bit-tech.net

Go Back   bit-tech.net Forums > Technology > Tech Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 7th Feb 2013, 18:26   #1
x5pilot
Fragile explosion
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 94
x5pilot has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Anyone use Sky Fiber and SMTP?

Hi guys,
Dont really know the section for this question but will stick in here....

Ive been using an Exchange Server (SBS 2008) for a number of years and its been working perfectly right up until yesterday when I had Sky Fiber broadband installed.

I can receive email fine to the Exchange Server but cannot send.
In Exchange I have the SMTP send connector set to use DNS MX records to route mail automatically, however I may need to specific a smart host now - although Sky do not sanction one for use and I cannot think of any others.

I am reading various reports and notices on various Sky forums and support sites saying that Sky do not support outbound SMTP. I find this staggering to believe and if true I will need to cancel my new installation and jump to BT.

But before I do this has anyone else experienced this or anyone know how to get this working?


Thanks
x5pilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th Feb 2013, 18:47   #2
RichCreedy
Hey What Who
 
RichCreedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: lost in the middle of lincolnshire
Posts: 4,252
RichCreedy is definitely a rep cheat.RichCreedy is definitely a rep cheat.RichCreedy is definitely a rep cheat.RichCreedy is definitely a rep cheat.RichCreedy is definitely a rep cheat.RichCreedy is definitely a rep cheat.RichCreedy is definitely a rep cheat.RichCreedy is definitely a rep cheat.RichCreedy is definitely a rep cheat.RichCreedy is definitely a rep cheat.RichCreedy is definitely a rep cheat.
use sky's smtp (smtp.tools.sky.com ), I do the same with my sbs server on bt, you will need to use the account settings for your sky email to authorise it

the other thing you could do, is register a cheap mail service with someone like 1and1, and use their smtp server settings in you send connector
__________________
if there are errors in my messages, its because my brain is to far ahead of my hands

Last edited by RichCreedy; 7th Feb 2013 at 23:56.
RichCreedy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Feb 2013, 09:10   #3
x5pilot
Fragile explosion
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 94
x5pilot has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Hi Rich,
I appreciate the advice and its in line with what I was thinking however can I ask you a couple of questions relating to the sky smtp server...

You mention I could use my account settings from my sky email, but I never recall receiving any email settings other than my username and password to log into my online sky account (which I've tried and doesnt work) I just wanted to ask you this question before I go digging for a sky email account that Im not aware of!

Also, just so I'm on the right page, I enter the smtp.tools.sky.com into the "Route mail through the following smart hosts" on SBS (2008) and then specific the above username and password under the Basic Authentication option with the Basic Auth over TLS checkbos disabled?

One last thing, if I cant get this working what email service do you think would be sufficient on a site such as 1 and 1 that you mention in order to use thier smtp servers (although I cant see any mention of this service on thier site)?

Thanks again!
x5pilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Feb 2013, 09:23   #4
Andy Mc
I *am* a Dremel
 
Andy Mc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: In a house.
Posts: 1,627
Andy Mc is definitely a rep cheat.Andy Mc is definitely a rep cheat.Andy Mc is definitely a rep cheat.Andy Mc is definitely a rep cheat.Andy Mc is definitely a rep cheat.Andy Mc is definitely a rep cheat.Andy Mc is definitely a rep cheat.Andy Mc is definitely a rep cheat.Andy Mc is definitely a rep cheat.Andy Mc is definitely a rep cheat.Andy Mc is definitely a rep cheat.
A few ISPs still block port 25 outbound. The main reason is it stops hassle with dynamic IP ranges getting blacklisted for SPAM.
If you want to run outbound SMTP yourself then call Sky and see if they do static IP assignments, as these are usually not restricted, but best to double check.
__________________
Andy Mc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Feb 2013, 09:55   #5
x5pilot
Fragile explosion
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 94
x5pilot has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Hi Andy,
I know for a fact Sky do not block port 25 and they dont offer static IPs either - not that I would even think of trying to get through to someone there that knew what a static IP was!

