bit-tech.net

Old 26th Dec 2012, 00:29   #1
debs3759
Was that a warranty I just broke?
 
debs3759's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Northampton
Posts: 1,604
debs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyandebs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyandebs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyandebs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyandebs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyandebs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyandebs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyandebs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyandebs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyandebs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyandebs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Multi-GPU folding

If I add extra GPUs to my folding machines (I have a GTX 295 and a GTX 460/768MB I can add, depending how many extra power cables I can find), do they still need dummmy plugs, or can I just stick them in the system(s) and set the clients up? I use V7 under Windows 7 on one system and XP on the other (can upgrade that to 7 if it makes a difference, just don't like being constantly told it's a dodgy copy). I've found the power cables for the XP system, and should find them for the other system in the next day or two (too many boxes everywher and no room to sort thing!).

Also, will the 295 fold as two GPUs, needing two extra folding slots, or will v7 see it as a single card and use both GPUs in one slot? Makes little, if any, difference right now, but if they bring in QRBs for GPUs it will make a big difference
__________________


HeatWare
debs3759 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Dec 2012, 11:22   #2
TaRkA DaHl
I *am* a Dremel
 
TaRkA DaHl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,635
TaRkA DaHl is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.TaRkA DaHl is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.TaRkA DaHl is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.TaRkA DaHl is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.TaRkA DaHl is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.TaRkA DaHl is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.TaRkA DaHl is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.TaRkA DaHl is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.TaRkA DaHl is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.TaRkA DaHl is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.TaRkA DaHl is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
I don't know about XP, but in 7 using v7 you don't need plugs.
TaRkA DaHl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Dec 2012, 11:30   #3
kirk46
Cheesecake Nom Nom
 
kirk46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: south yorkshire
Posts: 1,238
kirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyan
im sure ive red that GPU's with different architecture dont fold well anymore

when im folding with my GTX480 and GTX560 one of then take a serious ppd hit... but if i fold on them separately there fine

V7 will detect the different card automatically
__________________
3770k @ 4.8GHz, 7970 OC'd, Custom loop,
kirk46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Dec 2012, 15:31   #4
debs3759
Was that a warranty I just broke?
 
debs3759's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Northampton
Posts: 1,604
debs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyandebs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyandebs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyandebs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyandebs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyandebs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyandebs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyandebs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyandebs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyandebs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyandebs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Thanks guys. I found some more info at the f@a forums as well. I'll be trying it out over the next couple of days
__________________


HeatWare
debs3759 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Dec 2012, 09:03   #5
DocJonz
Another CPC refugee .....
 
DocJonz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The North
Posts: 763
DocJonz - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!DocJonz - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!DocJonz - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!DocJonz - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!DocJonz - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!DocJonz - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!DocJonz - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!DocJonz - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!DocJonz - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!DocJonz - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!DocJonz - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!
I'd echo the comments above;
- Dummy plugs haven't been required with the newer clients for quite some time (even the newer v6 client)
- Mixing GPU's in the same machine is possible, but, they usually don't work as well as if in separate machines.
- The 295 should be picked up as two GPU's, but since I don't have one, I can't confirm that.
__________________
Folding stats
Folding Farm Stats (HFM): http://www.docjonz.net/summary.html
DocJonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Dec 2012, 11:40   #6
StreetSam
Supermodder
 
StreetSam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Essex
Posts: 264
StreetSam has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by DocJonz View Post
Mixing GPU's in the same machine is possible, but, they usually don't work as well as if in separate machines.
- The 295 should be picked up as two GPU's, but since I don't have one, I can't confirm that.
You shouldn't mix GPUs of a different family (Fermi, Kepler etc.), it still causes big problems. The 295 will show up as two GPUs but not for long. I've had three of them Folding, all blew up under the stain. In fact all of that generation (280, 285 etc.) where well known for destroying themselves.
__________________
Folding stats
Current Folding@Home stats
StreetSam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Dec 2012, 12:34   #7
debs3759
Was that a warranty I just broke?
 
debs3759's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Northampton
Posts: 1,604
debs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyandebs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyandebs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyandebs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyandebs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyandebs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyandebs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyandebs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyandebs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyandebs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyandebs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyan
I'm not concerned if the card blows up, as long as I get a few days out of it

To get the 295 working alongside the 680, I had to do the following:

Run the client
At the top of the log, it lists the GPUs in the order the clients see them. I took a note of that.
I ran GPU-Z, and noted that it sees the cards in the opposite order (It's fah that has the order wrong)
I edited the setings for the existing gpu slot and added two more.
In each slot, I set the gpu index to the index shown by fah
I then set the cuda and opencl indeces to the settings shown by gpuz

I restarted the clients and all are folding correctly. I'll know soon if they give me proper points
__________________


HeatWare
debs3759 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Dec 2012, 14:53   #8
StreetSam
Supermodder
 
StreetSam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Essex
Posts: 264
StreetSam has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by debs3759 View Post
I'm not concerned if the card blows up, as long as I get a few days out of it
I was, they were "top of the hill" when I folded with them That is why I only do it on a lot of "cheap" cards now, so I don't cry when one dies.

