 680 SC Signature, 28nm, PCIe 3.0, 6208MHz GDDR5, GPU 1084MHz, Boost 1150MHz, Cores 1536 +Free Games

The existing stuff:
2x120 SSD in RAID 0
2x1TB HDD data/backup
ATI Radeon HD 5870
650W powersupply

I am looking for comments, suggestions, improvements?

Specifically,
1) What might I expect to achieve with over-clocking of these components?
2) Will the power supply be sufficient?

Thanks in Advance.
__________________
i7-2600K | 16GB 1600 | ATI 5870 (Asus) | 2x120GB SSD (RAID 0) | 2x1TB Samsung F1 | Asus Xonar DX | 30" DELL | 2x23" Dell | Cooling: single water cooling loop
Bitwacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th Dec 2012, 19:51   #2
Tangster
Butt-kicking for goodness!
 
Tangster's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: York, UK
Posts: 2,935
Tangster is definitely a rep cheat.Tangster is definitely a rep cheat.Tangster is definitely a rep cheat.Tangster is definitely a rep cheat.Tangster is definitely a rep cheat.Tangster is definitely a rep cheat.Tangster is definitely a rep cheat.Tangster is definitely a rep cheat.Tangster is definitely a rep cheat.Tangster is definitely a rep cheat.Tangster is definitely a rep cheat.
1) You can probably get an easy 4GHz.

2) Depends. If it's a reputable brand then it should be sufficient.
__________________
Uni Box:i5 2500K@5GHz|EK Supreme LT+Coolstream XT 240|16GB HyperX DDR3@1866MHz(in blue)|EVGA GTX670SC 4GB+EK FC670|MSI P67A-GD55||M5 512|BeQuiet Dark Power Pro 750W|U3011|Raven RV-02E|KBT Pure+Perixx MX2000 + Intuos 4M
Audio: PC->TosLink->TEAC UD-H01->Schiit Asgard-> Denon 5000|InEar LivePro 3|Truth B2030A Monitors
BT Feedback
Tangster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Dec 2012, 09:34   #3
Bitwacker
C# forever
 
Bitwacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: London
Posts: 82
Bitwacker has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Thank you.

I bought the Custom PC Vol. 101, which was very useful.

How do RAM timings affect the overclock (or do they)?

I was also looking at an SR2 - Dual Xeon build, but relatively this seems more cost-effective.
__________________
i7-2600K | 16GB 1600 | ATI 5870 (Asus) | 2x120GB SSD (RAID 0) | 2x1TB Samsung F1 | Asus Xonar DX | 30" DELL | 2x23" Dell | Cooling: single water cooling loop
Bitwacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Dec 2012, 10:20   #4
Jaybles
Hypermodder
 
Jaybles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Somerset, UK
Posts: 981
Jaybles - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Jaybles - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Jaybles - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Jaybles - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Jaybles - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Jaybles - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Jaybles - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Jaybles - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Jaybles - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Jaybles - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Jaybles - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!
With dual 680s and an SB-E processor I would look for a higher wattage power supply. Something more like 850w.
__________________
i7 950 @ 3.8 1.192v|Noctua NH-U12P SE2|Asus P6X58D-E|12 GB DDR3 1600|1TB Samsung Spinpoint F3|Samsung 830 64GB|XFX Double D R7950|Asus Xonar DG|Antec Quattro 850w|Bitfenix Colossus|Dell U2311H|Dell E173FP
Steam|PSN:nythraln
Jaybles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Dec 2012, 10:25   #5
Blogins
Panda have Guns
 
