bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > Technology > Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 30th Jan 2013, 15:57   #101
GoodBytes
How many wifi's does it have?
 
GoodBytes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 12,095
GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
You better do all this now, so that you can activate the Media Center add-on with DVD playback for free. The time you get that e-mail with the product key... it might be on time.
__________________
Nv GPU Pro - Automate your graphic card overclock base on what you run, reduce power and noise. Designed for Laptops and Desktops. Filled with features.

Core i7 930 2.8GHz | G.Skill Pi 6GB 1600MHz 7-5-7-24 1.5V | Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD5 | GeForce GTX 260 | W.D Caviar Black 1TB | Corsair AX750 | Noctua NH-U12P | Xonar Essence STX | Win8 Pro 64-bit | Dell U2410 - 1920x1200 | OCZ Vertex 4 250GB
GoodBytes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th Jan 2013, 17:21   #102
modd1uk
I *am* a Dremel
 
modd1uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,555
modd1uk is definitely a rep cheat.modd1uk is definitely a rep cheat.modd1uk is definitely a rep cheat.modd1uk is definitely a rep cheat.modd1uk is definitely a rep cheat.modd1uk is definitely a rep cheat.modd1uk is definitely a rep cheat.modd1uk is definitely a rep cheat.modd1uk is definitely a rep cheat.modd1uk is definitely a rep cheat.modd1uk is definitely a rep cheat.
not too fussed about the media center on their machines, got funds clearing in paypal tomorrow hmmm dont wanna miss out
__________________
Corsair 800D :: ASUS P8P67-EVO :: i5 2500K :: 8GB Corsair Vengeance :: MSI Twin FrozrII GTX 570 :: Corsair HX520 :: Corsair H100 :: Samsung 830 256gb :: Samsung F3 :: Samsung F4
Quote:
Originally Posted by loftie View Post
^+1
Energy saving light bulb agrees with the incandescent bulb.
modd1uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th Jan 2013, 17:55   #103
GoodBytes
How many wifi's does it have?
 
GoodBytes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 12,095
GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
Hmm.. it says " before Jan 31, 2013," So I guess, that the 31st is too late
__________________
Nv GPU Pro - Automate your graphic card overclock base on what you run, reduce power and noise. Designed for Laptops and Desktops. Filled with features.

Core i7 930 2.8GHz | G.Skill Pi 6GB 1600MHz 7-5-7-24 1.5V | Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD5 | GeForce GTX 260 | W.D Caviar Black 1TB | Corsair AX750 | Noctua NH-U12P | Xonar Essence STX | Win8 Pro 64-bit | Dell U2410 - 1920x1200 | OCZ Vertex 4 250GB
GoodBytes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th Jan 2013, 18:32   #104
modd1uk
I *am* a Dremel
 
modd1uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,555
modd1uk is definitely a rep cheat.modd1uk is definitely a rep cheat.modd1uk is definitely a rep cheat.modd1uk is definitely a rep cheat.modd1uk is definitely a rep cheat.modd1uk is definitely a rep cheat.modd1uk is definitely a rep cheat.modd1uk is definitely a rep cheat.modd1uk is definitely a rep cheat.modd1uk is definitely a rep cheat.modd1uk is definitely a rep cheat.
If I use my email address to upgrade my uncle's pc will it send me the same product key or a new one..a little worried that it will send me the same one I used for my pc on my email.
__________________
Corsair 800D :: ASUS P8P67-EVO :: i5 2500K :: 8GB Corsair Vengeance :: MSI Twin FrozrII GTX 570 :: Corsair HX520 :: Corsair H100 :: Samsung 830 256gb :: Samsung F3 :: Samsung F4
Quote:
Originally Posted by loftie View Post
^+1
Energy saving light bulb agrees with the incandescent bulb.
modd1uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th Jan 2013, 18:48   #105
wolfticket
Downwind from the bloodhounds
 
