bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > Technology > Hardware

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 9th Aug 2012, 14:57   #61
.//TuNdRa
Resident Bulldozer Guru
 
.//TuNdRa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Northamptonshire Region.
Posts: 3,796
.//TuNdRa is definitely a rep cheat..//TuNdRa is definitely a rep cheat..//TuNdRa is definitely a rep cheat..//TuNdRa is definitely a rep cheat..//TuNdRa is definitely a rep cheat..//TuNdRa is definitely a rep cheat..//TuNdRa is definitely a rep cheat..//TuNdRa is definitely a rep cheat..//TuNdRa is definitely a rep cheat..//TuNdRa is definitely a rep cheat..//TuNdRa is definitely a rep cheat.
AA also munches through memory. I think it's a hundred odd meg for each step at 1080p, Consoles don't use AA, so you can easily increase memory load just by turning AA up, thereyb using, oh wow, More than the 512MB that the Xbox has to work with.
__________________
Dozy Beast: AMD FX8120 | Thermalright Archon | Asus Crosshair V Formula | 16GB (4x4GB) Corsair Vengeance LP | Asus Xonar DX/XD | 2X SLI KFA2 550Ti White Edition | Silverstone SSTG1000W | Silverstone Raven RV-02B V1.7 | OCZ Agility 3 60GB | 2x WD 3TB RED RAID0 | Lite-on Blu-ray ROM
Dell U2913WM | Sennheiser HD 485s | Creative Gigaworks T40s | Logitech G13 | Microsoft Sidewinder X6 | Cyborg R.A.T 9
.//TuNdRa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Aug 2012, 16:30   #62
law99
Custom User Title
 
law99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Bournemouth
Posts: 2,077
law99 is definitely a rep cheat.law99 is definitely a rep cheat.law99 is definitely a rep cheat.law99 is definitely a rep cheat.law99 is definitely a rep cheat.law99 is definitely a rep cheat.law99 is definitely a rep cheat.law99 is definitely a rep cheat.law99 is definitely a rep cheat.law99 is definitely a rep cheat.law99 is definitely a rep cheat.
The irony here being two things:

1. Both the Xbox and PS3 were limited by the 512mb of ram. In fact it caused a lot of issues for the PS3 as the 360 used a shared pool of 512 for the CPU and GFX, while the PS3 used two 256mb pools for CPU and GFX - it was UMA vs NUMA. The ps3 was only less affected because of more room for texture streaming off the blu-ray, while the 360 had the advantage of a more flexible memory system, which was partly what caused so many bad ports for the PS3 in the beginning of its life.

2. Both PS3 and 360 devs, I'd imagine, would tear your right arm off for more vram.

If it is there, people will use it. Whether through mods, or clever devs giving you the option.
__________________
3570k WC @ 4.7giggles | 8gb Kingston 2133mhz | ASUS Sabertooth Z77 | R9 290 (awaiting wc block... ) | Seasonic x-660w | NZXT 810 switch | Crucial M4 128gb | 2x F3 1tb Raid 1 | NZXT Sentry 6ch 50w fan controller | eyefinity 4112x1024
law99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Aug 2012, 20:12   #63
xxxsonic1971
W.O.T xxxsonic1971
 
xxxsonic1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: cumbria england
Posts: 766
xxxsonic1971 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.xxxsonic1971 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.xxxsonic1971 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.xxxsonic1971 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.xxxsonic1971 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.xxxsonic1971 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.xxxsonic1971 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.xxxsonic1971 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.xxxsonic1971 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.xxxsonic1971 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.xxxsonic1971 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
1gb of gpu memory will run any game at full settings at 1080p won't it?
xxxsonic1971 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Aug 2012, 20:25   #64
Deders
I Mod, Therefore I Own
 
