bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > Technology > Hardware

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 16th Dec 2012, 21:32   #1
nry
Supermodder
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 509
nry has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Cooling AMD FX8150 in 2U case

Planned out my new PC and didn't really think much of the cooling side as being a bit of a Intel fan boy always run Xeon/i7 CPUs with the stock coolers inside a 2U case with no issue, usually pretty quiet too!

Anyway my new PC is:
AMD FX8150
Gigabyte GA990FXA-UD3
32GB DDR3 Corsair (this one which is fairly high! http://www.dabs.com/images/product/u...F3BB_large.jpg)

Anyway I currently have a Alpine 64 GT Rev.2 (http://www.arctic.ac/en/p/cooling/cp...-gt-rev.2.html) which dosen't have the cooling capacity to cope with this CPU (unless you drop a 120mm fan on top, but this is only a short term fix as I can't close the case!)

I have Scythe Shuriken Rev.B (http://quietpc.co.uk/shuriken) which I tried to fit
The clearance between the top of the fan and case is about 3-4mm
Also it dosen't fit due to the heatpipe end being a few mm too long and pushing into my tall ram modules

I looked at Scythe Kozuti Low Profile CPU Cooler, SCKZT-1000 (http://quietpc.co.uk/shuriken-big-2) but thats even bigger so wouldn't fit with the ram,

Then this Reeven Vanxie RC-0801 (http://quietpc.co.uk/rv-vanxie) again TDP is too low on this fan so would just overheat like my current cooler

I have also read that these chips can overheat with the standard cooler (which I don't have due to buying OEM) and assuming they wouldn't fit or not have enough clearance.

I am a little stuck on this one, my only solution I can think of is somehow attaching a 120mm fan to the Arctic GT cooler I have and hope that cools it

I currently feel like this about this project!

Any ideas anyone on this? Someone must have had similar issues with AMD chips

Cheers
nry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Dec 2012, 03:56   #2
SuicideNeil
I'm insane, not stupid.
 
SuicideNeil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Devon, England
Posts: 5,423
SuicideNeil is definitely a rep cheat.SuicideNeil is definitely a rep cheat.SuicideNeil is definitely a rep cheat.SuicideNeil is definitely a rep cheat.SuicideNeil is definitely a rep cheat.SuicideNeil is definitely a rep cheat.SuicideNeil is definitely a rep cheat.SuicideNeil is definitely a rep cheat.SuicideNeil is definitely a rep cheat.SuicideNeil is definitely a rep cheat.SuicideNeil is definitely a rep cheat.
If it's a new build can't you return the RAM and get the low profile version instead? With mobo layouts these days it seems pretty much anything other than a tiny cooler will foul atleast the first RAM slot, if not the 2nd too.
__________________
ASUS P8Z77-M PRO | INTEL CORE i5 2500K @ 4.3GHZ | EVGA GEFORCE GTX 670FTW | CORSAIR VENGENCE DDR3 1600MHZ 2x 4GB | SAMSUNG SPINPOINT F3 1TB | TITAN FENRIR | ACER PREDATOR | WIN 7PRO x64
SuicideNeil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Dec 2012, 04:17   #3
docodine
killed a guy once
 
docodine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Illinois
Posts: 5,071
docodine should be considered for presidentdocodine should be considered for presidentdocodine should be considered for presidentdocodine should be considered for presidentdocodine should be considered for presidentdocodine should be considered for presidentdocodine should be considered for presidentdocodine should be considered for presidentdocodine should be considered for presidentdocodine should be considered for presidentdocodine should be considered for president
remove the ram heatspreaders
docodine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Dec 2012, 14:28   #4
nry
Supermodder
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 509
nry has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
The other cooler I have Scythe Shuriken Rev.B, even if I do remove the heat spreaders the clearance to the top of the case is only a few mm which use to result in my Xeon processor overheating due to lack of air flow so this cooler is no good for a 2u case

If I were to go for a SCKZT-1000 I have a feeling the cooler would hit the ram even without heatspeaders!