wolfticket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Devon, England
Posts: 1,512
wolfticket is definitely a rep cheat.wolfticket is definitely a rep cheat.wolfticket is definitely a rep cheat.wolfticket is definitely a rep cheat.wolfticket is definitely a rep cheat.wolfticket is definitely a rep cheat.wolfticket is definitely a rep cheat.wolfticket is definitely a rep cheat.wolfticket is definitely a rep cheat.wolfticket is definitely a rep cheat.wolfticket is definitely a rep cheat.
Quote:
Originally Posted by modd1uk View Post
If I use my email address to upgrade my uncle's pc will it send me the same product key or a new one..a little worried that it will send me the same one I used for my pc on my email.
If you pay for a new key using an email address you've already used to buy one before you still get a new key. I've bought 4 all with the same email (and card).
__________________
Wolfticket: Ambitious but rubbish

"A facility for quotation covers the absence of original thought."
Dorothy L. Sayers (1893 - 1957)
wolfticket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th Jan 2013, 18:54   #106
modd1uk
I *am* a Dremel
 
modd1uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,555
modd1uk is definitely a rep cheat.modd1uk is definitely a rep cheat.modd1uk is definitely a rep cheat.modd1uk is definitely a rep cheat.modd1uk is definitely a rep cheat.modd1uk is definitely a rep cheat.modd1uk is definitely a rep cheat.modd1uk is definitely a rep cheat.modd1uk is definitely a rep cheat.modd1uk is definitely a rep cheat.modd1uk is definitely a rep cheat.
Quote:
Originally Posted by wolfticket View Post
If you pay for a new key using an email address you've already used to buy one before you still get a new key. I've bought 4 all with the same email (and card).
Ah cheers for clearing that up buddy +rep !
__________________
Corsair 800D :: ASUS P8P67-EVO :: i5 2500K :: 8GB Corsair Vengeance :: MSI Twin FrozrII GTX 570 :: Corsair HX520 :: Corsair H100 :: Samsung 830 256gb :: Samsung F3 :: Samsung F4
Quote:
Originally Posted by loftie View Post
^+1
Energy saving light bulb agrees with the incandescent bulb.
modd1uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th Jan 2013, 20:13   #107
Jester_612
"Jammy..."
 
Jester_612's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Midlands
Posts: 1,117
Jester_612 is definitely a rep cheat.Jester_612 is definitely a rep cheat.Jester_612 is definitely a rep cheat.Jester_612 is definitely a rep cheat.Jester_612 is definitely a rep cheat.Jester_612 is definitely a rep cheat.Jester_612 is definitely a rep cheat.Jester_612 is definitely a rep cheat.Jester_612 is definitely a rep cheat.Jester_612 is definitely a rep cheat.Jester_612 is definitely a rep cheat.
I'm suffering with this problem. Funnily the support can't comprehend what's wrong.

Going to do a win8 reinstall, activate the key. Then install win7 just to try out a network feature (not in 8), only to maybe reinstall win8, not my idea of fun.
__________________
i5 2500k @ 3.97Ghz on stock
EVGA GTX 670 FTW @ 1275 Mhz[/SIZE]
Jester_612 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th Jan 2013, 22:24   #108
GoodBytes
How many wifi's does it have?
 
GoodBytes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 12,095
GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.GoodBytes is the Cheesecake. Relix smiles down upon them.
Are you a Student (speaking to all)?
Microsoft will start offering Windows 8 Pro Upgrade to student for 70$U.S on Feb 1st in the U.S. And on Feb 21st, for Canada, U.K and other countries.

Here is the table:



Of course, if you are in an institution that is registered to MSDNAA you have your copy of Windows 8 Pro OEM waiting for you, for free.
__________________
Nv GPU Pro - Automate your graphic card overclock base on what you run, reduce power and noise. Designed for Laptops and Desktops. Filled with features.