Blogins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 3,884
Blogins is definitely a rep cheat.Blogins is definitely a rep cheat.Blogins is definitely a rep cheat.Blogins is definitely a rep cheat.Blogins is definitely a rep cheat.Blogins is definitely a rep cheat.Blogins is definitely a rep cheat.Blogins is definitely a rep cheat.Blogins is definitely a rep cheat.Blogins is definitely a rep cheat.Blogins is definitely a rep cheat.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaybles View Post
With dual 680s and an SB-E processor I would look for a higher wattage power supply. Something more like 850w.
A quality 650W should be fine. Try it and see first!
__________________
|Fractal Design Define R3, Black Pearl (Case)|ASUS P8P67 Deluxe (Motherboard)|Intel® Core™ i5-2500K (Processor)|
|G-Skill 8GB DDR3 1600mhz Sniper 1.25v (Memory)|PNY GTX 780 Ti (Graphics)|
|Corsair Professional Series Gold AX 850W (Power Supply Unit)|Asus Xonar D2X PCI-Express (Sound Card)|
|OCZ Vertex 3 120GB (Solid State Drive - Boot)|OCZ Vertex 3 240GB (Solid State Drive - Games)|
Blogins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Dec 2012, 11:08   #6
deathtaker27
Backups ... Its a way of life
 
deathtaker27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,671
deathtaker27 is definitely a rep cheat.deathtaker27 is definitely a rep cheat.deathtaker27 is definitely a rep cheat.deathtaker27 is definitely a rep cheat.deathtaker27 is definitely a rep cheat.deathtaker27 is definitely a rep cheat.deathtaker27 is definitely a rep cheat.deathtaker27 is definitely a rep cheat.deathtaker27 is definitely a rep cheat.deathtaker27 is definitely a rep cheat.deathtaker27 is definitely a rep cheat.
Once you build this you have to post a screenshot of all 64GB of memory being used, as I can barely max out 16 when i try
deathtaker27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Dec 2012, 11:49   #7
rollo
I Mod, Therefore I Own
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 5,113
rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.
1. you should easily hit 4.4ghz to 4.5ghz anymore requires expensive cooling
2. If its a quality unit you should be fine if its a no brand name i would not be putting my pc next to it.
rollo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Dec 2012, 12:48   #8
Bitwacker
C# forever
 
Bitwacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: London
Posts: 82
Bitwacker has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blogins View Post
A quality 650W should be fine. Try it and see first!
That raises the question: How do you tell when a power supply is not coping? What are the typical symptoms? Instability? Fails to start? Or do I need some equipment to test at the wall?
__________________
i7-2600K | 16GB 1600 | ATI 5870 (Asus) | 2x120GB SSD (RAID 0) | 2x1TB Samsung F1 | Asus Xonar DX | 30" DELL | 2x23" Dell | Cooling: single water cooling loop
Bitwacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Dec 2012, 12:55   #9
Bitwacker
C# forever
 
Bitwacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: London
Posts: 82
Bitwacker has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by deathtaker27 View Post
Once you build this you have to post a screenshot of all 64GB of memory being used, as I can barely max out 16 when i try
Will do. It is a software dev thing:

2GB per instance Visual Studio + Resharper (stores the entire code DOM in memory)
4GB per instance for SQL Server (native for dev)
Deployment environment is typically 3+ VMs (IIS, App Server, SQL)
Test client 2 VMs

The sometimes:
RAM drive for all source (if you think an SSD is fast, try this... plus no SSD strain)
Continuous build clients

I build trading simulation stuff: which does in-memory calculation of 10000 trades. That eats 8-16Gb a pop.
__________________
i7-2600K | 16GB 1600 | ATI 5870 (Asus) | 2x120GB SSD (RAID 0) | 2x1TB Samsung F1 | Asus Xonar DX | 30" DELL | 2x23" Dell | Cooling: single water cooling loop
Bitwacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Dec 2012, 09:11   #10
mm vr
The cheesecake is a lie
 
mm vr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Finland
Posts: 2,968
mm vr - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!mm vr - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!mm vr - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!mm vr - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!mm vr - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!mm vr - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!mm vr - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!mm vr - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!mm vr - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!mm vr - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!mm vr - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!
See this and decide yourself whether the upgrade is worth what it costs: http://www.anandtech.com/bench/Product/287?vs=552

Though I guess LGA1155 is limited to 32GB RAM.