Should have just bought intel like I always do lol!
nry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Dec 2012, 14:33   #5
Picarro
I Mod, Therefore I Own
 
Picarro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 3,331
Picarro is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Picarro is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Picarro is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Picarro is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Picarro is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Picarro is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Picarro is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Picarro is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Picarro is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Picarro is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Picarro is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.
Cut a hole in the top of the case and install a fan filter so your cooler can draw air from the outside?
__________________
Intel Core i5 2500k @ 5gHz -:- Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H-B3 -:- 2x4 gbCorsair Vengeance 1,5v 1600mHz -:- Gigabyte Windforce X3 GTX 670 -:- Crucial M4 128 gb -:- Samsung F3 Spinpoint 640 gb -:- Corsair H60 with 2x Gentle Typhoon 1850 in push-pull -:- Corsair HX650 -:- Lian Li A05FN -:- Dell U2410 flanked by 2x Dell U2001FP -:- BenQ W1000+ -:-
Picarro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Dec 2012, 14:35   #6
nry
Supermodder
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 509
nry has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Theres another 2u case on top

EDIT: infact the whole rack is pretty full
nry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Dec 2012, 14:52   #7
mrbungle
Undercooked chicken giver
 
mrbungle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: UK-Wolverhampton
Posts: 4,035
mrbungle is definitely a rep cheat.mrbungle is definitely a rep cheat.mrbungle is definitely a rep cheat.mrbungle is definitely a rep cheat.mrbungle is definitely a rep cheat.mrbungle is definitely a rep cheat.mrbungle is definitely a rep cheat.mrbungle is definitely a rep cheat.mrbungle is definitely a rep cheat.mrbungle is definitely a rep cheat.mrbungle is definitely a rep cheat.
Xigmatek Prateon LD964?

Ive used Xigmatek stuff in the past and its been great.
__________________
//FX8350 4.5GHZ//Asus M5A99X EVO//8gb DDR3//HD7870//TX850W//120gb 840 SSD//Xonar DG//
mrbungle is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Dec 2012, 15:06   #8
nry
Supermodder
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 509
nry has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
I did look at that, but looks like it can't handle a 125w cpu

http://www.hardwaresecrets.com/artic...-Review/1562/6

The AMD chip max temp is 61oC I think
nry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Dec 2012, 16:13   #9
mrbungle
Undercooked chicken giver
 
mrbungle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: UK-Wolverhampton
Posts: 4,035
mrbungle is definitely a rep cheat.mrbungle is definitely a rep cheat.mrbungle is definitely a rep cheat.mrbungle is definitely a rep cheat.mrbungle is definitely a rep cheat.mrbungle is definitely a rep cheat.mrbungle is definitely a rep cheat.mrbungle is definitely a rep cheat.mrbungle is definitely a rep cheat.mrbungle is definitely a rep cheat.mrbungle is definitely a rep cheat.
Yeah it looked a bit weedy.

I think you are going to be struggling as its a 125w cpu.

Zalman VF2000 supports 125w phenom 2 x4's I think

http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/coo...d_7.html#sect0
__________________
//FX8350 4.5GHZ//Asus M5A99X EVO//8gb DDR3//HD7870//TX850W//120gb 840 SSD//Xonar DG//
mrbungle is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Dec 2012, 16:41   #10
Picarro
I Mod, Therefore I Own
 
Picarro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 3,331
Picarro is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Picarro is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Picarro is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Picarro is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Picarro is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Picarro is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Picarro is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Picarro is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Picarro is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Picarro is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Picarro is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.
Quote:
Originally Posted by nry View Post
Theres another 2u case on top

EDIT: infact the whole rack is pretty full
Hmm, you can't have 1 U of space inbetween them? Otherwise, watercooling?
__________________
Intel Core i5 2500k @ 5gHz -:- Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H-B3 -:- 2x4 gbCorsair Vengeance 1,5v 1600mHz -:- Gigabyte Windforce X3 GTX 670 -:- Crucial M4 128 gb -:- Samsung F3 Spinpoint 640 gb -:- Corsair H60 with 2x Gentle Typhoon 1850 in push-pull -:- Corsair HX650 -:- Lian Li A05FN -:- Dell U2410 flanked by 2x Dell U2001FP -:- BenQ W1000+ -:-
Picarro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Dec 2012, 17:27   #11
nry
Supermodder
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 509
nry has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrbungle View Post
Yeah it looked a bit weedy.

I think you are going to be struggling as its a 125w cpu.

Zalman VF2000 supports 125w phenom 2 x4's I think

http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/coo...d_7.html#sect0
Looks interesting! Quick search returns no one sells them though, typical

Quote:
Originally Posted by Picarro View Post
Hmm, you can't have 1 U of space inbetween them? Otherwise, watercooling?
Not really, running out of space very quickly as it is, also bit reluctant to cut holes in a case that cost me just short of 200 too!

