1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Our Journey to 3 Million PPD

Discussion in 'bit-tech Folding Team' started by PcShedTV, 14 Feb 2016.

1. PcShedTV

PcShedTV What's a Dremel?

So as I am a newbie in folding (only 49 days so far) I have been trying different hardware combinations, clients and OS to see what gives best performance for cost and efficiency. Its been a interesting journey so far and very addictive.
    i had a few people asking what kit i been using to achieve the rapid climb within the team so i though i give a small summary of the components

Rig 1 - Watercooled Nvidia Asus Titan's 12GB are the kings of folding in my opinion. I got two of them overclocked (boosts to 1422Mhz) and temps do not rise above 40C degrees at full load pushing out 1M -1.2M ppd.
    Intel 5960x 8 core cpu watercooled, overclocked to 4.2Ghz (from 3.0Ghz) running web browser folding client

Rig 2 Aircooled 2x Gigabyte 980ti (my favorite gpu for gaming) also folding, overclocked (boosts to 1550Mhz) and this is also pushing out 1M ppd. Intel 4790K overclocked to 4.6Ghz

I also have several servers (dual cpu Quad Xeon x5570 with different gpu folding now and again;
    MSI 970 GTX - OC boosts 1533Mhz, 48C - 280k- 320k ppd
    EVGA 690 GTX (dual gpu in 1 pcb) - OC boosts to 1228Mhz, 68C, 180k-230k ppd (quite disapppoint with its performance)

I also had a few AMD graphics cards, MSI R9 390 8G, R7 370 4G and R9 290x but again they did not perform as good as nvidia cards and they pulled a lot of power at the wall so I decided to not use them, sell them and get more 970gtx (another one arriving next week)