Deders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Here and there, mostly there
Posts: 3,714
Deders is definitely a rep cheat.Deders is definitely a rep cheat.Deders is definitely a rep cheat.Deders is definitely a rep cheat.Deders is definitely a rep cheat.Deders is definitely a rep cheat.Deders is definitely a rep cheat.Deders is definitely a rep cheat.Deders is definitely a rep cheat.Deders is definitely a rep cheat.Deders is definitely a rep cheat.
Quote:
Originally Posted by xxxsonic1971 View Post
1gb of gpu memory will run most games at full settings at 1080p won't it?
Fixed
__________________
i5 750@3800 - MSI P55 GD65 - Asus GTX780 DirectCU II OC 3GB @1215 & 7000 - 8GB Gskill RipjawsX DDR3 @1800 8-9-8 - Be Quiet! Straight Power E9 500W - Nanoxia Deep Silence One - X-FI Xtreme Gamer - Samsung 830 128GB - Spinpoint F3 1TB - WD RE4 2TB - WD Caviar Blue 640 - Dell U2913WM - Logitech G19 - Corsair M65 - Thermaltake Contac 29 with Noctua NF-F12 PWM.
Deders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Aug 2012, 20:46   #65
N17 dizzi
Packet of mints and a Phillips head
 
N17 dizzi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: East Sussex
Posts: 2,070
N17 dizzi is a Super Spamming SaiyanN17 dizzi is a Super Spamming SaiyanN17 dizzi is a Super Spamming SaiyanN17 dizzi is a Super Spamming SaiyanN17 dizzi is a Super Spamming SaiyanN17 dizzi is a Super Spamming SaiyanN17 dizzi is a Super Spamming SaiyanN17 dizzi is a Super Spamming SaiyanN17 dizzi is a Super Spamming SaiyanN17 dizzi is a Super Spamming SaiyanN17 dizzi is a Super Spamming Saiyan
.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Baz View Post
Tested single card GTX 680 2GB and 4GB in CPC at 1920, 2560 and 5760 on PCI-E 2.0 16x. Do you really need to test anything else?

No difference, at all, in any of our benchmarks. Argue the toss all you want, 4GB cards are a waste of money.

[...]

A single gpu doesn't really have the grunt to make a lack of vram an issue. The power available will prohibit high levels of AA or texture packs in the first place.

Believe it or not, some of us build rigs with more than one GPU because scaling is actually really good.

Your testing has not been thorough enough to conclusively say '4GB cards are a pointless waste of money' because we can show that in certain circumstances, having more vram and bandwidth improves performance.
N17 dizzi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Aug 2012, 21:26   #66
Deders
I Mod, Therefore I Own
 
Deders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Here and there, mostly there
Posts: 3,714
Deders is definitely a rep cheat.Deders is definitely a rep cheat.Deders is definitely a rep cheat.Deders is definitely a rep cheat.Deders is definitely a rep cheat.Deders is definitely a rep cheat.Deders is definitely a rep cheat.Deders is definitely a rep cheat.Deders is definitely a rep cheat.Deders is definitely a rep cheat.Deders is definitely a rep cheat.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Baz View Post
Tested single card GTX 680 2GB and 4GB in CPC at 1920, 2560 and 5760 on PCI-E 2.0 16x. Do you really need to test anything else?

No difference, at all, in any of our benchmarks. Argue the toss all you want, 4GB cards are a waste of money.

SLI round-up? We're re-jigging the graphics benchmarks and building a SLI and Cross-Fire friendly test rig very soon, but even then, I don't think any a manufacturer would be brave enough to send us two 4GB GTX 680s just so we can go "lol, it's pointless!"
Quote:
Originally Posted by N17 dizzi View Post
A single gpu doesn't really have the grunt to make a lack of vram an issue. The power available will prohibit high levels of AA or texture packs in the first place.

Believe it or not, some of us build rigs with more than one GPU because scaling is actually really good.

