1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Motherboards Sabertooth x58 won't boot

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by NitemareDT, 10 Mar 2011.

1. NitemareDT

NitemareDT What's a Dremel?

Hey, new to the forum, I hope that doesn't impede anyones opinions of me, although I am very new to PC building and this IS my first PC but, whatever. :p

Anyway, I bought a bunch of parts from Scan and they all came, fairly quickly though the GTX 580 was super late, that's mainly due to the shortage that was suffered at release. So recently my mobo and gpu broke (I'm pretty sure the gpu was defective or something from the beginning but whatever) and I sent them back for repair/replacement. After a good 2 MONTHS they replace my parts after loosing them and then marking my invoice as solved or completed or...whatever which was APPAULING but after many phone calls it was solved.

So, I have now a new/repaired mobo (Sabertooth x58) and gpu (Asus GTX 580) and I, stupidly, assembled the whole thing before testing everything worked. This took me like 2 hours and then I turned it on....

I insert the power cable and the green standby led turns on, good so far, then I press the power button and the vga red led flashes along with the cpu red led. They flash for a split second and the cpu cooler fan and chasis fan begin to spin but then everything turns off (except the green standby led which is constantly on) and the fans, slowly spinnning, spin to a halt.

I have tried EVERYTHING to solve this. I reseated the cpu, I changed the pci-e slot the gpu is in. I tried 1, 2 and 3 sticks of ram and then no ram at all (yes I put them in the corresponding slots, according to the manual.) and finally I'm here, on my virtual hands a knees BEGGING for some help....please? :waah:

2. Baz

Baz I work for Corsair

SOunds like you might not have plugged all the power cables in. As it's your first build, check