Have you tried stopping the client and restarting it? Does it remember the order of the cards? I have a feeling that it doesn't and that is the problem.
__________________
Folding stats
Current Folding@Home stats
StreetSam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Dec 2012, 16:46   #9
debs3759
Was that a warranty I just broke?
 
debs3759's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Northampton
Posts: 1,604
debs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyandebs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyandebs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyandebs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyandebs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyandebs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyandebs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyandebs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyandebs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyandebs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyandebs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Quote:
Originally Posted by StreetSam View Post
Have you tried stopping the client and restarting it? Does it remember the order of the cards? I have a feeling that it doesn't and that is the problem.
Yes, and yes so far. I rarely turn my working computers off or reboot them. I don't think that will be a problem with v7 though as it uses a config file to save all the settings. I restarted it 4 times just to be sure, and so far I'm confident that it is working. Not sure yet if it's worth the extra work, but every little counts
__________________


HeatWare
debs3759 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Jan 2013, 20:55   #10
kirk46
Cheesecake Nom Nom
 
kirk46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: south yorkshire
Posts: 1,238
kirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyankirk46 is a Super Spamming Saiyan
debs...

can you explain how you configured v7 to display the correct GPU names as my GTX680 and GTX480 are opposite lol

cheers
__________________
3770k @ 4.8GHz, 7970 OC'd, Custom loop,
kirk46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th Jan 2013, 22:44   #11
Votick
My CPU's hot but my core runs cold.
 
Votick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Cambridgeshire
Posts: 1,926
Votick is a Super Spamming SaiyanVotick is a Super Spamming SaiyanVotick is a Super Spamming SaiyanVotick is a Super Spamming SaiyanVotick is a Super Spamming SaiyanVotick is a Super Spamming SaiyanVotick is a Super Spamming SaiyanVotick is a Super Spamming SaiyanVotick is a Super Spamming SaiyanVotick is a Super Spamming SaiyanVotick is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Can you guys tell me if I need to play around with the v7 client to get my kelper cards working? Been a long time since I used it.

Going to try get them folding soon.
__________________

THE KRAKEN
Intel Xeon X5670 X2 (12C 24T) | 196GB DDR3 | 128GB SSD X2 RAID0
500GB WD Velociraptor X2 RAID 0 | Nvidia Geforce GTX670 | Creative SoundBlaster Fatal1ty Pro | Intel® X540 10GBe Ethernet Dual NIC
Votick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Jan 2013, 15:22   #12
debs3759
Was that a warranty I just broke?
 
debs3759's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Northampton
Posts: 1,604
debs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyandebs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyandebs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyandebs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyandebs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyandebs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyandebs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyandebs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyandebs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyandebs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyandebs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Quote:
Originally Posted by kirk46 View Post
debs...

can you explain how you configured v7 to display the correct GPU names as my GTX680 and GTX480 are opposite lol

cheers
How I did it was:

Run the v7 app. Check in the log to see the number given to each card, and log that.
Run gpu-z, and check the number against each card in that.
Configure v7 for each slot. Give gpu-index the number given by the client for each card
Give opencl-index and cuda-index the number given by gpu-z for each card.

fah lists the cards in the wrong order (eg, I have a GTX 680 in slot 1 one and a GTX 295 in slot 5. FAH has the 295 as using index 0 and 1 and the 680 as index 2, where gpu-z correctly lists the 680 as index 0)

If that's not clear enough, I'll t ry to give a better explanation
__________________


HeatWare
debs3759 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th Jan 2013, 15:24   #13
debs3759
Was that a warranty I just broke?
 
debs3759's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Northampton
Posts: 1,604
debs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyandebs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyandebs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyandebs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyandebs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyandebs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyandebs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyandebs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyandebs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyandebs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyandebs3759 is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Votick View Post
Can you guys tell me if I need to play around with the v7 client to get my kelper cards working? Been a long time since I used it.

Going to try get them folding soon.
If you are using the latest v7 it will detect and use the 680. It will say it has a GF114 GPU, but will know it is a 680 and not Fermi. It's not yet optimised for Kepler, but folds fine without any complicated configuration.
__________________


HeatWare
debs3759 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 13:03.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.