bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > Technology > Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 8th Jan 2013, 12:13   #1
loftie
I *am* a Dremel
 
loftie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,677
loftie is a Super Spamming Saiyanloftie is a Super Spamming Saiyanloftie is a Super Spamming Saiyanloftie is a Super Spamming Saiyanloftie is a Super Spamming Saiyanloftie is a Super Spamming Saiyanloftie is a Super Spamming Saiyanloftie is a Super Spamming Saiyanloftie is a Super Spamming Saiyanloftie is a Super Spamming Saiyanloftie is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Windows Junctions

When I first got my SSD, I used a junction to move my temp folder from the SSD to a mechanical drive. I used a program - can't remember which one - to move it over. Now everything worked fine, the temp folder works, things are being written to the mechanical drive.

However I've been having issues with Plex. If you don't know what Plex is, think XBMC, or Media Centre. It's not been using artwork stored on my PC, even though it's downloaded it. Trawling through the error logs, I discovered that Plex could not find the Temp folder. Moving the Temp folder back to my SSD fixed the issue.

From what I understand of junctions, it's supposed to create a link which I thought was 'invisible' to programs. Which is why when I open any of the my junction folders, the address stays as on the C drive ( My SSD ) and doesn't switch to D ( Mechanical ).

Basically, I'm after a bit of clarification, and if anyone has any ideas why this one program doesn't find the temp folder if it's a junction.

Cheers all.
__________________
Sent from my PC using a keyboard
loftie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Jan 2013, 13:27   #2
Zoon
Hunting Wabbits since the 80s
 
Zoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Somewhere near a dremel in Bristol
Posts: 3,083
Zoon is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Zoon is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Zoon is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Zoon is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Zoon is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Zoon is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Zoon is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Zoon is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Zoon is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Zoon is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Zoon is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
Not sure about the junction issue, but try moving the TEMP folder by using Path to point it to your mechanical drive instead.
__________________
Datacentre architect and engineer extraordinaire. Maybe.
Zoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Jan 2013, 11:42   #3
loftie
I *am* a Dremel
 
loftie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,677
loftie is a Super Spamming Saiyanloftie is a Super Spamming Saiyanloftie is a Super Spamming Saiyanloftie is a Super Spamming Saiyanloftie is a Super Spamming Saiyanloftie is a Super Spamming Saiyanloftie is a Super Spamming Saiyanloftie is a Super Spamming Saiyanloftie is a Super Spamming Saiyanloftie is a Super Spamming Saiyanloftie is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Thanks for the response! Though you're going to have to explain what you mean as I have no idea

Cheers
__________________
Sent from my PC using a keyboard
loftie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Jan 2013, 15:12   #4
law99
Custom User Title
 
law99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Bournemouth
Posts: 2,083
law99 is definitely a rep cheat.law99 is definitely a rep cheat.law99 is definitely a rep cheat.law99 is definitely a rep cheat.law99 is definitely a rep cheat.law99 is definitely a rep cheat.law99 is definitely a rep cheat.law99 is definitely a rep cheat.law99 is definitely a rep cheat.law99 is definitely a rep cheat.law99 is definitely a rep cheat.
The temp folder is one I'd rather have on the SSD myself... but I understand why you wouldn't want it there either.

Still... there is a difference between the types of links you can make. There is hardlink also... these are the transparent ones... and you'd use mklink to make one.

Could you use the old software to move it back and try again making sure it's a hardlink? Either with the same software or with mklink.

mklink instructions

mklink /h /j [link] [target]
__________________
3570k WC @ 4.7giggles | 8gb Kingston 2133mhz | ASUS Sabertooth Z77 | R9 290 (awaiting wc block... ) | Seasonic x-660w | NZXT 810 switch | Crucial M4 128gb | 2x F3 1tb Raid 1 | NZXT Sentry 6ch 50w fan controller | BenQ bl3200pt 2560x1440p
law99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Jan 2013, 15:30   #5
faugusztin
I *am* the guy with two left hands
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia
Posts: 5,923
faugusztin is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.faugusztin is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.faugusztin is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.faugusztin is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.faugusztin is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.faugusztin is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.faugusztin is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.faugusztin is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.faugusztin is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.faugusztin is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.faugusztin is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
The only reason i would move something out of SSD is the case when there is not enough space on the drive. Any other reason is not logical - pretty much every SSD has their official lifetime around 200TB of writes - even at 5GB/hour write rate we talk about 40000 hours = 1666 days = 4.5 years of 24/7 write of 5GB data. In a more realistic scenario of 10 hours of computer use per day it is over 11 years.

And those are only the official numbers - there are few brave people who are testing the durability of various SSD drives, in most cases (except ones failing prematurely, mostly OCZ) you see write amounts from 400TB to 1000TB, with the champion Samsung 830 reaching 6PB (6000TB) before dying, and even Samsung 840 with TLC did 432.92 TB :
http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...s-34nm/page218

400TB, 5GB writes per hour, 10 hours of use per day - that is 21 years to kill the SSD by using up all the writes.