Your testing has not been thorough enough to conclusively say '4GB cards are a pointless waste of money' because we can show that in certain circumstances, having more vram and bandwidth improves performance.
I actually had a 9800GTX+ SLI setup while everyone (including magazines) still thought that it wasn't worth it for the scaling, I was pretty much getting double scaling on nearly every game, as well the added bonus of normal (not SLI) AA modes having less of an impact % wise on framerates (never could work out why but I wasn't going to question it)

At the time I only had enough money to buy the cards one at a time, six months apart, but I was very happy with my setup. It had more than enough GPU grunt for my resolution (a single 9800GTX+ didn't have quite enough) but as time went on Vram became a limiting factor, more modern games became a bit jerky due to the limited Ram since I was relying on the PCIe controller on my i5 chip, both cards only had 8x bandwidth to swap data to and fro so I ended up shelling out for a 1GB 560TI, which had more grunt and was better optimised for today's games, ran at 16x, and it only consumes 10W more than a single 9800GTX+.

I had wanted to have the option to SLI in the future but recent events and economical constraints have meant that a single card might be the best solution for me if I did decide to upgrade any-time soon.

If I was to go SLI, I would make sure that the next 560TI was one with 2GB Vram so I would at least have the option of playing games with one GPU and plenty of ram (to avoid 8x PCIe limitations) or 2 GPU's with limited Ram.

Point being that I agree that some reviewers don't always have the time and resources to fully test every configuration, some have to limit themselves to a particular set of benchmark games to make results comparable but it doesn't always give the full picture of what can be done with the hardware.

Lack of benchmarks with Physx enabled is another thing that I find most reviews don't cover. Regardless of the bullshit between Nvidia and Amd, one of the biggest factors of me choosing Nvidia again was because I was so Impressed with the Physx in Arkham Asylum I wanted to have the full experience in Arkham City, and was prepared to pay more to get that. Even if AMD's cards gave slightly better performance at the price point, the 560TI hasn't let me down yet in terms of framerates. I realise that there has to be an apples for apples comparison but an additional graph for performance with these extras enabled wouldn't go amiss.

I usually have to peruse many review sites to get the bigger picture about what I am to expect the hardware I am looking at to be able to do with the games I will be wanting to play.
__________________
i5 750@3800 - MSI P55 GD65 - Asus GTX780 DirectCU II OC 3GB @1215 & 7000 - 8GB Gskill RipjawsX DDR3 @1800 8-9-8 - Be Quiet! Straight Power E9 500W - Nanoxia Deep Silence One - X-FI Xtreme Gamer - Samsung 830 128GB - Spinpoint F3 1TB - WD RE4 2TB - WD Caviar Blue 640 - Dell U2913WM - Logitech G19 - Corsair M65 - Thermaltake Contac 29 with Noctua NF-F12 PWM.

Last edited by Deders; 9th Aug 2012 at 22:08.
Deders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Aug 2012, 22:03   #67
xaser04
Ba Ba Ba BANANA!
 
xaser04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Somerset
Posts: 1,697
xaser04 is definitely a rep cheat.xaser04 is definitely a rep cheat.xaser04 is definitely a rep cheat.xaser04 is definitely a rep cheat.xaser04 is definitely a rep cheat.xaser04 is definitely a rep cheat.xaser04 is definitely a rep cheat.xaser04 is definitely a rep cheat.xaser04 is definitely a rep cheat.xaser04 is definitely a rep cheat.xaser04 is definitely a rep cheat.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Baz View Post
GTX 670 and 680 4GB utterly pointless. Do Not Buy.

No tangible or measurable frame rate difference at 2560 or 5760. Totally redundant extra, and not worth the cash at all.
In single card config I would agree. However in multi card configs (especially two or more) the 4GB cards cab be advantageous. You just have to be running the right combination of resolution and settings.

When I was running GTX670 SLI I could easily make them run out of VRAM in BF3 at my resolution once more than 2xMSAA was applied.

Oh and for reference I am not just rambling:

http://forums.bit-tech.net/showthread.php?t=232452

http://forums.bit-tech.net/showthread.php?t=229357

EDIT: I thought I spotted a couple of my graphs in this thread. It seems TG has already covered off this point.
__________________
Daedalus - Clevo P170SM | i7 4700MQ @ 3.4Ghz | GTX780M 4GB @980/6000 | 16GB DDR3 | 17.3" 1920x1080 |
ZPM Hive Mini - Corsair 250D | i7 4770S | GTX690 @ 1050/6000 | 4GB DDR3 | 3 x LG IPS231P 5888x1080 |
Consoles / Retro - PS4 | PS3 | Xbox One x2 | Dreamcast x2 (VGA) & lots more |

Last edited by xaser04; 9th Aug 2012 at 22:18.
xaser04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Aug 2012, 08:20   #68
Pookeyhead
It's big, and it's clever.
 
Pookeyhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Blackpool, UK. Cheesecake!
Posts: 10,664
Pookeyhead is definitely a rep cheat.Pookeyhead is definitely a rep cheat.Pookeyhead is definitely a rep cheat.Pookeyhead is definitely a rep cheat.Pookeyhead is definitely a rep cheat.Pookeyhead is definitely a rep cheat.Pookeyhead is definitely a rep cheat.Pookeyhead is definitely a rep cheat.Pookeyhead is definitely a rep cheat.Pookeyhead is definitely a rep cheat.Pookeyhead is definitely a rep cheat.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Harlequin View Post


if you want to shout from your soapbox and stamp your feet that games need more vram - go get a crysis `mod` or a stalker one then... but again they didnt ship like that

So what?? The fact is, there are mods out there that many people want to use, and to use them, it's obvious that 2GB don't cut it. That alone validates 4GB cards for those that do.

If you can say "I will never, ever install a texture pack" then fine, go buy a 2GB card, but this doesn't mean 4GB are useless.

This "they didn't ship like that" argument is childish. In effect you are saying you should never install a texture pack because the publisher never intended it. Great.. welcome to bit tech... the MODDING site.

Just LOL.
__________________
MAIN RIG |Intel i7 3960X @ 4.7GHz Asus Rampage IV Extreme 16Gb Mushkin DDR3 2133 512GB Samsung 830 SSD 4TB of HDD Storage 4GB EVGA GTX670 Superclocked SLI Corsair 650D Eizo ColorEdge CG303W & Dell 2007FP Logitech Z623
EARTH| Celeron E3200 Gigabyte G31M-ES2L LSI SAS9260-8i 3TB RAID5 Headless - VNC administered
MOON | Thecus N3200pro 3TB RAID5
Pookeyhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Aug 2012, 19:06   #69
LordLuciendar
meh.
 
LordLuciendar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Keene, NH
Posts: 328
LordLuciendar has yet to learn the way of the DremelLordLuciendar has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Just wanted to chime in as an owner of a pair of GTX 670 4GB... they were very much well worth it for 5760x1200. They make a big difference in Skyrim (really the only game I play) with texture packs where I eat up to 3GB of RAM. They also make a very noticeable difference in Photoshop and AutoCAD, its a simple factor of being able to load all of the graphic information of a drawing or all of the layers of an image at once in memory, or having to store it in system memory.

If for whatever reason you can say "Yep, that's good enough" and you are satisfied with one monitor, get the 2GB version. It's an awesome card and more than powerful enough to be satisfactory with today's games. I'll never say "it's good enough though". If my card runs the game perfectly... I need a higher resolution texture pack or more content in the game to make it better. The difference between Skyrim without mods and Skyrim with mods is the difference between an amazing game with beautiful scenery, or a game that can literally take your breath away and in which you can truly immerse yourself.
__________________
ASUS P8P67 Pro, Intel i7-2600k @ 4.5GHz, Thermaltake Frio, 16GB (4x4GB) Corsair Dominator 1866Mhz, 2xCorsair Force Series 3 120GB in RAID0, Enermax Platimax 1kW, 2xEVGA GTX 670 SuperClock 4GB, 3xAcer 1920x1200 24in IPS, 4x WD2500AAKS in RAID0, LG HD-DVD/BD-R/DVD-RW Drive... and more. That's just my workstation.
LordLuciendar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Aug 2012, 11:56   #70
N17 dizzi
Packet of mints and a Phillips head
 