Core i7 930 2.8GHz | G.Skill Pi 6GB 1600MHz 7-5-7-24 1.5V | Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD5 | GeForce GTX 260 | W.D Caviar Black 1TB | Corsair AX750 | Noctua NH-U12P | Xonar Essence STX | Win8 Pro 64-bit | Dell U2410 - 1920x1200 | OCZ Vertex 4 250GB
GoodBytes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st Jan 2013, 08:03   #109
Landy_Ed
Ultramodder
 
Landy_Ed's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Between W Mids and Cheshire
Posts: 1,191
Landy_Ed - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Landy_Ed - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Landy_Ed - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Landy_Ed - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Landy_Ed - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Landy_Ed - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Landy_Ed - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Landy_Ed - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Landy_Ed - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Landy_Ed - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!Landy_Ed - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!
Ha - I tried to get a key using the en_gb pages & get told it's not available for sale in my country. Scotland.....
Landy_Ed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st Jan 2013, 10:33   #110
RichCreedy
Hey What Who
 
RichCreedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: lost in the middle of lincolnshire
Posts: 4,211
RichCreedy is definitely a rep cheat.RichCreedy is definitely a rep cheat.RichCreedy is definitely a rep cheat.RichCreedy is definitely a rep cheat.RichCreedy is definitely a rep cheat.RichCreedy is definitely a rep cheat.RichCreedy is definitely a rep cheat.RichCreedy is definitely a rep cheat.RichCreedy is definitely a rep cheat.RichCreedy is definitely a rep cheat.RichCreedy is definitely a rep cheat.
you get that, if you try on an existing win8 machine

if you go to Control Panel\All Control Panel Items\Action Center\Windows Activation

there is a link to buy windows for another machine

edit: just tried it, it takes you to the website and you click the buy, and it promptly goes through the same download and run assistant, so might not work
__________________
if there are errors in my messages, its because my brain is to far ahead of my hands

Last edited by RichCreedy; 31st Jan 2013 at 11:03.
RichCreedy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st Jan 2013, 11:03   #111
kenco_uk
I unsuccessfully then tried again
 
kenco_uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Bourne, Lincolnshire, UK
Posts: 9,686
kenco_uk is definitely a rep cheat.kenco_uk is definitely a rep cheat.kenco_uk is definitely a rep cheat.kenco_uk is definitely a rep cheat.kenco_uk is definitely a rep cheat.kenco_uk is definitely a rep cheat.kenco_uk is definitely a rep cheat.kenco_uk is definitely a rep cheat.kenco_uk is definitely a rep cheat.kenco_uk is definitely a rep cheat.kenco_uk is definitely a rep cheat.
Quote:
Originally Posted by modd1uk View Post
Ah cheers for clearing that up buddy +rep !
You're allowed up to 5 I think, although I'm not sure if that's just for businesses.

What happens after today then? Say if you bought a qualifying PC in the UK, does the £10 off offer expire? And does the upgrade for £24.99 offer expire too? Or do the two offers have different expiry dates? Say if you can't manage to buy it today and you have a qualifying PC, could you still get £10 off £49.95 (the usual upgrade price, or thereabouts I think)?

I've got 3 spare licenses now!
__________________
formaggio gāteau
kenco_uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st Jan 2013, 12:28   #112
Pookie
What's My Age Again?
 
Pookie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Newton Abbot (originally from Wantage)
Posts: 1,335
Pookie is definitely a rep cheat.Pookie is definitely a rep cheat.Pookie is definitely a rep cheat.Pookie is definitely a rep cheat.Pookie is definitely a rep cheat.Pookie is definitely a rep cheat.Pookie is definitely a rep cheat.Pookie is definitely a rep cheat.Pookie is definitely a rep cheat.Pookie is definitely a rep cheat.Pookie is definitely a rep cheat.
Quote:
Originally Posted by kenco_uk View Post
You're allowed up to 5 I think, although I'm not sure if that's just for businesses.

What happens after today then? Say if you bought a qualifying PC in the UK, does the £10 off offer expire? And does the upgrade for £24.99 offer expire too? Or do the two offers have different expiry dates? Say if you can't manage to buy it today and you have a qualifying PC, could you still get £10 off £49.95 (the usual upgrade price, or thereabouts I think)?

