bit-tech.net

Old 11th Feb 2013, 14:02   #1
Omoobhs
One giant fsb hole
 
Omoobhs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Bristol
Posts: 183
Omoobhs has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Wont post

ok, so my pc wont post this morning- I am wondering if anyone can offer guidance to confirm my fears.

I get a single click sound (not sure from where) when I power on the motherboard, but nothing powers up. The Motherboard power light is on.
I have tested a few things (PSU, gfx cards) but the point that concerns me is this:

When I unplug the CPU 12v the motherboard powers on fully but I get a cpu error LED (as expected). But this atleast tells me roughly where to continue my hunt.

As I have tested this same symptom with another PSU.

Does this indicate the CPU has given up?

Any advise, opinions, all appreciated.
__________________
Steam - bhs

Last edited by Omoobhs; 11th Feb 2013 at 16:07.
Omoobhs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th Feb 2013, 10:04   #2
Omoobhs
One giant fsb hole
 
Omoobhs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Bristol
Posts: 183
Omoobhs has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Ok - It's not the CPU (phew)

Which leave me with it being a short or a Motherboard fault I think.
__________________
Steam - bhs
Omoobhs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th Feb 2013, 20:02   #3
SuicideNeil
I'm insane, not stupid.
 
SuicideNeil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Devon, England
Posts: 5,176
SuicideNeil is definitely a rep cheat.SuicideNeil is definitely a rep cheat.SuicideNeil is definitely a rep cheat.SuicideNeil is definitely a rep cheat.SuicideNeil is definitely a rep cheat.SuicideNeil is definitely a rep cheat.SuicideNeil is definitely a rep cheat.SuicideNeil is definitely a rep cheat.SuicideNeil is definitely a rep cheat.SuicideNeil is definitely a rep cheat.SuicideNeil is definitely a rep cheat.
Try the mobo out of the case to rule out a short-circuit issue ( unlikely given it's been fine up until now however).

Click sound is probably a relay in the PSU- does it do this with the other PSU?

If you have another mobo to test all the other components with, that would be handy..
__________________
ASUS P8Z77-M PRO | INTEL CORE i5 2500K @ 4.3GHZ | EVGA GEFORCE GTX 670FTW | CORSAIR VENGENCE DDR3 1600MHZ 2x 4GB | SAMSUNG SPINPOINT F3 1TB | TITAN FENRIR | ACER PREDATOR | WIN 7PRO x64
SuicideNeil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th Feb 2013, 15:22   #4
Omoobhs
One giant fsb hole
 
Omoobhs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Bristol
Posts: 183
Omoobhs has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Thanks for the reply!

I have tested with a different PSU and get the same symptom.

The whole setup in on a test bench at the moment, although it was before the issue started so I will remove it this weekend and see how I get on.

I currently feel this is going to be a short on the mobo or a actual motherboard failure of some sort. Will post back this weekend with the outcome.


Cheers!
__________________
Steam - bhs
Omoobhs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th Feb 2013, 10:15   #5
Omoobhs
One giant fsb hole
 
Omoobhs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Bristol
Posts: 183
Omoobhs has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
So, it continues...

I purchased a new CPU & motherboard.

- I tested the new CPU in my old motherboard to rule out the CPU, had the same symptoms as the original fault.

- I then swapped out the motherboard & re-tested, again with the new CPU. The motherboard turns on which was good to see, but the CPU_LED is on constantly and is red and it does not post.
Tested with my original CPU in the new board - same result.

Checked both boards for bent pins - all straight & tested different PSU's each time, same outcome.

Now my concern is that my old motherboard probably died & took the original CPU with it. When I tried the new cpu in the old board, I think it killed it.


Does this seem likely?
__________________
Steam - bhs
Omoobhs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th Feb 2013, 18:47   #6
SuicideNeil
I'm insane, not stupid.
 
SuicideNeil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Devon, England
Posts: 5,176
SuicideNeil is definitely a rep cheat.SuicideNeil is definitely a rep cheat.SuicideNeil is definitely a rep cheat.SuicideNeil is definitely a rep cheat.SuicideNeil is definitely a rep cheat.SuicideNeil is definitely a rep cheat.SuicideNeil is definitely a rep cheat.SuicideNeil is definitely a rep cheat.SuicideNeil is definitely a rep cheat.SuicideNeil is definitely a rep cheat.SuicideNeil is definitely a rep cheat.
CPUs tend to be hard things to kill, even after power issues, though I suppose it is possible- have you ruled out the RAM yet though?
__________________
ASUS P8Z77-M PRO | INTEL CORE i5 2500K @ 4.3GHZ | EVGA GEFORCE GTX 670FTW | CORSAIR VENGENCE DDR3 1600MHZ 2x 4GB | SAMSUNG SPINPOINT F3 1TB | TITAN FENRIR | ACER PREDATOR | WIN 7PRO x64
SuicideNeil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Feb 2013, 00:09   #7
Omoobhs
One giant fsb hole
 
Omoobhs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Bristol
Posts: 183
Omoobhs has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
Have been testing with 1 stick since I started this one, not used all sticks yet though so will check. The mobo has a RAM test which shows no fault when I tested with all the ram installed, but it's a logical point.

Found out this afternoon that there was a power cut the night before this failed to boot so thinking it got surged at the moment.

Thanks for the reply, more testing tomorrow...
__________________
Steam - bhs
Omoobhs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Mar 2013, 11:27   #8
Omoobhs
One giant fsb hole
 
Omoobhs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Bristol
Posts: 183
Omoobhs has yet to learn the way of the Dremel
turns out the motherboard had fried in a power cut and became a CPU killer.

New board & cpu - system up and running, just a shame I killed 2 cpu's in the process.
__________________
Steam - bhs
Omoobhs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 15:35.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.