1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Overclocking Overclocking questions

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by pimonserry, 2 Feb 2009.

1. pimonserry

pimonserry sounds like a party.

So I have an Intel C2D 8500 running at 4.01Ghz, and IntelBurnTest says it's stable (testing with 1600MB RAM, 10 times). Interestingly, I can't test with more than 1600MB RAM or IntelBurnTest fails instantly. This may be due to Vista 32-bit.

However, it may be running 'stable' at 4GHz, but temps have hit a high of 81degC (Hardware Monitor) or 84degC (Speedfan) during the BurnTest, which worries me a little. I have an OCZ Vendetta (92mm) with AS5, so I don't think it should be that high, but my voltages are on Auto in the Gigabyte BIOS.

Voltages currently read: 1.536V Core Voltage (CPU-Z)
    RAM at 1.8V (speed is slighty overclocked so timings are 5-6-6-19, as it's running 1:1 with FSB at 422MHz)

However, I am a complete noob at overclocking, and I want to drop the core voltage in order to drop the temperatures, but I don't want to fry or break anything. I know there's a slight risk involved, but has anyone got any idea what voltage I should aim for hitting? 'Cause I'm sure it's not supposed to be as high as 1.536V for stability.

Also, should I be worried that my motherboard is 'rated' to 1600FSB, (4xFSB I assume) and I'm running it at 1688 (rated)?

Thanks in advance :)

2. DaveVader

DaveVader Fast Action Response Team

ouch, high voltage! Never leave them on auto when overclocking
    Intel burn test is the highest demanding stability test so it is likely to see ridiculously hight temperatures, your CPU will rarely (if ever) be put under as much stress as with IBT

3. BlueTrin

BlueTrin What's a Dremel?

Someone correct me if I am wrong but if about your last point, I think it will put alot of strain on the motherboard chipset.

4. pimonserry