bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > Technology > Tech Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 17th Jan 2013, 00:10   #1
kol
Supermodder
 
kol's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Montrose
Posts: 324
kol has yet to learn the way of the Dremelkol has yet to learn the way of the Dremelkol has yet to learn the way of the Dremelkol has yet to learn the way of the Dremelkol has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Weird wireless problem

Hey, me again lol xD. It seems im now having network issues, the problem is im connected to a Sky router using a USB wireless dongle of 150MBps. The Sky router also supports this speed, now my girlfriend who is on her laptop in the same room as me, is getting alot better Mbps than me. Shes getting around 70-100MBps, and im only getting 14.5-29mbps. How is this possible?

Ive tried diffrent channels, and ive also tried diffrent encryption methods. Any help would be great xD

thankles.
__________________
Intel Core i5 3570K @ 4.2GHz | ASUS P8Z77-V LX2 | 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tactical Tracer 1600MHz | NVIDIA GeForce GTX670 980MHz/1510MHz/1059MHz | Xonar DS
kol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Jan 2013, 00:55   #2
GregTheRotter
I Mod, Therefore I Own
 
GregTheRotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Henley on Thames
Posts: 4,254
GregTheRotter is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GregTheRotter is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GregTheRotter is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GregTheRotter is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GregTheRotter is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GregTheRotter is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GregTheRotter is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GregTheRotter is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GregTheRotter is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GregTheRotter is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GregTheRotter is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
Perhaps the wireless router, is a new router, which means chances are it is a Wireless N router, meaning it supports speeds faster than 150mb/s. Her laptop might also support N router speeds and thus will have better range and speed than you.
__________________
Main rig: i5 4670k, 8gb 1600mhz ram, Asus Z87-A, Crucial m4 250gb SSD 2 x EVGA GTX 670 in SLI, Dell U2711, Nec 20WGX2, Asus VG248 24" 144hz monitor
Photography gear; Nikon D700, Nikon 24-70 AF-S, Nikon 70-200 F2.8 VR II, Nikon 35mm F2 D,Nikon 50mm 1.8D, Nikon 85mm 1.8D, Micro Nikkor 105 f2.8 AI-S, Nikon SB-900,
GregTheRotter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Jan 2013, 14:38   #3
kol
Supermodder
 
kol's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Montrose
Posts: 324
kol has yet to learn the way of the Dremelkol has yet to learn the way of the Dremelkol has yet to learn the way of the Dremelkol has yet to learn the way of the Dremelkol has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
I looked up the router model and it appears to output 150mbps as its max speed. My dongle also supports b g and n.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
__________________
Intel Core i5 3570K @ 4.2GHz | ASUS P8Z77-V LX2 | 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tactical Tracer 1600MHz | NVIDIA GeForce GTX670 980MHz/1510MHz/1059MHz | Xonar DS
kol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Jan 2013, 15:09   #4
GregTheRotter
I Mod, Therefore I Own
 
GregTheRotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Henley on Thames
Posts: 4,254
GregTheRotter is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GregTheRotter is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GregTheRotter is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GregTheRotter is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GregTheRotter is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GregTheRotter is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GregTheRotter is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GregTheRotter is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GregTheRotter is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GregTheRotter is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GregTheRotter is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
Poor quality dongle??
__________________
Main rig: i5 4670k, 8gb 1600mhz ram, Asus Z87-A, Crucial m4 250gb SSD 2 x EVGA GTX 670 in SLI, Dell U2711, Nec 20WGX2, Asus VG248 24" 144hz monitor
Photography gear; Nikon D700, Nikon 24-70 AF-S, Nikon 70-200 F2.8 VR II, Nikon 35mm F2 D,Nikon 50mm 1.8D, Nikon 85mm 1.8D, Micro Nikkor 105 f2.8 AI-S, Nikon SB-900,
GregTheRotter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Jan 2013, 18:58   #5
kol
Supermodder
 
kol's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Montrose
Posts: 324
kol has yet to learn the way of the Dremelkol has yet to learn the way of the Dremelkol has yet to learn the way of the Dremelkol has yet to learn the way of the Dremelkol has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Ive tried another dongle and it has the same result. These dongles i have are one is a tiny discreet one and the other is the size of a pendrive. Would buying one that sits on the desk maybe be better?

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
__________________
Intel Core i5 3570K @ 4.2GHz | ASUS P8Z77-V LX2 | 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tactical Tracer 1600MHz | NVIDIA GeForce GTX670 980MHz/1510MHz/1059MHz | Xonar DS
kol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Jan 2013, 19:50   #6
ferret141
Ultramodder
 