I kind of expected this from a large isp (compared to bethere internet who I left)
x5pilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Feb 2013, 10:32   #6
RichCreedy
Hey What Who
 
RichCreedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: lost in the middle of lincolnshire
Posts: 4,252
RichCreedy is definitely a rep cheat.RichCreedy is definitely a rep cheat.RichCreedy is definitely a rep cheat.RichCreedy is definitely a rep cheat.RichCreedy is definitely a rep cheat.RichCreedy is definitely a rep cheat.RichCreedy is definitely a rep cheat.RichCreedy is definitely a rep cheat.RichCreedy is definitely a rep cheat.RichCreedy is definitely a rep cheat.RichCreedy is definitely a rep cheat.
the most basic package is all that is required Instant Mail, you create an email address, then use auth.smtp.1and1.co.uk with the email address you created, basic authentication.

sky use ssl encryption, so you would need to set that and also port 465, I can't remember if there is an option for that in the setup
as far as email account, it is the one you got from sky with that password
__________________
if there are errors in my messages, its because my brain is to far ahead of my hands

Last edited by RichCreedy; 8th Feb 2013 at 10:40.
RichCreedy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Feb 2013, 11:13   #7
x5pilot
Fragile explosion
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 94
x5pilot has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Rich,
I've been able to use the Sky smtp.tools.sly.com server to route email outbound on my SBS2008 however the problem is now that its using my sky email address (which I found) as the actual email adddress therefore recipients aren't seeing my real email address and cannot respond - or if they do the reply goes back to my Sky email instead of my exchange server email.
Hope Im making sense!
Will I get the same problem if I sign up to 1and1?
James
x5pilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Feb 2013, 11:46   #8
Pookie
I Can Use The 3 Sea Shells
 
Pookie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Newton Abbot (originally from Wantage)
Posts: 1,567
Pookie is definitely a rep cheat.Pookie is definitely a rep cheat.Pookie is definitely a rep cheat.Pookie is definitely a rep cheat.Pookie is definitely a rep cheat.Pookie is definitely a rep cheat.Pookie is definitely a rep cheat.Pookie is definitely a rep cheat.Pookie is definitely a rep cheat.Pookie is definitely a rep cheat.Pookie is definitely a rep cheat.
I have set up a few clients with smtpcorp.com https://smtpcorp.com/signup. Affordable and works fine with Exchange 2007/10.
__________________
Fractal R4/ GA-X58A-UD3R / Westmere Xeon X5650 2.66Ghz Hex core / Corsair H60 (2013 Model) with 2 x Corsair SP120 / Corsair Force GT 120 SSD /Sapphire R9 290X / 12GB (3x4GB)Corsair Dominator 1600mhz with Airflow Kit / AOC i2757fm 27" IPS Monitor/ Razer Lachesis.
Rotel RA-02 Amplifier/ B&W DM601 S3/ QED XT350 With Airlock plugs/All QED Interconnects.

http://www.compucare.co.uk/
Pookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Feb 2013, 14:28   #9
RichCreedy
Hey What Who
 
RichCreedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: lost in the middle of lincolnshire
Posts: 4,252
RichCreedy is definitely a rep cheat.RichCreedy is definitely a rep cheat.RichCreedy is definitely a rep cheat.RichCreedy is definitely a rep cheat.RichCreedy is definitely a rep cheat.RichCreedy is definitely a rep cheat.RichCreedy is definitely a rep cheat.RichCreedy is definitely a rep cheat.RichCreedy is definitely a rep cheat.RichCreedy is definitely a rep cheat.RichCreedy is definitely a rep cheat.
no you won't have the same problem with the 1and1 servers, unless the server isn't setup quite right
__________________
if there are errors in my messages, its because my brain is to far ahead of my hands
RichCreedy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Feb 2013, 10:37   #10
x5pilot
Fragile explosion
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 94
x5pilot has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Guys,
Just an update and thanks...
Rich, I signed up to 1 and 1 - 9 for a year! Am using their smtp server to route outbound no problems while also using the username and password provided for the basic account.
Thank you for your help!
James
x5pilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Feb 2013, 19:31   #11
RichCreedy
Hey What Who
 
RichCreedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: lost in the middle of lincolnshire
Posts: 4,252
RichCreedy is definitely a rep cheat.RichCreedy is definitely a rep cheat.RichCreedy is definitely a rep cheat.RichCreedy is definitely a rep cheat.RichCreedy is definitely a rep cheat.RichCreedy is definitely a rep cheat.RichCreedy is definitely a rep cheat.RichCreedy is definitely a rep cheat.RichCreedy is definitely a rep cheat.RichCreedy is definitely a rep cheat.RichCreedy is definitely a rep cheat.
glad I could help and you got it sorted
__________________
if there are errors in my messages, its because my brain is to far ahead of my hands
RichCreedy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:28.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.