N17 dizzi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: East Sussex
Posts: 2,070
N17 dizzi is a Super Spamming SaiyanN17 dizzi is a Super Spamming SaiyanN17 dizzi is a Super Spamming SaiyanN17 dizzi is a Super Spamming SaiyanN17 dizzi is a Super Spamming SaiyanN17 dizzi is a Super Spamming SaiyanN17 dizzi is a Super Spamming SaiyanN17 dizzi is a Super Spamming SaiyanN17 dizzi is a Super Spamming SaiyanN17 dizzi is a Super Spamming SaiyanN17 dizzi is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Lord you mind listing your mods? Its the village derail thread day
N17 dizzi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Aug 2012, 13:08   #71
.//TuNdRa
Resident Bulldozer Guru
 
.//TuNdRa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Northamptonshire Region.
Posts: 3,796
.//TuNdRa is definitely a rep cheat..//TuNdRa is definitely a rep cheat..//TuNdRa is definitely a rep cheat..//TuNdRa is definitely a rep cheat..//TuNdRa is definitely a rep cheat..//TuNdRa is definitely a rep cheat..//TuNdRa is definitely a rep cheat..//TuNdRa is definitely a rep cheat..//TuNdRa is definitely a rep cheat..//TuNdRa is definitely a rep cheat..//TuNdRa is definitely a rep cheat.
I think we've already had this argument with TG in his 680 4GB thread; 2GB is slightly too small for some purposes, but I've yet to see anything actually fill a full four gig of video memory. Maybe if you ran, like, 7680x1440 as a resolution; you'd have issues, but I don't see it occuring otherwise.
__________________
Dozy Beast: AMD FX8120 | Thermalright Archon | Asus Crosshair V Formula | 16GB (4x4GB) Corsair Vengeance LP | Asus Xonar DX/XD | 2X SLI KFA2 550Ti White Edition | Silverstone SSTG1000W | Silverstone Raven RV-02B V1.7 | OCZ Agility 3 60GB | 2x WD 3TB RED RAID0 | Lite-on Blu-ray ROM
Dell U2913WM | Sennheiser HD 485s | Creative Gigaworks T40s | Logitech G13 | Microsoft Sidewinder X6 | Cyborg R.A.T 9
.//TuNdRa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Aug 2012, 14:36   #72
rollo
I Mod, Therefore I Own
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 5,267
rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.rollo is definitely a rep cheat.
Buy 2 7970s faster lol and they already come with 3gb of ram so no issues there either not to mension they are at least 100 cheaper than the 4gb 670 cards (50 per card ) the cheapest model also is already at ghz edition speeds also.

Just to add to the argument for the Lols really.
rollo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Aug 2012, 15:44   #73
GregTheRotter
I Mod, Therefore I Own
 
GregTheRotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Henley on Thames
Posts: 4,254
GregTheRotter is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GregTheRotter is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GregTheRotter is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GregTheRotter is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GregTheRotter is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GregTheRotter is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GregTheRotter is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GregTheRotter is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GregTheRotter is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GregTheRotter is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GregTheRotter is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
I've just gone for another 2gb GTX 670. Even if I was about to buy the pair not the second, I still think the 100 premium per 4gb card is a lot of extra money for the benefits.
__________________
Main rig: i5 4670k, 8gb 1600mhz ram, Asus Z87-A, Crucial m4 250gb SSD 2 x EVGA GTX 670 in SLI, Dell U2711, Nec 20WGX2, Asus VG248 24" 144hz monitor
Photography gear; Nikon D700, Nikon 24-70 AF-S, Nikon 70-200 F2.8 VR II, Nikon 35mm F2 D,Nikon 50mm 1.8D, Nikon 85mm 1.8D, Micro Nikkor 105 f2.8 AI-S, Nikon SB-900,
GregTheRotter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Aug 2012, 18:07   #74
xaser04
Ba Ba Ba BANANA!
 
