bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > Technology > Tech Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11th Dec 2012, 00:22   #1
TeenGeek
Would you like a fishie stick?
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Bainbridge Island
Posts: 97
TeenGeek can run CrysisTeenGeek can run CrysisTeenGeek can run CrysisTeenGeek can run CrysisTeenGeek can run CrysisTeenGeek can run CrysisTeenGeek can run CrysisTeenGeek can run CrysisTeenGeek can run CrysisTeenGeek can run CrysisTeenGeek can run Crysis
Changing Languages

Hello all, I need to study for my finals in Japanese, and it would be a great help to me if I could do that by typing all of the vocabulary onto Word, or quizlet, or something similar to that. The issue is that I can't figure out a good way to do that. My school uses Macs, but all we have at home is a PC. I am trying to figure out a way that will let me switch languages in a way that is similar to macs, e.g. click on something in my taskbar that will change the input language, but not the UI language.

Any help would be greatly appreciated! I may be being a bit thick right now, having not found a good solution, but I have been perusing the google for a couple of hours now...

Thanks!
__________________
Fractal Design DEFINE R4, 3 Noctua NF-14, Intel Core i7 3770k, Phanteks PH-TC14-PE, Asus P8Z77-V Deluxe, 2 Nvidia GTX 670, Asus Xonar D1, Seasonic X-Series 1K, 2x8GB gskill 2133mhz, 3TB barracuda, 256 OCZ Vertex 4
TeenGeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Dec 2012, 00:52   #2
TeenGeek
Would you like a fishie stick?
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Bainbridge Island
Posts: 97
TeenGeek can run CrysisTeenGeek can run CrysisTeenGeek can run CrysisTeenGeek can run CrysisTeenGeek can run CrysisTeenGeek can run CrysisTeenGeek can run CrysisTeenGeek can run CrysisTeenGeek can run CrysisTeenGeek can run CrysisTeenGeek can run Crysis
Changing Languages

Hello all, I need to study for my finals in Japanese, and it would be a great help to me if I could do that by typing all of the vocabulary onto Word, or quizlet, or something similar to that. The issue is that I can't figure out a good way to do that. My school uses Macs, but all we have at home is a PC. I am trying to figure out a way that will let me switch languages in a way that is similar to macs, e.g. click on something in my taskbar that will change the input language, but not the UI language.

Any help would be greatly appreciated! I may be being a bit thick right now, having not found a good solution, but I have been perusing the google for a couple of hours now...

Thanks!
__________________
Fractal Design DEFINE R4, 3 Noctua NF-14, Intel Core i7 3770k, Phanteks PH-TC14-PE, Asus P8Z77-V Deluxe, 2 Nvidia GTX 670, Asus Xonar D1, Seasonic X-Series 1K, 2x8GB gskill 2133mhz, 3TB barracuda, 256 OCZ Vertex 4
TeenGeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Dec 2012, 02:23   #3
GoodBytes
How many wifi's does it have?
 
GoodBytes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 12,126
GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
Assuming you are using Windows 8, it's simple.

1- Open the Language panel, found in the Control Panel. To open it quickly: Go to the Start Screen, type: Language, and select Settings, now click on Language. A panel will open.

2- One that panel, click on Add a language button, and select Japanese. Next to the clock, you'll notice "ENG" button/text appear. Click on it, and you can switch to Japanese input.
Then all you need to do, is set Word to the Japanese language. See the option panel of Word, under Language.

And your done.
__________________
Nv GPU Pro - Automate your graphic card overclock base on what you run, reduce power and noise. Designed for Laptops and Desktops. Filled with features.

Core i7 930 2.8GHz | G.Skill Pi 6GB 1600MHz 7-5-7-24 1.5V | Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD5 | GeForce GTX 260 | W.D Caviar Black 1TB | Corsair AX750 | Noctua NH-U12P | Xonar Essence STX | Win8 Pro 64-bit | Dell U2410 - 1920x1200 | OCZ Vertex 4 250GB
GoodBytes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Dec 2012, 02:57   #4
TeenGeek
Would you like a fishie stick?
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Bainbridge Island
Posts: 97
TeenGeek can run CrysisTeenGeek can run CrysisTeenGeek can run CrysisTeenGeek can run CrysisTeenGeek can run CrysisTeenGeek can run CrysisTeenGeek can run CrysisTeenGeek can run CrysisTeenGeek can run CrysisTeenGeek can run CrysisTeenGeek can run Crysis
Ah, right, forgot to say, I am using Windows 7, not 8, although 8 may be in the works soon.
__________________
Fractal Design DEFINE R4, 3 Noctua NF-14, Intel Core i7 3770k, Phanteks PH-TC14-PE, Asus P8Z77-V Deluxe, 2 Nvidia GTX 670, Asus Xonar D1, Seasonic X-Series 1K, 2x8GB gskill 2133mhz, 3TB barracuda, 256 OCZ Vertex 4
TeenGeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Dec 2012, 03:24   #5
GoodBytes
How many wifi's does it have?
 