Is TRIM supported for RAID0 setups on X79 by the way? At least during launch it was only supported on Z77.
__________________
Intel Core i5 3570K @ 4.5GHz || Thermalright Ultra 120 eXtreme || Gigabyte GA-Z77-D3H || 2x 8GB Corsair Vengeance LP DDR3 1600MHz CL10 || Radeon 4870 512MB || AC Accelero Twin Turbo Pro || Asus Xonar DX || Samsung 830 128GB || 2x WD Blue 640GB || Corsair HX620 || Antec P182 || Samsung SM 2232 + 2233 || Windows Server 2012
mm vr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Dec 2012, 09:36   #11
Bitwacker
C# forever
 
Bitwacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: London
Posts: 82
Bitwacker has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by mm vr View Post
See this and decide yourself whether the upgrade is worth what it costs: http://www.anandtech.com/bench/Product/287?vs=552

Though I guess LGA1155 is limited to 32GB RAM.

Is TRIM supported for RAID0 setups on X79 by the way? At least during launch it was only supported on Z77.
Wow, it is quite a read. Most of the time the 2600K is even or ahead. The only real attraction is the Chrome compile test - in which the 3930K is a full 4min faster; which is what the rig is for.

I just wish they had overclocked results to show if the chips scale in the same way. I was hoping an increase in clock speed would scale more on the 3930K.
__________________
i7-2600K | 16GB 1600 | ATI 5870 (Asus) | 2x120GB SSD (RAID 0) | 2x1TB Samsung F1 | Asus Xonar DX | 30" DELL | 2x23" Dell | Cooling: single water cooling loop
Bitwacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th Dec 2012, 09:40   #12
Bitwacker
C# forever
 
Bitwacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: London
Posts: 82
Bitwacker has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
http://www.techspot.com/news/51075-i...-i7-4770k.html

Can anyone guess when Haswell socket-2011 may be released?
__________________
i7-2600K | 16GB 1600 | ATI 5870 (Asus) | 2x120GB SSD (RAID 0) | 2x1TB Samsung F1 | Asus Xonar DX | 30" DELL | 2x23" Dell | Cooling: single water cooling loop
Bitwacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th Dec 2012, 10:22   #13
deathtaker27
Backups ... Its a way of life
 
deathtaker27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,671
deathtaker27 is definitely a rep cheat.deathtaker27 is definitely a rep cheat.deathtaker27 is definitely a rep cheat.deathtaker27 is definitely a rep cheat.deathtaker27 is definitely a rep cheat.deathtaker27 is definitely a rep cheat.deathtaker27 is definitely a rep cheat.deathtaker27 is definitely a rep cheat.deathtaker27 is definitely a rep cheat.deathtaker27 is definitely a rep cheat.deathtaker27 is definitely a rep cheat.
Q1/Q2 2013
deathtaker27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th Dec 2012, 10:34   #14
azrael-
I'm special...
 
azrael-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Aarhus, Denmark
Posts: 3,805
azrael- - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!azrael- - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!azrael- - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!azrael- - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!azrael- - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!azrael- - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!azrael- - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!azrael- - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!azrael- - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!azrael- - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!azrael- - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bitwacker View Post
http://www.techspot.com/news/51075-i...-i7-4770k.html

Can anyone guess when Haswell socket-2011 may be released?
Quote:
Originally Posted by deathtaker27 View Post
Q1/Q2 2013
Most certainly not! IB-E hasn't even made an appearance yet. That will happen sometime in 2013. When there'll be a HW-E is anyone's guess but it probably won't be before 2014.

Bitwacker, have you considered getting a Xeon E5-1620. It's the equivalent of a Core i7-3820, but supports ECC memory. Considering you're building a workstation and most X79 motherboards support both Xeons and ECC memory.
__________________
It's not the end of the world ...but you can see it from here.

Xeon E3-1245 v2 3.4 GHz | ASUS P8C WS | 16GB Kingston ECC DDR3 | Samsung 830 256GB | eVGA GTX670 2GB | SB Audigy | Seasonic X-560 | Corsair Obsidian 550D | Dell 2209WA
azrael- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th Dec 2012, 10:57   #15
Bitwacker
C# forever
 
Bitwacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: London
Posts: 82
Bitwacker has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by azrael- View Post
Most certainly not! IB-E hasn't even made an appearance yet. That will happen sometime in 2013. When there'll be a HW-E is anyone's guess but it probably won't be before 2014.