xaser04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Somerset
Posts: 1,697
xaser04 is definitely a rep cheat.xaser04 is definitely a rep cheat.xaser04 is definitely a rep cheat.xaser04 is definitely a rep cheat.xaser04 is definitely a rep cheat.xaser04 is definitely a rep cheat.xaser04 is definitely a rep cheat.xaser04 is definitely a rep cheat.xaser04 is definitely a rep cheat.xaser04 is definitely a rep cheat.xaser04 is definitely a rep cheat.
Quote:
Originally Posted by .//TuNdRa View Post
I think we've already had this argument with TG in his 680 4GB thread; 2GB is slightly too small for some purposes, but I've yet to see anything actually fill a full four gig of video memory. Maybe if you ran, like, 7680x1440 as a resolution; you'd have issues, but I don't see it occuring otherwise.
BF3 @ 3620x1920, Ultra settings with 4xMSAA....
__________________
Daedalus - Clevo P170SM | i7 4700MQ @ 3.4Ghz | GTX780M 4GB @980/6000 | 16GB DDR3 | 17.3" 1920x1080 |
ZPM Hive Mini - Corsair 250D | i7 4770S | GTX690 @ 1050/6000 | 4GB DDR3 | 3 x LG IPS231P 5888x1080 |
Consoles / Retro - PS4 | PS3 | Xbox One x2 | Dreamcast x2 (VGA) & lots more |
xaser04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Dec 2012, 11:54   #75
Parge
ITX FTW
 
Parge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: London, UK
Posts: 9,474
Parge is a Super Spamming SaiyanParge is a Super Spamming SaiyanParge is a Super Spamming SaiyanParge is a Super Spamming SaiyanParge is a Super Spamming SaiyanParge is a Super Spamming SaiyanParge is a Super Spamming SaiyanParge is a Super Spamming SaiyanParge is a Super Spamming SaiyanParge is a Super Spamming SaiyanParge is a Super Spamming Saiyan
You know when you’re in the middle of a frantic BF3 sesh, and then suddenly you get pulled back to the Windows 7 desktop with a notification saying that you are running low on Video Memory. I don’t get that anymore.

The above statement was absolutely 100% true up until the release of the new ‘Aftermath’ DLC for Battlefield 3.

Maybe it’s all the spangely explosion effects, or maybe it’s all the gorgeously rendered rubble – I do keep saying that the new DLC maps look better than any of the previous MP maps - but something is causing them to chew through my vRAM like a dog left alone in the kitchen with the turkey.

A quick glance at my specs below reveal that I use a U3011 at 2560x1600 – which is admittedly a high resolution – but previously a lot of people have mentioned that even at these levels the new Kepler cards are very frugal with vRAM in comparison to previous generations. The new DLC, it seems, really pushes them and I’m hitting the limits in every session.

General vRAM use is around the 1850mb mark with Aero on. I’ve now set it to auto disable when BF3 launches and I’ll continue to monitor (to do this, right click on the appropriate .exe and head to properties, then to the ‘compatibility tab’ and tick the ‘disable desktop composition’ button)

It’s worth noting, that I still get decent framerates in the upper 50s with everything on Ultra 0xMSAA and FXAA on High (PostProcessing), but it’s a shame vRAM is becoming a limiting factor on a rather pricey card so early into its lifespan.
__________________

Parvum ITX - 3570k - GTX 970 - Asus P8Z77-I ITX - 8GB Tactical Tracer - 256GB SSD - 480GB SSD - H80

29" Ultrawide, Oculus Rift & X52 Pro

Last edited by Parge; 11th Dec 2012 at 12:15.
Parge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Dec 2012, 12:18   #76
Harlequin
I Mod, Therefore I Own
 
Harlequin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Eastbourne ,East Sussex ,UK
Posts: 4,723
Harlequin is a Super Spamming SaiyanHarlequin is a Super Spamming SaiyanHarlequin is a Super Spamming SaiyanHarlequin is a Super Spamming SaiyanHarlequin is a Super Spamming SaiyanHarlequin is a Super Spamming SaiyanHarlequin is a Super Spamming SaiyanHarlequin is a Super Spamming SaiyanHarlequin is a Super Spamming SaiyanHarlequin is a Super Spamming SaiyanHarlequin is a Super Spamming Saiyan
a complaint about pc gaming!

