1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The Big Question, your take?

Discussion in 'Serious' started by stuartpb, 12 Mar 2017.

1. stuartpb

stuartpb Modder

I'm not a scientist or an academic but I am interested in science. I watch documentaries and also enjoy some reading too. I watched a documentary recently and it fascinated me. It was about how the universe and life came about, there were several hypotheses discussed. One of these was the Simulation Hypothisis. Basically, if the hypothesis was correct, we're all part of some computer simulation. It was that one that interested me the most. I'm not saying I agree or disagree with it but the thought of it is definitely interesting for me. I do feel that the more we find out about the universe and how it functions, the less we actually understand about why. So what's your take on the universe? Are we part of a computer program or the result of divine intervention? Or are we just pure maths and physics being allowed to follow a natural path?

2. Harlequin

Harlequin Modder

3. Nexxo

Nexxo * Prefab Sprout – The King of Rock 'n' Roll

Well, it would explain a few things.

But here's a little mind-blower: if it is theoretically possible that a civilisation can achieve a level of technology that enables such a simulation, then (by its nature of being a simulation) a simulated civilisation can do so too. Which means that we could be a simulation inside a simulation. Which means, in turn, that we could just as easily be a simulation inside a simulation inside a simulation, or a simulation inside a simulation inside a simulation inside a simulation... and so on. In fact, it could be "simulations all the way down", so to speak.

But here's the kicker: the above would mean that statistically speaking, it is infinitely more probable that we're a simulation than the original physical universe.

Last edited: 12 Mar 2017
  4. Anfield

Anfield Multimodder