1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Networks Setting up PXE booting

Discussion in 'Tech Support' started by low money modder!, 3 Jan 2012.

1. low money modder!

low money modder! Why can I not set up a web server?

hello,
    My dad wants a server for his home business and he has given me the task of building it and setting it up.
    he has a laptop and there are two desktop PC's in the house (one of them mine :rock: )
    all the computers are unidentical and he wants them to all boot from the server.
    I am completely new to servers and I need advice on how to set it up. he wants to use freeNAS (will it work with that?) all advice would be very much appreciated.

also how powerful a server will I need. No more than 1TB of storage will be needed.

thanks

2. bigkingfun

bigkingfun Tinkering addict

I am not sure what you mean by that. Please explain.

3. dynamis_dk

dynamis_dk Grr... Grumpy!!

In its basic form (taking whats wrote and trying to put it into an example which works), the only way I can see you doing this is booting a pre-defined image from a server running a PXE client. This isn't something straight forward and not something I would suggest trying as a first project for someone new to a server environment.

FreeNAS is a open-source (as I understand) storage server. I may well have some form of plug in support for extra features but I've a feeling what your asking is not what you actually want (if that makes sense) or you simply want some network storage space shared between the 3 machines.

As above really, you would need to explain in much more details (or much clearer) what your end aim is before I think you'll get any worthwhile support on this.

(think I just called my post worthless there somehow?!?)

4. saspro

saspro IT monkey