1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Build Advice Noob needs help!

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Si-borg, 20 Mar 2012.

1. Si-borg

Si-borg What's a Dremel?

Hi everyone,
    Im new to custom pc scene and was hoping somebody could help with some suggestions?

I was given an asus m5a78l-m mobo and bought an asus gtx 560 direct cu II oc graphics card off a friend and decided to build my own pc.
    Today i have bought an amd phenom II x6 1100t BE cpu and antec 300 gaming case to house it all,and was wondering what peoples views were with regards to psu's,hdd's,ssd's and coolers??

I have been looking at a be quiet dark rock advanced cpu cooler,after reading good reviews from custom pc mag and online and a corsair 120 GB force 3 ssd.

I would like to try and keep costs down if possible as no overtime at work means less money,but upgrading at a later date would be a possibility.

My pc will mainly be used for downloading music and movies,photo editing and maybe gaming in the future!

All help or suggestions will be greatly received! :thumb:

2. Splits

Splits What's a Dremel?

I've heard that the BeQuiet cooler is good so I can recommend that. Overclocking the 1100T with that motherboard might not be a fantastic idea, though. There are a few variants of the m5a78l-m, some of them have a 4+1 power phase and some of them have a 3+1 power phase and none of them have VRM cooling which isn't really suited for the 1100T since it uses so much power - I'm in a similar situation, I have an 1100T but a low-end MSI motherboard that has a 4+1 power phase with a record for going up in flames :/ I'm looking to replace this. Having said that, the Asus boards have better protection against this kind of thing as they'll throttle the CPU if the VRMs are overheating, so you might be able to overclock a little.