I've got 3 spare licenses now!
Well i just tried the upgrade assist and it's still coming up at £24.99 http://windows.microsoft.com/en-GB/w...e-to-windows-8.
__________________
Fractal R4/ GA-X58A-UD3R / i7 920@3.8Ghz / Corsair H60 (2013 Model) with 2 x Corsair SP120 / Corsair Force GT 120 SSD /Sapphire R9 290X / 12GB (3x4GB)Corsair Dominator 1600mhz with Airflow Kit / AOC i2757fm 27" IPS Monitor/ Razer Lachesis.
Rotel RA-02 Amplifier/ B&W DM601 S3/ QED XT350 With Airlock plugs/All QED Interconnects.

http://www.compucare.co.uk/
Pookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st Jan 2013, 12:36   #113
mikemaher205
Multimodder
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Essex
Posts: 157
mikemaher205 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Probably a simple question and apologise, but I'm a little confused;

If I go through the online upgrade, it'll overwrite my Windows 7, and not just let me download an Windows 8 Pro 64-bit ISO?

I installed my Windows 7 off an upgrade disc, just made a USB installer and entered my product key on installation. Wanted to do the same with Windows 8 to run it side-by-side with Windows 7 but I am assuming I can't do this using the links provided?
mikemaher205 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st Jan 2013, 15:20   #114
wolfticket
Downwind from the bloodhounds
 
wolfticket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Devon, England
Posts: 1,512
wolfticket is definitely a rep cheat.wolfticket is definitely a rep cheat.wolfticket is definitely a rep cheat.wolfticket is definitely a rep cheat.wolfticket is definitely a rep cheat.wolfticket is definitely a rep cheat.wolfticket is definitely a rep cheat.wolfticket is definitely a rep cheat.wolfticket is definitely a rep cheat.wolfticket is definitely a rep cheat.wolfticket is definitely a rep cheat.
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikemaher205 View Post
Probably a simple question and apologise, but I'm a little confused;

If I go through the online upgrade, it'll overwrite my Windows 7, and not just let me download an Windows 8 Pro 64-bit ISO?

I installed my Windows 7 off an upgrade disc, just made a USB installer and entered my product key on installation. Wanted to do the same with Windows 8 to run it side-by-side with Windows 7 but I am assuming I can't do this using the links provided?
As I recall, once you install the Upgrade Assistant and buy the licence through it there is the option to perform an in state upgrade, download a bootable Window 8 ISO or create a bootable USB drive.
The first will overwrite your Windows 7 installation, but the other two are just standard bootable Windows 8 upgrade media (32 or 64bit depending on the system you run the Upgrade Assistant on). Just make sure you perform a custom install on boot to the correct partition/drive.

The only issue you may have is that if you are not installing on a partition with a valid OS already installed on it Windows 8 may refuse to activate (my experience). This would require either the pre-installation of a valid upgradable OS on the partition, or use of the *ahem* work around
__________________
Wolfticket: Ambitious but rubbish

"A facility for quotation covers the absence of original thought."
Dorothy L. Sayers (1893 - 1957)
wolfticket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st Jan 2013, 16:16   #115
mikemaher205
Multimodder
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Essex
Posts: 157
mikemaher205 has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Quote:
Originally Posted by wolfticket View Post
The only issue you may have is that if you are not installing on a partition with a valid OS already installed on it Windows 8 may refuse to activate (my experience). This would require either the pre-installation of a valid upgradable OS on the partition, or use of the *ahem* work around
So if I create a second partition on my primary drive (Around 64Gb/50% total space) through Windows 7, then choose to create a "clean install" on the second partition, it should be OK as the boot loader from Windows 7 is on the drive.
mikemaher205 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st Jan 2013, 16:58   #116
azrael-
I'm special...
 
azrael-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Aarhus, Denmark
Posts: 3,805
azrael- - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!azrael- - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!azrael- - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!azrael- - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!azrael- - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!azrael- - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!azrael- - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!azrael- - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!azrael- - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!azrael- - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!azrael- - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!
Don't know if anyone cares, but you don't actually get an ISO per se. The upgrade assistant downloads files to <BootDrive>:\ESD\Windows. When you choose to create an ISO it'll just build one on the fly from those files.