Watercooling could be a possibility, but not sure there are any pre built units with 80mm radiators
Don't really want to go down the separates route as that would cost me as much as selling everything and just buying a intel setup!
nry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Dec 2012, 23:06   #12
atc95
Need help with scratchbuild!
 
atc95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Berkshire
Posts: 958
atc95 is definitely a rep cheat.atc95 is definitely a rep cheat.atc95 is definitely a rep cheat.atc95 is definitely a rep cheat.atc95 is definitely a rep cheat.atc95 is definitely a rep cheat.atc95 is definitely a rep cheat.atc95 is definitely a rep cheat.atc95 is definitely a rep cheat.atc95 is definitely a rep cheat.atc95 is definitely a rep cheat.
I think watercooling would be your best bet for a 125w cpu. I am currently planning a case mod into an old xbox (64mm height) and have found a dual 92mm radiator, pump and waterblock combined and reservoir that fit. Although the reservoir is external. The waterblock is the swiftech apogee drive II if you are interested.
Otherwise you could consider the noctua l12, just need to find a slimmer 120mm fan e.g. in depth as the cooler as it stands is 93mm including both fans. It supports 95w tdp but bit-tech just tested it on an oc'd 2600k with pretty decent temperatures
__________________
[SIZE="2"][CENTER]i5 3550 //Asus P8Z77-VLX2 //Gigabyte windforce 7950 // 2x4gb C. Vengeance and 2x4gb Samsung Greens // samsung 256gb 830 // 750gb scorpio black // Corsair Carbide 300R // enermax ets t40 tb //Corsair CX 750W // Dell u2412m[SIZE="2"][CENTER]
atc95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Dec 2012, 00:02   #13
nry
Supermodder
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 509
nry has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Not too sure where I would mount a 92mm fan though, the case is only 88mm high!
Air pulled in from the front and pushed out the back, no holes top or bottom
nry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Dec 2012, 10:56   #14
mm vr
The cheesecake is a lie
 
mm vr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Finland
Posts: 2,968
mm vr - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!mm vr - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!mm vr - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!mm vr - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!mm vr - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!mm vr - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!mm vr - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!mm vr - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!mm vr - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!mm vr - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!mm vr - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!
Heatsinks that fit into 2U cases are too small. The solution is to crank up the fan. 2U servers are very loud precisely for this reason.

Also, pics of your racks?
__________________
Intel Core i5 3570K @ 4.5GHz || Thermalright Ultra 120 eXtreme || Gigabyte GA-Z77-D3H || 2x 8GB Corsair Vengeance LP DDR3 1600MHz CL10 || Radeon 4870 512MB || AC Accelero Twin Turbo Pro || Asus Xonar DX || Samsung 830 128GB || 2x WD Blue 640GB || Corsair HX620 || Antec P182 || Samsung SM 2232 + 2233 || Windows Server 2012
mm vr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Dec 2012, 11:09   #15
Picarro
I Mod, Therefore I Own
 
Picarro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 3,331
Picarro is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Picarro is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Picarro is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Picarro is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Picarro is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Picarro is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Picarro is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Picarro is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Picarro is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Picarro is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.Picarro is a hoopy frood who really knows where their towel is.
Quote:
Originally Posted by nry View Post
Not too sure where I would mount a 92mm fan though, the case is only 88mm high!
Air pulled in from the front and pushed out the back, no holes top or bottom
You could whack in a 120mm slim Corsair all in one cooler and just tilt the entire radiator assembly? That would give you a wierd from of airflow, but should in theory work as long as you have decent venting in the case. Would also require some form of custom mount to keep it in place..
__________________
Intel Core i5 2500k @ 5gHz -:- Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H-B3 -:- 2x4 gbCorsair Vengeance 1,5v 1600mHz -:- Gigabyte Windforce X3 GTX 670 -:- Crucial M4 128 gb -:- Samsung F3 Spinpoint 640 gb -:- Corsair H60 with 2x Gentle Typhoon 1850 in push-pull -:- Corsair HX650 -:- Lian Li A05FN -:- Dell U2410 flanked by 2x Dell U2001FP -:- BenQ W1000+ -:-
Picarro is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 19:03.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.