GoodBytes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 12,126
GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
1- Start > type: languages > select: Region and Languages.
2- A panel will open. On that panel, go to the Keyboards and Languages tab. Than click on Change keyboards... button.
3- Another panel will open. From there, click on the Add button.
4- Another panel will open where you'll see a tree, go to and expand Japanese, and expand under it Keyboard.
5- Now, check the boxes: Japanese, and Microsoft IME.
6- Click on OK. Than on the previous panel, click on OK as well.

You should see "ENG" text next to your notification bar (next to the clock). Click on it, to switch languages.
__________________
Nv GPU Pro - Automate your graphic card overclock base on what you run, reduce power and noise. Designed for Laptops and Desktops. Filled with features.

Core i7 930 2.8GHz | G.Skill Pi 6GB 1600MHz 7-5-7-24 1.5V | Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD5 | GeForce GTX 260 | W.D Caviar Black 1TB | Corsair AX750 | Noctua NH-U12P | Xonar Essence STX | Win8 Pro 64-bit | Dell U2410 - 1920x1200 | OCZ Vertex 4 250GB
GoodBytes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Dec 2012, 07:30   #6
fdbh96
I *am* a Dremel
 
fdbh96's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,894
fdbh96 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.fdbh96 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.fdbh96 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.fdbh96 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.fdbh96 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.fdbh96 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.fdbh96 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.fdbh96 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.fdbh96 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.fdbh96 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.fdbh96 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
You can add dictionaries to word, but youll probably have to pay for japanese.

You could try OpenOffice, I used them when doing my french GCSE as it had grammar and spelling check.

Some info:
http://office.microsoft.com/en-gb/word-help/determine-if-you-need-a-language-pack-HA010243416.aspx
fdbh96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Dec 2012, 10:33   #7
ferret141
Ultramodder
 
ferret141's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Behind J00 sumware, London
Posts: 1,047
ferret141 is definitely a rep cheat.ferret141 is definitely a rep cheat.ferret141 is definitely a rep cheat.ferret141 is definitely a rep cheat.ferret141 is definitely a rep cheat.ferret141 is definitely a rep cheat.ferret141 is definitely a rep cheat.ferret141 is definitely a rep cheat.ferret141 is definitely a rep cheat.ferret141 is definitely a rep cheat.ferret141 is definitely a rep cheat.
おは世ございます チインギイクさん。

I assume you have Win7. Should be the same in Vista and Win8.
Start > Control Panel > Region and Language > Keybaords and Languages tab > Change keyboards... > Add... > Japanese (Japan) --> Keyboard --> Microsoft IME > OK > Apply > OK

Now you might get the language bar appear somewhere on the screen. You can minimise it so that it sits near the clock on the taskbar showing only an abbreviation of the language.

It should say EN for english. To change language press Alt+Shift. This will cycle it between and language keyboards you have active. If I'm not mistaken it will default to Katakana. Click once on the カ and select Hirigana. Now type away in Romaji and it will automatically convert into Hirigana.

Pressing Alt+ (basically the key left of 1) switches mode within the keyboard itself. Currently it switces between Hirigana/Katakana and Alpha-Numeric. I have yet to work out how to get it to switch between Hirigana and Katakana.
__________________
i5 2500K | Thermaltake Frio | 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance LP | ASUS P8P67 Pro | EVGA GTX680 2GB SC Signature 2 | Corsair AX1200 | 256GB OCZ Vertex 4 | 1.5TB Samsung F3 | 2TB WD Caviar Black | 3TB WD Red | SONY-NEC BD-5300S BD-RE | Silverstone Raven 2 Evolution (RV02E-BW USB3.0) | ASUS VG278H 3Dv2 | Win7 Ult. 64bit | Creative X-Fi Fatal1ty Platinum Champion Series | Speakers:Logitech G51 | Headset:Beyerdynamics DT770 Pro + ModMic 3.0 | Keyboard:Logitech G15 | Mouse:Logitech G9x
Plusnet | Loadout
ferret141 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Dec 2012, 10:44   #8
ferret141
Ultramodder
 