Bitwacker, have you considered getting a Xeon E5-1620. It's the equivalent of a Core i7-3820, but supports ECC memory. Considering you're building a workstation and most X79 motherboards support both Xeons and ECC memory.
Thanks, that is quite a good steer. In my mind I have been oscillating between Xeon and Enthusiast-level components. I must say an SR-2 build is very appealing (on some levels, altough it is cost/perf overkill).

ECC is nice, but as machine is a workstation and not a server (production) - therefore nice but not necessary.

Would a e5-2630 be closer match to the 3930K?
http://www.scan.co.uk/products/intel...-cache-95w-oem

My previous builds have all been consumer-level parts -- i.e. my comfort zone. Where can I find information on Xeon builds? Particularly, I find the abundance of Xeon parts confusing.
__________________
i7-2600K | 16GB 1600 | ATI 5870 (Asus) | 2x120GB SSD (RAID 0) | 2x1TB Samsung F1 | Asus Xonar DX | 30" DELL | 2x23" Dell | Cooling: single water cooling loop
Bitwacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th Dec 2012, 11:37   #16
azrael-
I'm special...
 
azrael-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Aarhus, Denmark
Posts: 3,805
azrael- - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!azrael- - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!azrael- - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!azrael- - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!azrael- - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!azrael- - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!azrael- - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!azrael- - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!azrael- - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!azrael- - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!azrael- - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bitwacker View Post
Thanks, that is quite a good steer. In my mind I have been oscillating between Xeon and Enthusiast-level components. I must say an SR-2 build is very appealing (on some levels, altough it is cost/perf overkill).

ECC is nice, but as machine is a workstation and not a server (production) - therefore nice but not necessary.

Would a e5-2630 be closer match to the 3930K?
http://www.scan.co.uk/products/intel...-cache-95w-oem

My previous builds have all been consumer-level parts -- i.e. my comfort zone. Where can I find information on Xeon builds? Particularly, I find the abundance of Xeon parts confusing.
ECC is meant for servers _and_ workstations alike. Pretty much everywhere memory errors are a no-no. Hell, considering how much memory is the norm today I'd even say ECC should be mandatory on consumer systems. Doesn't really cost that much extra either (depending on the type of ECC memory).

As for Xeons, it's reasonably easy to understand the current naming scheme ...up to a point that is. Xeon E3 denominates single-socket CPUs from the Sandy Bridge and Ivy Bridge (with the v2 moniker) families. The E5 series is Sandy Bridge-E and can be multi-socket. The E5-1xxx chips are single-socket, the E5-2xxx are dual-socket. Unsurprisingly the E5-4xxx series is quad-socket. The E7 series is a different beast altogether. Those CPUs are based on Westmere-EX and not really interesting for workstation use.

If you're only going for a single-socket build have a look at either Core i7 or Xeon E5-1xxx. If you're planning on going dual-socket I believe you _have_ to get Xeon E5-2xxx CPUs (or their predecessors, but who'd want that?).

BTW, my new rig which will replace the deceased one in my sig will be based on an Xeon E3-1245v2 and an ASUS P8C WS motherboard with 16 GB ECC memory (Yeah! I know. I'm slumming. ). To be built this christmas.
__________________
It's not the end of the world ...but you can see it from here.

Xeon E3-1245 v2 3.4 GHz | ASUS P8C WS | 16GB Kingston ECC DDR3 | Samsung 830 256GB | eVGA GTX670 2GB | SB Audigy | Seasonic X-560 | Corsair Obsidian 550D | Dell 2209WA
azrael- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th Dec 2012, 13:19   #17
Bitwacker
C# forever
 
Bitwacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: London
Posts: 82
Bitwacker has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by azrael- View Post
ECC is meant for servers _and_ workstations alike. Pretty much everywhere memory errors are a no-no. Hell, considering how much memory is the norm today I'd even say ECC should be mandatory on consumer systems. Doesn't really cost that much extra either (depending on the type of ECC memory).