So please forget pretty much every SSD optimization you ever heard except turning AHCI on and connecting the SSD to the quickest SATA port you got. Those are the only ones you need to follow.
faugusztin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Jan 2013, 15:41   #6
law99
Custom User Title
 
law99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Bournemouth
Posts: 2,083
law99 is definitely a rep cheat.law99 is definitely a rep cheat.law99 is definitely a rep cheat.law99 is definitely a rep cheat.law99 is definitely a rep cheat.law99 is definitely a rep cheat.law99 is definitely a rep cheat.law99 is definitely a rep cheat.law99 is definitely a rep cheat.law99 is definitely a rep cheat.law99 is definitely a rep cheat.
Quote:
Originally Posted by faugusztin View Post
The only reason i would move something out of SSD is the case when there is not enough space on the drive. Any other reason is not logical - pretty much every SSD has their official lifetime around 200TB of writes - even at 5GB/hour write rate we talk about 40000 hours = 1666 days = 4.5 years of 24/7 write of 5GB data. In a more realistic scenario of 10 hours of computer use per day it is over 11 years.

And those are only the official numbers - there are few brave people who are testing the durability of various SSD drives, in most cases (except ones failing prematurely, mostly OCZ) you see write amounts from 400TB to 1000TB, with the champion Samsung 830 reaching 6PB (6000TB) before dying, and even Samsung 840 with TLC did 432.92 TB :
http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...s-34nm/page218

400TB, 5GB writes per hour, 10 hours of use per day - that is 21 years to kill the SSD by using up all the writes.

So please forget pretty much every SSD optimization you ever heard except turning AHCI on and connecting the SSD to the quickest SATA port you got. Those are the only ones you need to follow.
+1 for that.
__________________
3570k WC @ 4.7giggles | 8gb Kingston 2133mhz | ASUS Sabertooth Z77 | R9 290 (awaiting wc block... ) | Seasonic x-660w | NZXT 810 switch | Crucial M4 128gb | 2x F3 1tb Raid 1 | NZXT Sentry 6ch 50w fan controller | BenQ bl3200pt 2560x1440p
law99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Jan 2013, 20:39   #7
Zoon
Hunting Wabbits since the 80s
 
Zoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Somewhere near a dremel in Bristol
Posts: 3,083
Zoon is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Zoon is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Zoon is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Zoon is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Zoon is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Zoon is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Zoon is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Zoon is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Zoon is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Zoon is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.Zoon is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
Quote:
Originally Posted by faugusztin View Post
So please forget pretty much every SSD optimization you ever heard except turning AHCI on and connecting the SSD to the quickest SATA port you got. Those are the only ones you need to follow.
And enabling TRIM
__________________
Datacentre architect and engineer extraordinaire. Maybe.
Zoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Jan 2013, 23:23   #8
loftie
I *am* a Dremel
 
loftie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,677
loftie is a Super Spamming Saiyanloftie is a Super Spamming Saiyanloftie is a Super Spamming Saiyanloftie is a Super Spamming Saiyanloftie is a Super Spamming Saiyanloftie is a Super Spamming Saiyanloftie is a Super Spamming Saiyanloftie is a Super Spamming Saiyanloftie is a Super Spamming Saiyanloftie is a Super Spamming Saiyanloftie is a Super Spamming Saiyan
I'll retry the links again. From what I remember, the reason why I moved it off the SSD in the first place was to do with video transcoding. But since I've been fairly busy lately I haven't done any lately so I can't remember! Cheers for the responses
__________________
Sent from my PC using a keyboard
loftie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th Jan 2013, 13:52   #9
Showerhead
Ultramodder
 
Showerhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland
Posts: 1,110
Showerhead can run CrysisShowerhead can run CrysisShowerhead can run CrysisShowerhead can run CrysisShowerhead can run CrysisShowerhead can run CrysisShowerhead can run CrysisShowerhead can run CrysisShowerhead can run CrysisShowerhead can run CrysisShowerhead can run Crysis
Assuming you mean the user temp folder i found moving it through environment variables under advanced system settings solved most issues for me.
Showerhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th Jan 2013, 16:20   #10
loftie
I *am* a Dremel
 
loftie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,677
loftie is a Super Spamming Saiyanloftie is a Super Spamming Saiyanloftie is a Super Spamming Saiyanloftie is a Super Spamming Saiyanloftie is a Super Spamming Saiyanloftie is a Super Spamming Saiyanloftie is a Super Spamming Saiyanloftie is a Super Spamming Saiyanloftie is a Super Spamming Saiyanloftie is a Super Spamming Saiyanloftie is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Showerhead View Post
Assuming you mean the user temp folder i found moving it through environment variables under advanced system settings solved most issues for me.
Didn't know that was an option, learn something new every day Thanks for that
__________________
Sent from my PC using a keyboard
loftie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
junctions, ssd, temp

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:04.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.