ferret141's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Behind J00 sumware, London
Posts: 1,047
ferret141 is definitely a rep cheat.ferret141 is definitely a rep cheat.ferret141 is definitely a rep cheat.ferret141 is definitely a rep cheat.ferret141 is definitely a rep cheat.ferret141 is definitely a rep cheat.ferret141 is definitely a rep cheat.ferret141 is definitely a rep cheat.ferret141 is definitely a rep cheat.ferret141 is definitely a rep cheat.ferret141 is definitely a rep cheat.
おは世ございます チインギイクさん。

You double posted TeenGeek. But no worries a moderator should merge the two at some point. I had already posted there. So I'll just paste in some extra info on top of what GoodBytes has already said.

*copy, paste & snip*................Now you might get the language bar appear somewhere on the screen. You can minimise it so that it sits near the clock on the taskbar showing only an abbreviation of the language. If it hasn't already located itself to the taskbar.

It should say EN for english. To change language press Alt+Shift. This will cycle it between and language keyboards you have active i.e. EN & JP.
If I'm not mistaken the JP keyboard will default to Katakana. Click once on the カ and select Hirigana. Now type away in Romaji and it will automatically convert into Hirigana.

Pressing Alt+ (basically the key left of 1) switches mode within the keyboard itself. Currently it switces between Hirigana/Katakana and Alpha-Numeric. I have yet to work out how to get it to switch between Hirigana and Katakana.
__________________
i5 2500K | Thermaltake Frio | 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance LP | ASUS P8P67 Pro | EVGA GTX680 2GB SC Signature 2 | Corsair AX1200 | 256GB OCZ Vertex 4 | 1.5TB Samsung F3 | 2TB WD Caviar Black | 3TB WD Red | SONY-NEC BD-5300S BD-RE | Silverstone Raven 2 Evolution (RV02E-BW USB3.0) | ASUS VG278H 3Dv2 | Win7 Ult. 64bit | Creative X-Fi Fatal1ty Platinum Champion Series | Speakers:Logitech G51 | Headset:Beyerdynamics DT770 Pro + ModMic 3.0 | Keyboard:Logitech G15 | Mouse:Logitech G9x
Plusnet | Loadout
ferret141 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Dec 2012, 23:53   #9
TeenGeek
Would you like a fishie stick?
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Bainbridge Island
Posts: 97
TeenGeek can run CrysisTeenGeek can run CrysisTeenGeek can run CrysisTeenGeek can run CrysisTeenGeek can run CrysisTeenGeek can run CrysisTeenGeek can run CrysisTeenGeek can run CrysisTeenGeek can run CrysisTeenGeek can run CrysisTeenGeek can run Crysis
Excellent!!! thank you all, I had IME, and japanese selected, and for some reason, that would not work. Anyway, it is working now, so thanks!
__________________
Fractal Design DEFINE R4, 3 Noctua NF-14, Intel Core i7 3770k, Phanteks PH-TC14-PE, Asus P8Z77-V Deluxe, 2 Nvidia GTX 670, Asus Xonar D1, Seasonic X-Series 1K, 2x8GB gskill 2133mhz, 3TB barracuda, 256 OCZ Vertex 4
TeenGeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th Dec 2012, 02:40   #10
GoodBytes
How many wifi's does it have?
 
GoodBytes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 12,126
GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
Awesome! Thanks for keeping us updated.
__________________
Nv GPU Pro - Automate your graphic card overclock base on what you run, reduce power and noise. Designed for Laptops and Desktops. Filled with features.

Core i7 930 2.8GHz | G.Skill Pi 6GB 1600MHz 7-5-7-24 1.5V | Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD5 | GeForce GTX 260 | W.D Caviar Black 1TB | Corsair AX750 | Noctua NH-U12P | Xonar Essence STX | Win8 Pro 64-bit | Dell U2410 - 1920x1200 | OCZ Vertex 4 250GB
GoodBytes is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:37.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.