` we need better games` - ones that push hardware - so now its here , you want to complain the kit you have isnt good enough
__________________
i have a 3dfx voodoo5 6000
Harlequin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Dec 2012, 12:36   #77
Parge
ITX FTW
 
Parge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: London, UK
Posts: 9,474
Parge is a Super Spamming SaiyanParge is a Super Spamming SaiyanParge is a Super Spamming SaiyanParge is a Super Spamming SaiyanParge is a Super Spamming SaiyanParge is a Super Spamming SaiyanParge is a Super Spamming SaiyanParge is a Super Spamming SaiyanParge is a Super Spamming SaiyanParge is a Super Spamming SaiyanParge is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Harlequin View Post
a complaint about pc gaming!

` we need better games` - ones that push hardware - so now its here , you want to complain the kit you have isnt good enough
Like you, I want games that push hardware more than anything. However, Nvidias choice to only have 2GB vRAM on their top end cards was a big issue upon their release, and now it appears that the time has come where 2GB isn't enough at resolutions higher than 1080p.
__________________

Parvum ITX - 3570k - GTX 970 - Asus P8Z77-I ITX - 8GB Tactical Tracer - 256GB SSD - 480GB SSD - H80

29" Ultrawide, Oculus Rift & X52 Pro
Parge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Dec 2012, 12:45   #78
Spreadie
http://goo.gl/vNwEky
 
Spreadie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: an island in the south
Posts: 7,592
Spreadie is a Super Spamming SaiyanSpreadie is a Super Spamming SaiyanSpreadie is a Super Spamming SaiyanSpreadie is a Super Spamming SaiyanSpreadie is a Super Spamming SaiyanSpreadie is a Super Spamming SaiyanSpreadie is a Super Spamming SaiyanSpreadie is a Super Spamming SaiyanSpreadie is a Super Spamming SaiyanSpreadie is a Super Spamming SaiyanSpreadie is a Super Spamming Saiyan
It's hardly conclusive, but I've run Crysis 2 with the DX11 patch and high-res texture pack and all the pretties turned on at 2560x1600 - no issues. No slow down, no jerking/tearing.

I've just started playing Metro 2033 too, again at 1600p, with all the settings turned up. I'm about 8 hours into it, and haven't had any problems either.

This is on a stock 670 2gb with an i7 920 at 4.2GHz.

I don't doubt that there are situations where extra vram will be useful, but I haven't encountered them yet. Maybe pushing three screens will make a difference.
__________________
It is not "should of", "could of" or "would of". Educate yourself

2500K|Z77E-ITX|8GB|680|3007WFP-HC|DS Cube
Spreadie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Dec 2012, 13:00   #79
bdigital
Is re-building his PC again
 
bdigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 6,331
bdigital is definitely a rep cheat.bdigital is definitely a rep cheat.bdigital is definitely a rep cheat.bdigital is definitely a rep cheat.bdigital is definitely a rep cheat.bdigital is definitely a rep cheat.bdigital is definitely a rep cheat.bdigital is definitely a rep cheat.bdigital is definitely a rep cheat.bdigital is definitely a rep cheat.bdigital is definitely a rep cheat.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spreadie View Post
It's hardly conclusive, but I've run Crysis 2 with the DX11 patch and high-res texture pack and all the pretties turned on at 2560x1600 - no issues. No slow down, no jerking/tearing.

I've just started playing Metro 2033 too, again at 1600p, with all the settings turned up. I'm about 8 hours into it, and haven't had any problems either.

This is on a stock 670 2gb with an i7 920 at 4.2GHz.

I don't doubt that there are situations where extra vram will be useful, but I haven't encountered them yet. Maybe pushing three screens will make a difference.
Try far cry 3 on ultra, max res, all the pretties. Seems to give my rig a good test
__________________
My photography website: http://www.polarityphoto.co.uk Please share! || Follow me @polarityphoto on Twitter|| My Flickr ||Facebook||

Check out my Apline White TJ07 - Case Mod and Water cooled build. http://www.flickr.com/photos/6188486...7631486959032/
bdigital is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:32.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.