1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Networks Old server room.

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by bobo666, 7 Sep 2011.

1. bobo666

bobo666 What's a Dremel?

Hey!

So I recently started a new job working along side my brother and step-dad at a scaffolding company.

We moved into a yard a few weeks ago and I have been tasked with setting up the networks and servers, but I have never done it before.

I am quite savvy with computers, but servers are something that I have never had to deal with before.

"Chloride" - the company that was here before - let quite a bit of equipment behind. When we had a new phone line fitted the guy from BT estimated that the phone system was worth a few hundred pounds, so I want to make use of it. There are tracks running all around the yard with ethernet ports coming out of it.

So basically, I was just wondering if anyone could help me ID any of the items in the room, and the best way to make use of it, what other equipment I need etc.

There is currently a UPS in here, but I think it is just for the phone system.

The company is not large (yet) - so all that I need the server it to do for the time being is to host files that can be accessed from any computer (there will be 4ish), like databases of customers, live jobs etc.

I hope I am making sense and that it is in the right part of the forum.

Thanks for reading :)!
    -bobo666

2. saspro

saspro IT monkey

Welcome to the forum.

Where in the world are you located?

Servers aren't too difficult to install but you want to make sure you get it right first time, I'm sure we can help with this

3. TheLegendJoe

TheLegendJoe Syntax error

4. MSHunter

MSHunter Minimodder

Is it just to share files or are there any specific tasks/software that you want to run over the server?

5. bobo666

bobo666 What's a Dremel?

Thank you all for your replys.