ferret141's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Behind J00 sumware, London
Posts: 1,129
ferret141 is a Super Spamming Saiyanferret141 is a Super Spamming Saiyanferret141 is a Super Spamming Saiyanferret141 is a Super Spamming Saiyanferret141 is a Super Spamming Saiyanferret141 is a Super Spamming Saiyanferret141 is a Super Spamming Saiyanferret141 is a Super Spamming Saiyanferret141 is a Super Spamming Saiyanferret141 is a Super Spamming Saiyanferret141 is a Super Spamming Saiyan
Have you tested the dongle in your girlfriend's lap? It could be that there's not a problem with the dongle but your laptop.
__________________
i5 2500K | Thermaltake Frio | 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance LP | ASUS P8P67 Pro | EVGA GTX680 2GB SC Signature 2 | Corsair AX1200 | 256GB OCZ Vertex 4 | 1.5TB Samsung F3 | 2TB WD Caviar Black | 3TB WD Red | SONY-NEC BD-5300S BD-RE | Silverstone Raven 2 Evolution (RV02E-BW USB3.0) | ASUS VG278H 3Dv2 | Win7 Ult. 64bit | Creative X-Fi Fatal1ty Platinum Champion Series | Speakers:Logitech G51 | Headset:Beyerdynamics DT770 Pro + ModMic 4.0 | Keyboard:Logitech G15 | Mouse:Logitech G9x
Plusnet | Loadout
ferret141 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Jan 2013, 21:09   #7
kol
Supermodder
 
kol's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Montrose
Posts: 324
kol has yet to learn the way of the Dremelkol has yet to learn the way of the Dremelkol has yet to learn the way of the Dremelkol has yet to learn the way of the Dremelkol has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
No i havent but the dongle was my uncles and he said it ran fine no issues. Im using the machine in my sig with win8.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
__________________
Intel Core i5 3570K @ 4.2GHz | ASUS P8Z77-V LX2 | 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tactical Tracer 1600MHz | NVIDIA GeForce GTX670 980MHz/1510MHz/1059MHz | Xonar DS
kol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Jan 2013, 21:25   #8
kol
Supermodder
 
kol's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Montrose
Posts: 324
kol has yet to learn the way of the Dremelkol has yet to learn the way of the Dremelkol has yet to learn the way of the Dremelkol has yet to learn the way of the Dremelkol has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
ok
__________________
Intel Core i5 3570K @ 4.2GHz | ASUS P8Z77-V LX2 | 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tactical Tracer 1600MHz | NVIDIA GeForce GTX670 980MHz/1510MHz/1059MHz | Xonar DS
kol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Jan 2013, 10:31   #9
Restayvien
aka [ZiiP] Prometheus
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 65
Restayvien has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Are you using USB 1.0 as opposed to 2.0?
Restayvien is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Jan 2013, 11:58   #10
kol
Supermodder
 
kol's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Montrose
Posts: 324
kol has yet to learn the way of the Dremelkol has yet to learn the way of the Dremelkol has yet to learn the way of the Dremelkol has yet to learn the way of the Dremelkol has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Usb2 and i even tried Usb3

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
__________________
Intel Core i5 3570K @ 4.2GHz | ASUS P8Z77-V LX2 | 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tactical Tracer 1600MHz | NVIDIA GeForce GTX670 980MHz/1510MHz/1059MHz | Xonar DS
kol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Jan 2013, 12:15   #11
aramil
Keeping it Kerbal.....
 
aramil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: between the furture & the past, UK
Posts: 628
aramil is definitely a rep cheat.aramil is definitely a rep cheat.aramil is definitely a rep cheat.aramil is definitely a rep cheat.aramil is definitely a rep cheat.aramil is definitely a rep cheat.aramil is definitely a rep cheat.aramil is definitely a rep cheat.aramil is definitely a rep cheat.aramil is definitely a rep cheat.aramil is definitely a rep cheat.
Have you installed the updated drivers for your MB and chipset? Could be that the generic or older drivers are the problem.

Also try it on your other machine just to check. If it is slow its the dongle, if not its your setup.

Sent on my CM10 JB powered i9100 by TapaTalk 2
__________________
System: Intel i5 3570K delidded CLU @ 4.6Ghz | Asus Stabertooth Z77 (2003) | Asus GTX560-TI Direct cuII | OCZ Agility 3 120Gb | Samsung 1Tb F2 | WD 500Gb | Corsair 750TX v2 | 8Gb (2x4) Corsair Vengence | Corsair K90 Keyboard | XSPC-Raystorm-750-RS2400 (2 X Akasa viper) | Casecom 5288 | Samsung LS24B300HL / LE46C750 | Windows 10 64bit | Audio: Linn Classik & Keilidh Speakers
aramil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Jan 2013, 12:26   #12
NigelT
Multimodder
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 153
NigelT has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
My sky router is rubbish. I can sit next to my desktop with my ipad, the desktop shall have no connection yet the ipad shall work fine.

I want to change the router but I can't be bothered as you're supposed to use the supplied one as part of the T&C's.
NigelT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd Jan 2013, 14:14   #13
kol
Supermodder
 
kol's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Montrose
Posts: 324
kol has yet to learn the way of the Dremelkol has yet to learn the way of the Dremelkol has yet to learn the way of the Dremelkol has yet to learn the way of the Dremelkol has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Yep im all upto date. I have bought another dongle, a tplink one to see if its any better.

And i also did read the sky routers **** for wireless, doesn't even have an antenna lul.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
__________________
Intel Core i5 3570K @ 4.2GHz | ASUS P8Z77-V LX2 | 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tactical Tracer 1600MHz | NVIDIA GeForce GTX670 980MHz/1510MHz/1059MHz | Xonar DS
kol is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 19:03.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.