1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PSU GTX 460 SLI, 650w enough?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by MirroredTime, 27 Sep 2011.

1. MirroredTime

MirroredTime What's a Dremel?

Hello, would first of all like to point out this is my first time on the forums, and pretty much any forum, save a few. Also am sorry if this was posted before, as I'm sure it was but I would like an answer specific for me :)

My system is as follows:

i5 2500k @ 4.5 Ghz stable OC.
    4GB Corsair XMS3 1600 1.5v
    MSI Cyclone GTX 460 1GB Factory OC
    Corsair TX650V2
    MSI P67A-GD53
    And if it matters I have a 1tb HDD and a wifi card.

So basically, with my current system, would I have room for another GTX 460 to SLI with my current PSU? My current PSU only has two 6 pin PCIE connectors, so are molex converters ok to use in SLI? I do not plan on overclocking my CPU any more, and I don't know how much power an SSD uses, but I was planning on adding a 60gb in the future, and possibly going to 8GB RAM. In case you were wondering, this is mainly so I can play BF3. Would be very grateful if anyone could help me out, thanks.

P.S Sorry for the wall of text.

2. LennyRhys

LennyRhys Fan Fan

Welcome to the forum :thumb:

650W is plenty, but you will need 4x spare molex connectors for the extra two 6-pin PCI-E connectors.

By way of reference, my system is more power hungry than yours and with a single GTX460 1GB it draws "only" 365 watts during furmark, which is known to be an unrealistically strenuous test. :)

3. thelaw

thelaw What's a Dremel?

Yes but wait for BF3 to come out, try it with the 460 and see how it goes...you may find that the upgrade is not warranted..too many people are panic buying/upgrading before the game is actually out it could even be a flop thought doubtful..just wait first before spending another £100-140 on something you may not need just yet....especially if you have a smaller screen..