bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > Technology > Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 26th Jan 2013, 01:51   #1
MSHunter
Mod Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Belfast
Posts: 2,241
MSHunter is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.MSHunter is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.MSHunter is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.MSHunter is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.MSHunter is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.MSHunter is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.MSHunter is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.MSHunter is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.MSHunter is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.MSHunter is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.MSHunter is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
Win8 upgrade fomr win7, clean or dirt instal?

OK so I got this win8 pro upgrade. PC spec in sig.

is it better to format and clean install or can I upgrade install without worries?
keep apps and files.
__________________
PC: Silverstone TJ08B-E, 2500K, Corsair H80, 256 GB Samsung 830,GENE-Z , Corsair V. LP 16GB, Gigabyte 1.5GB GTX 580 Super Overclock. U2711

PC Audio: AKG 271 mk II + Samson Go mic. + Asus Xonar D2X
Amp: DENON PMA510AE, Speakers: TANNOY MERCURY F1
MSHunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Jan 2013, 09:27   #2
sparkyboy22
Web Tinkerer
 
sparkyboy22's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: NN10
Posts: 659
sparkyboy22 should be considered for presidentsparkyboy22 should be considered for presidentsparkyboy22 should be considered for presidentsparkyboy22 should be considered for presidentsparkyboy22 should be considered for presidentsparkyboy22 should be considered for presidentsparkyboy22 should be considered for presidentsparkyboy22 should be considered for presidentsparkyboy22 should be considered for presidentsparkyboy22 should be considered for presidentsparkyboy22 should be considered for president
I upgraded and had a few little niggles that I think were related. If i did it again I would clean install.

That said I am going to go back to win 7 at some point cause the seperated search on the start screen really annoys me.
__________________
i5 2500k @ 4.5 GHz | Corsair H100 | Asus P8P67 Pro | 16GB Corsair Vengeance | EVGA GTX680 | Corsair Force 3 240GB SSD
Asus Xonar D2X | Corsair HX650 | Xigmatek Utgard | Dell U2311h 1920x1080
Logitech Z906 5.1 Speakers | Logitech K750 Solar Keyboard | Logitech Performance MX Mouse

sparkyboy22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Jan 2013, 09:46   #3
fdbh96
I *am* a Dremel
 
fdbh96's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,894
fdbh96 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.fdbh96 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.fdbh96 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.fdbh96 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.fdbh96 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.fdbh96 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.fdbh96 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.fdbh96 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.fdbh96 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.fdbh96 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.fdbh96 is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
I always go clean install. Upgrading always seems a bit messy to me, with random files ending up everywhere.
fdbh96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Jan 2013, 12:37   #4
Teelzebub
Up yours GOD not a Modarator /Staff
 
Teelzebub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Culloden / Hell
Posts: 13,242
Teelzebub is definitely a rep cheat.Teelzebub is definitely a rep cheat.Teelzebub is definitely a rep cheat.Teelzebub is definitely a rep cheat.Teelzebub is definitely a rep cheat.Teelzebub is definitely a rep cheat.Teelzebub is definitely a rep cheat.Teelzebub is definitely a rep cheat.Teelzebub is definitely a rep cheat.Teelzebub is definitely a rep cheat.Teelzebub is definitely a rep cheat.
Yea a fresh install is the best way to go
__________________
Before buying from someone on the MP please read the rules and the Problematic sales on the Market Place click link

Mountain mods case, Enermax 1250w PSU, Asus Maximus V Extreme, i7 3770k @ 4.6ghz, Samsung 840 250gb SSD. 500gb Seagate,Corsair H80i wind tunnel, 16gb Corsair Vengeance pro 1866mhz,4xEVGA GTX 670 quad SLI, 2 bags of weed
Teelzebub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Jan 2013, 13:41   #5
MSHunter
Mod Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Belfast
Posts: 2,241
MSHunter is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.MSHunter is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.MSHunter is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.MSHunter is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.MSHunter is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.MSHunter is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.MSHunter is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.MSHunter is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.MSHunter is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.MSHunter is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.MSHunter is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
OK I got bored and did the dirty install. can I use the ISO and reinstall, clean?
__________________
PC: Silverstone TJ08B-E, 2500K, Corsair H80, 256 GB Samsung 830,GENE-Z , Corsair V. LP 16GB, Gigabyte 1.5GB GTX 580 Super Overclock. U2711

PC Audio: AKG 271 mk II + Samson Go mic. + Asus Xonar D2X
Amp: DENON PMA510AE, Speakers: TANNOY MERCURY F1
MSHunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Jan 2013, 14:06   #6
loftie
Ultramodder
 
loftie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,268
loftie is definitely a rep cheat.loftie is definitely a rep cheat.loftie is definitely a rep cheat.loftie is definitely a rep cheat.loftie is definitely a rep cheat.loftie is definitely a rep cheat.loftie is definitely a rep cheat.loftie is definitely a rep cheat.loftie is definitely a rep cheat.loftie is definitely a rep cheat.loftie is definitely a rep cheat.
AFAIK system refresh should do the same
__________________
Sent from my PC using a keyboard
loftie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Jan 2013, 14:16   #7
aramil
Keeping it Kerbal.....
 
aramil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Worcester, UK
Posts: 585
aramil is definitely a rep cheat.aramil is definitely a rep cheat.aramil is definitely a rep cheat.aramil is definitely a rep cheat.aramil is definitely a rep cheat.aramil is definitely a rep cheat.aramil is definitely a rep cheat.aramil is definitely a rep cheat.aramil is definitely a rep cheat.aramil is definitely a rep cheat.aramil is definitely a rep cheat.
System refresh will do a clean install.

I did an upgrade from 7 and had a few niggles that a refresh solved.

Sent on my CM10 JB powered i9100 by TapaTalk 2
__________________
System: Intel i5 3570K delidded CLU @ 4.6Ghz | Asus Stabertooth Z77 (2003) | Asus GTX560-TI Direct cuII | OCZ Agility 3 120Gb | Samsung 1Tb F2 | WD 500Gb | Corsair 750TX v2 | 8Gb (2x4) Corsair Vengence | Corsair K90 Keyboard | XSPC-Raystorm-750-RS2400 (2 X Akasa viper) | Casecom 5288 | Samsung LS24B300HL / LE46C750 | Windows 8.1 (update1) Pro 64bit | Audio: Linn Classik & Keilidh Speakers
aramil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Jan 2013, 23:59   #8
MSHunter
Mod Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Belfast
Posts: 2,241
MSHunter is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.MSHunter is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.MSHunter is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.MSHunter is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.MSHunter is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.MSHunter is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.MSHunter is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.MSHunter is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.MSHunter is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.MSHunter is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.MSHunter is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
had to do the system refresh as the win8 Nvidia driver killed all video output from my 580 on the upgrade path. thankfully I had already backed up all data from C: drive.

Basically if you want to game ever on the PC always do a custom install with format.

Now to figure out how to get RA2 to play at normal speed and why on of its exe files is set to win95 in the new ultimate pack.


THanks for all the help guys
__________________
PC: Silverstone TJ08B-E, 2500K, Corsair H80, 256 GB Samsung 830,GENE-Z , Corsair V. LP 16GB, Gigabyte 1.5GB GTX 580 Super Overclock. U2711

PC Audio: AKG 271 mk II + Samson Go mic. + Asus Xonar D2X
Amp: DENON PMA510AE, Speakers: TANNOY MERCURY F1
MSHunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 17:36.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.