bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > Technology > Tech Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 20th Dec 2012, 19:36   #1
atc95
I have the upgrade bug!
 
atc95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Berkshire
Posts: 1,159
atc95 is definitely a rep cheat.atc95 is definitely a rep cheat.atc95 is definitely a rep cheat.atc95 is definitely a rep cheat.atc95 is definitely a rep cheat.atc95 is definitely a rep cheat.atc95 is definitely a rep cheat.atc95 is definitely a rep cheat.atc95 is definitely a rep cheat.atc95 is definitely a rep cheat.atc95 is definitely a rep cheat.
Faulty ram?

I have the ram in my sig and have recently upgraded from 2x4gb to 4x4gb of the same memory.

Occasionally I now get blue screens as well as several programs crashing which suggests that one of these sticks is faulty. I have removed one dimm and the pc seems to be fine but is there a conclusive way to check if it is faulty. Especially as I am still within the 30 day return on amazon.

Thanks in advance
atc95
__________________
PC: It's a work in progress, but isn't it always...

Check me out on twitch at https://www.twitch.tv/digitalbacongaming
atc95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Dec 2012, 20:32   #2
LennyRhys
Fan Fan
 
LennyRhys's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Dundee, Scotland
Posts: 5,084
LennyRhys is a Super Spamming SaiyanLennyRhys is a Super Spamming SaiyanLennyRhys is a Super Spamming SaiyanLennyRhys is a Super Spamming SaiyanLennyRhys is a Super Spamming SaiyanLennyRhys is a Super Spamming SaiyanLennyRhys is a Super Spamming SaiyanLennyRhys is a Super Spamming SaiyanLennyRhys is a Super Spamming SaiyanLennyRhys is a Super Spamming SaiyanLennyRhys is a Super Spamming Saiyan
The only way to ascertain a fault with one of your memory modules is to test them individually.

Unfortunately this is time-consuming, but it's worth trying.

You will need to burn Memtest 86+ to CD and boot from it, and the test will start automatically.

If a memory module can pass 3 times in succession, it's fine.
__________________
Xeon X5650 @ 4.3GHz | X58-UD7 Rev 2.0 | 24GB HyperX Blu | EVGA GTX780Ti CLASSIFIED | Toughpower XT 775W | Dell U3014
LennyRhys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Dec 2012, 22:02   #3
atc95
I have the upgrade bug!
 
atc95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Berkshire
Posts: 1,159
atc95 is definitely a rep cheat.atc95 is definitely a rep cheat.atc95 is definitely a rep cheat.atc95 is definitely a rep cheat.atc95 is definitely a rep cheat.atc95 is definitely a rep cheat.atc95 is definitely a rep cheat.atc95 is definitely a rep cheat.atc95 is definitely a rep cheat.atc95 is definitely a rep cheat.atc95 is definitely a rep cheat.
Ok thanks, do you know if it is possible to return just the one faulty module or do i would have to return both 4gb modules, if it does end up being faulty? I would have thought amazon could ship out a single 4gb replacement If i were to give the faulty one back with the packaging.
__________________
PC: It's a work in progress, but isn't it always...

Check me out on twitch at https://www.twitch.tv/digitalbacongaming
atc95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Dec 2012, 22:04   #4
LennyRhys
Fan Fan
 
LennyRhys's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Dundee, Scotland
Posts: 5,084
LennyRhys is a Super Spamming SaiyanLennyRhys is a Super Spamming SaiyanLennyRhys is a Super Spamming SaiyanLennyRhys is a Super Spamming SaiyanLennyRhys is a Super Spamming SaiyanLennyRhys is a Super Spamming SaiyanLennyRhys is a Super Spamming SaiyanLennyRhys is a Super Spamming SaiyanLennyRhys is a Super Spamming SaiyanLennyRhys is a Super Spamming SaiyanLennyRhys is a Super Spamming Saiyan
If one was faulty you'd have to send back the pair as you bought them and they would send you out a new pair.
__________________
Xeon X5650 @ 4.3GHz | X58-UD7 Rev 2.0 | 24GB HyperX Blu | EVGA GTX780Ti CLASSIFIED | Toughpower XT 775W | Dell U3014
LennyRhys is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 23:39.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.