FWIW, if you have access to the original retail ISO from e.g. MSDN it'll work like a charm with your key, since, as GoodBytes so eloquently stated several times, it's a retail key and a retail license.
__________________
It's not the end of the world ...but you can see it from here.

Xeon E3-1245 v2 3.4 GHz | ASUS P8C WS | 16GB Kingston ECC DDR3 | Samsung 830 256GB | eVGA GTX670 2GB | SB Audigy | Seasonic X-560 | Corsair Obsidian 550D | Dell 2209WA
azrael- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st Jan 2013, 17:28   #117
wolfticket
Downwind from the bloodhounds
 
wolfticket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Devon, England
Posts: 1,512
wolfticket is definitely a rep cheat.wolfticket is definitely a rep cheat.wolfticket is definitely a rep cheat.wolfticket is definitely a rep cheat.wolfticket is definitely a rep cheat.wolfticket is definitely a rep cheat.wolfticket is definitely a rep cheat.wolfticket is definitely a rep cheat.wolfticket is definitely a rep cheat.wolfticket is definitely a rep cheat.wolfticket is definitely a rep cheat.
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikemaher205 View Post
So if I create a second partition on my primary drive (Around 64Gb/50% total space) through Windows 7, then choose to create a "clean install" on the second partition, it should be OK as the boot loader from Windows 7 is on the drive.
I've read a single annoyed forum post about someone trying to dual boot and having trouble with activation because it was installed to a different clean partition, in spite of Windows 7 already being installed on the drive. I have no experience dual booting Windows 7/8 myself though.
Quote:
Originally Posted by azrael- View Post
Don't know if anyone cares, but you don't actually get an ISO per se. The upgrade assistant downloads files to <BootDrive>:\ESD\Windows. When you choose to create an ISO it'll just build one on the fly from those files.

FWIW, if you have access to the original retail ISO from e.g. MSDN it'll work like a charm with your key, since, as GoodBytes so eloquently stated several times, it's a retail key and a retail license.
I far as I know the ISO file it ultimately it creates is just a normal Windows 8 Retail Upgrade disk that you can use on any system with a valid licence, which other than the issue of having trouble installing on a freshly formatted drve/partition, is identical to an original retail ISO.

It's really nice just having proper ISOs on my hard drive ready to go when necessary. I have a 32bit ISO, a 64bit ISO and 64bit bootable usb drive handy should I need them.



Anyone else still waiting on a Media Center key?
__________________
Wolfticket: Ambitious but rubbish

"A facility for quotation covers the absence of original thought."
Dorothy L. Sayers (1893 - 1957)
wolfticket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st Jan 2013, 18:21   #118
azrael-
I'm special...
 
azrael-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Aarhus, Denmark
Posts: 3,805
azrael- - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!azrael- - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!azrael- - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!azrael- - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!azrael- - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!azrael- - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!azrael- - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!azrael- - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!azrael- - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!azrael- - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!azrael- - it's over 9000!!!!!!!!1!1!1!!!
Quote:
Originally Posted by wolfticket View Post
<SNIP>
I far as I know the ISO file it ultimately it creates is just a normal Windows 8 Retail Upgrade disk that you can use on any system with a valid licence, which other than the issue of having trouble installing on a freshly formatted drve/partition, is identical to an original retail ISO.

It's really nice just having proper ISOs on my hard drive ready to go when necessary. I have a 32bit ISO, a 64bit ISO and 64bit bootable usb drive handy should I need them.



Anyone else still waiting on a Media Center key?
Content-wise it's probably the same, but the ISO I mentioned works around that small "needs to be installed on a PC with a previous version of Windows" issue.

