1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Rant Samsung - Warranty

Discussion in 'General' started by Silver51, 14 Oct 2008.

1. Silver51

Silver51 I cast flare!

I just need to get this off my chest. It's mostly *grr* @ Samsung if you want the short version.

I have an XL20 Syncmaster, a fantastic monitor which I bought as a replacement for my CRT. Unfortunately it's developed some issues. Green blobs that look like someone's airbrushed the screen from the inside. They're faint, but visible, especially on light colours (Google, the Bit forums at al.)

Decided to call Samsung and have it sorted out under warranty, as you do, but seriously, those people are difficult to work with. Originally the technician said that they would ship out a repaired panel and to have my defective panel ready for collection. Only that never quite happened because they don't have any spare panels for the XL20. It's been two weeks of calls, trying to get some resolution. They always promise to call back anywhere between a few hours or a few days but don't.

Actually, last time I called, they explained that the reason they hadn't called me back (in 2-3 business days) was that their third party repair company needed to source parts (which would have been about 28 days.) Only, as the young lady explained when I called to complain, they couldn't source any parts until the third party company had collected the panel.

Which is another issue. Amkotron, the people now responsible for repairing my monitor don't have any spare parts for the XL20. When I called them (surely that's not my job as the customer,) the lady on the other end of the phone was less than helpful. A lot of the time she couldn't be bothered to talk (which is a big part of using a telephone.) All she could suggest was that they take my monitor away for 28 days, but she wasn't sure that they could get any parts for it.