As for Xeons, it's reasonably easy to understand the current naming scheme ...up to a point that is. Xeon E3 denominates single-socket CPUs from the Sandy Bridge and Ivy Bridge (with the v2 moniker) families. The E5 series is Sandy Bridge-E and can be multi-socket. The E5-1xxx chips are single-socket, the E5-2xxx are dual-socket. Unsurprisingly the E5-4xxx series is quad-socket. The E7 series is a different beast altogether. Those CPUs are based on Westmere-EX and not really interesting for workstation use.

If you're only going for a single-socket build have a look at either Core i7 or Xeon E5-1xxx. If you're planning on going dual-socket I believe you _have_ to get Xeon E5-2xxx CPUs (or their predecessors, but who'd want that?).

BTW, my new rig which will replace the deceased one in my sig will be based on an Xeon E3-1245v2 and an ASUS P8C WS motherboard with 16 GB ECC memory (Yeah! I know. I'm slumming. ). To be built this christmas.
Thanks. His helps.

I am read this for Xeon background:
http://www.tomsitpro.com/articles/xe...s,2-288-2.html

Am looking at:
Asus Z9PE-D8 WS Intel C602 Socket 2011 x2 Workstation Server Board
2x Intel Xeon E5-2620

It is hard to find relavant benchmarks for the expected performance.
http://www.tomsitpro.com/articles/xe...s,2-288-9.html

I find the Chrome VS2010 compile a very good baseline. But I cannot find something for 2xE5-2620.
__________________
i7-2600K | 16GB 1600 | ATI 5870 (Asus) | 2x120GB SSD (RAID 0) | 2x1TB Samsung F1 | Asus Xonar DX | 30" DELL | 2x23" Dell | Cooling: single water cooling loop
Bitwacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th Dec 2012, 13:29   #18
rollo
I Mod, Therefore I Own
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 5,113
rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.
Thats because very few sites cover workstations and those that do get sent builds to test by dell ect.

And if im honest your better of going to Dell ect if your going after a duel cpu system, simply because of the service support. And the guarentee that they will have your computer up and running asap as part of there support package.

I assume your buying this for a business, you can get dells business packages and if you ring them up they will throw in 2 years on site for nothing. You will likely only pay £3-500 extra from going to dell for a computer that you wont have to mess around with and not have to be support bot if anything ever goes wrong.

We have 5 workstations here in the office and all are from dell, got a decent deal on there customer support 3 years on site they will be replaced once it ended. Yes we could of saved £500-£1000 on the 5 machines total but thats not money saved, If we ever have an issue we know dell will get it fixed ASAP.

Instead of us having to find the fault and fix it ourselves which could take days, Each day 1 of the machines is down is several grand down the drain.

In Workstation land Uptime is key, time is very much money.
rollo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th Dec 2012, 13:52   #19
azrael-
I'm special...
 
azrael-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Aarhus, Denmark
Posts: 3,805
azrael- - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!azrael- - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!azrael- - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!azrael- - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!azrael- - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!azrael- - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!azrael- - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!azrael- - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!azrael- - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!azrael- - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!azrael- - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!
Have a look at the review of a Dell T3600 over at Anandtech. Awesome stuff, but it certainly doesn't come cheap.
__________________
It's not the end of the world ...but you can see it from here.

Xeon E3-1245 v2 3.4 GHz | ASUS P8C WS | 16GB Kingston ECC DDR3 | Samsung 830 256GB | eVGA GTX670 2GB | SB Audigy | Seasonic X-560 | Corsair Obsidian 550D | Dell 2209WA
azrael- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th Dec 2012, 16:19   #20
Bitwacker
C# forever
 
Bitwacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: London
Posts: 82
Bitwacker has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by azrael- View Post
Have a look at the review of a Dell T3600 over at Anandtech. Awesome stuff, but it certainly doesn't come cheap.

Certainly is a monster.
__________________
i7-2600K | 16GB 1600 | ATI 5870 (Asus) | 2x120GB SSD (RAID 0) | 2x1TB Samsung F1 | Asus Xonar DX | 30" DELL | 2x23" Dell | Cooling: single water cooling loop
Bitwacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sandybridge-e, watercooling, x79

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:22.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.