Have you tried having the Media Center key sent to a Hotmail/Outlook address? Mine came within minutes.
__________________
It's not the end of the world ...but you can see it from here.

Xeon E3-1245 v2 3.4 GHz | ASUS P8C WS | 16GB Kingston ECC DDR3 | Samsung 830 256GB | eVGA GTX670 2GB | SB Audigy | Seasonic X-560 | Corsair Obsidian 550D | Dell 2209WA
azrael- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st Jan 2013, 18:36   #119
wolfticket
Downwind from the bloodhounds
 
wolfticket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Devon, England
Posts: 1,512
wolfticket is definitely a rep cheat.wolfticket is definitely a rep cheat.wolfticket is definitely a rep cheat.wolfticket is definitely a rep cheat.wolfticket is definitely a rep cheat.wolfticket is definitely a rep cheat.wolfticket is definitely a rep cheat.wolfticket is definitely a rep cheat.wolfticket is definitely a rep cheat.wolfticket is definitely a rep cheat.wolfticket is definitely a rep cheat.
Quote:
Originally Posted by azrael- View Post
Content-wise it's probably the same, but the ISO I mentioned works around that small "needs to be installed on a PC with a previous version of Windows" issue.

Have you tried having the Media Center key sent to a Hotmail/Outlook address? Mine came within minutes.
No I haven't, I don't really have access to one.

There was a bit of a cock up.
I applied for two codes sometime apart, but I accidentally used the same email for both.
The first code came a while ago, I used it on my laptop, it worked fine.
The second code came today, used it on my desktop, worked fine... until I rebooted.
Media Center was there, but Windows wouldn't activate because the key is in use on another system. Turns out the second email contained exactly the same key as the first one, I just didn't realise It just let me apply again using the same email and sent me the same key without any warning.

I do have Media Center installed though, and it's just waiting for a valid key, so maybe if the key comes after the deadline it will still activate. It actually says Feb 1st to use the key, and it wouldn't surprise me if MS gave people a touch more wiggle room if there is a backlog.
__________________
Wolfticket: Ambitious but rubbish

"A facility for quotation covers the absence of original thought."
Dorothy L. Sayers (1893 - 1957)
wolfticket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st Jan 2013, 18:39   #120
modd1uk
I *am* a Dremel
 
modd1uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,555
modd1uk is definitely a rep cheat.modd1uk is definitely a rep cheat.modd1uk is definitely a rep cheat.modd1uk is definitely a rep cheat.modd1uk is definitely a rep cheat.modd1uk is definitely a rep cheat.modd1uk is definitely a rep cheat.modd1uk is definitely a rep cheat.modd1uk is definitely a rep cheat.modd1uk is definitely a rep cheat.modd1uk is definitely a rep cheat.
Quote:
Originally Posted by wolfticket View Post
No I haven't, I don't really have access to one.

There was a bit of a cock up.
I applied for two codes sometime apart, but I accidentally used the same email for both.
The first code came a while ago, I used it on my laptop, it worked fine.
The second code came today, used it on my desktop, worked fine... until I rebooted.
Media Center was there, but Windows wouldn't activate because the key is in use on another system. Turns out the second email contained exactly the same key as the first one, I just didn't realise It just let me apply again using the same email and sent me the same key without any warning.

I do have Media Center installed though, and it's just waiting for a valid key, so maybe if the key comes after the deadline it will still activate. It actually says Feb 1st to use the key, and it wouldn't surprise me if MS gave people a touch more wiggle room if there is a backlog.
If you need one give me a shout, I have a spare.
__________________
Corsair 800D :: ASUS P8P67-EVO :: i5 2500K :: 8GB Corsair Vengeance :: MSI Twin FrozrII GTX 570 :: Corsair HX520 :: Corsair H100 :: Samsung 830 256gb :: Samsung F3 :: Samsung F4
Quote:
Originally Posted by loftie View Post
^+1
Energy saving light bulb agrees with the incandescent bulb.
modd1uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:12.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.